You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Indoor Gardening: Seedling updates for mid-February [Gardening]

in #gardening5 years ago

Really cool!
About the only thing I have growing right now is starting fodder indoors. The barely needs a few days indoors to germinate before being moved outside to the 'cool' temperatures. Once germinated, its seem to grow fine. (highs in the 50-60f here right now, lows in the low 30's)

IMG_2071.jpg

Sort:  

Interesting. I've never seen young barely shoots growing before. They start indoors?

Funniest thing I found out in my garden today... we've been having winter storm warnings and snow advisories all this past week. Strangely, I decided to plant carrot seeds a week after Christmas and the New Year, when it was close to freezing out. After all the cold and rain, I now have lots of healthy looking carrot sprouts growing outside in the garden. I tried yanking on a few, because I thought it was grass, but it's carrots, and they already feel firmly attached to the soil. Crossing my fingers that they continue to toughen up this winter before the slugs come out of dormancy.

I let them soak in water overnight, then I put them in a bucket (with drain holes and a lid) for 2 days. at this point they have tiny roots starting to come out. I then transfer them into the tray you see in the picture above. Almost immediately, the blades start growing. 2 Days inside and they look like the pic above (so, 4 days total). another 3 or 4 days outside and they are about 3" tall and ready to feed to the rabbits and chickens :)

We have not tried carrots recently, but my wife has had good success with radishes and beets this winter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62845.90
ETH 3173.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82