ULOG #007 - Patience, Adjustments and Lessons after 2 days of no internet connection

in #ulogs6 years ago (edited)

I was busy writing my supposed to be #ulog #007 when our internet connection got disconnected without notice. I thought it was just for a couple of minutes but it went hours so we decided to call our service provider’s hotline to ask for an explanation. They said that they will be sending a technician to fix the issue. We waited all day long but to no avail.

A day after the technician finally showed up and fixed the issue. He was explaining that the other technician who did the fixing did not properly installed the cable causing the internet to disconnect. Finally after 2 days of no internet connection, it was restored.

But, within that two days, there has been a lot of adjustments, patience and lessons that I learned. Allow me to share it to you the lessons I learned after 2 days of not-so-boring life without internet.

PATIENCE IS A VIRTUE

My Patience was really tested when I started calling the hotline of our service provider. I don’t want to be rude but their customer service sucks(sorry for the word) big time. The first time I called them they just transferred me and left me on hold for 20 minutes. The 2nd time I called them, the agent who answered my call said that there was no problem on their end and that the connection was normal. The 3rd time I called, I tried to be as calm as possible and begged them to send a technician to troubleshoot the problem. Agent said he will send technician within the day…..there was none. I am really frustrated but I should not let this problem ruin my day.. So I made an adjustments to myself.

MAKING NEEDED ADJUSTMENTS

As a home based worker/freelancer, I rely 100% on the internet to do my work. When there is a connection problem, my work will be at halt and I will have no pay at the end of the day. So what I did is that, me and my wife decided to sleep over our friend’s house who has a decent internet connection. Our friend’s house is 11 kilometers away or 30 minutes of road trip. Going there takes effort but I have to work to get my salary and it is also a good opportunity for us to bond together.

32257880_2031609830411375_394040941347864576_n.jpg

Also, I tried to be more productive 2nd day without internet by editing the needed stuffs for our “Balik Eskwela 2018” outreach program this coming May 19 and 20.

After editing tarpaulin and T-shirt designs, I went outside and played basketball with my friends which I seldom do because of workloads. After releasing some good amount of sweats, I rest a bit then started fixing my motorcycle’s headlight.

32423173_451165778646104_2746249462551674880_n.png

Untitled-1.jpg

LESSONS LEARNED

Lesson 1 - I should probably write my blog post in an automatic saving platform like Google Docs rather than writing it directly on steemit. Reason is, if we get unlucky (for example our PC shuts down completely or when we will get disconnected and takes hours or days before it comes back) then we will not be able to save our precious works where we put efforts and time writing unique and good quality contents.

Lesson 2 - Maximize time by being productive. I just learned that I can still maximize my time being productive even when there is no internet connection. Within 2 days of no internet connection I was still able to do a lot of work. I did the needed tarpaulin and tshirt design, fixed my motorcycle and get the donated school supplies.

Two days being offline is very hard for a person like me who relies heavily on the internet to make a living. But being offline for 2 days helped me realize that there are a lot of things I missed because of being too busy making a living online. In this world of high technology, we tend to forget that there are still a lot of beautiful things on the offline world that is very vital in our life process. We should sometimes log off on the virtual world and get some breathing offline to refresh our body and soul, because at the end of the day, We can only live real life outside the world of the internet and we only have one life to live.

Thank you so much @surpassinggoogle for making us a celebrity of our own. For inspiring us to showcase more of who we are and what we do through #ulogs #ulog. Thank you for being our number 1 fan.

I am @lakawero and this is my 7th #ULOG post. Thank you for reading.

All photos are mine


@surpassinggoogle is such a generous person and has a very big heart for all of us here. Please support him as a witness by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" at the first search box.

If you want to give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses again and type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.

Please support his project as well, which is @teardrops Smart Media Token.

Others that are good: @beanz, @teamsteem, @good-karma, @busy.org, @esteemapp, @hr1, @arcange @bayanihan, @acidyo, @anomadsoul, @steemitph, @henry-grant, and @paradise-found, also the many others who have visited My posts. Pls. support them too. I am grateful for that and for everyone who has helped me and my friends. Thank you very much.

Thanks to @bobiecayao for mentoring me and also to #steemph #dynamicsteemians and #steemitdavao family.

Sort:  

Great information here! I need to start saving my stuff to google docs!

Yes sir. I was about to finish my writing when my computer hanged up. All of a sudden its gone.

On point, @lakawero. These are valuable lessons you shared. We are featuring your work in today's Daily Featured Post and you will receive upvotes from the steemph trail. Please continue to use the steemph tag so we can find and upvote your future posts. Keep up those well-written posts coming! =D

Thank you so much po :)

I enjoyed reading your post. Thanks for sharing. I agree that I forget that there are other things in life other than the big beautiful Internet. Moments of disconnect is good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17