Expand Your Sharing Experience

in #unity5 years ago (edited)

Play-Share-Words-2482016.jpg

Many people have wondered where I have been and I figured this will be way faster than repeated DM's on discord. I have always enjoyed Steemit as a means to connect with people around the world on a personal level in a way that you just can't achieve on Facebook or Twitter. I found Weku through Steemit as well as Smoke. I also joined a whaleshares server as my first discord experience.
Share Image Source


whalebot.jpg



November 3rd, 2017 was my first experience with the whaleshares crowd. I had just joined Steemit in September of the same year and found the whaleshares community soon after. It was a very strange experience as I was always very big on steem.chat and had never been a discord user prior to joining whaleshares.
spacer2.gif
As time went on my experiences with many users grew deeper and deeper, I delivered a baby since joining here, had another son diagnosed as Autistic, had my wife join steemit, got some custom art trades with people like @saywha and @deadspace and even got a big ass steem calf tattoo, which I lived streamed, after the community voted on what the tattoo would be.
spacer2.gif
I've watched flag wars, communities come and go, vote bots, card games get created and it got harder and harder to feel good about coming here daily and looking for people to support. That was when I found dLive and started having fun on the platform again. That soon was taken away in a flaming ball of shit right on the platform in live action. That really opened my eyes up to many people I knew on the platform. People who did the same thing as dLive did with Steemit delegations bitch about dLive leaving and "walking off" with the profits when they themselves do the same thing with delegations from the community. Even saw one community funded account flagging with delegations they were trusted with. That all happened and I still stuck it out and did the feed a minnow program with @hitmeasap, @simplymike, and @lyndsaybowes.
spacer2.gif
The lack of support that project got from others who could have easily given a few steem or SBD each week really painted a bigger picture. It told me how many focus solely on themselves and really don't give a shit about others unless they get something in return. HF20 didn't help any of these feelings get any easier either. My wife then asked me, whatever happened to that other site that was coming?
spacer2.gif
That new site was whaleshares.io, I had to look through my emails to see if my approval link came. It had never come, so I submitted a new account approval form and joined whaleshares.io on Oct 9, 2018. It has been an amazing ride with tons of engagement and large rewards since inflation is still pushing 80% or better. I did the Beast challenge my first week there and got to know a lot of people I saw on steemit but never talked to. I started helping out and running a curation team that focuses on giving rewards in place of getting them. I was happy as a pig in shit. I was able to post on Steemit, whaleshares, weku and smoke and make 4 different types of crypto each week just for writing and engaging people. I started off strong on whaleshares and have never stopped adding things to my to do list.
spacer.jpg

Whaleshares had a handful of witnesses turn their servers off or couldn't afford them any longer and I decided to step up and add being a witness to my to do list. On January 24th, 2019 I started the @unity account and started my witness. I was currently doing and coaching the second round of the Beast during this week. I didn't care about the extra work or cost, I started a witness to help secure the chain. I then also issued a bitshares asset to directly control 100% of the witnesses mana and voting power. The witness is run as a community witness where the community controls the power of the account. I do not manually vote with the account at all. That has been my whaleshares.io journey so far.
spacer2.gif
Now, I would like to invite a few people to join me on the whaleshares.io platform. Reply to this post telling me an experience you have had on steemit and why you love it.


unity-gives.jpg

I will give between 1 to 3 users a free whaleshares account and 500 wisdom tokens to begin their journey. You are free to crosspost on whaleshares from steemit.

Check it all out!
My personal account: https://whaleshares.io/@erodedthoughts
Community Witness Account: https://whaleshares.io/@unity
Witness Asset: http://www.bts.ai/a/wisdom
Official Discord: https://discord.gg/BERmnG

Sort:  

Sorry to hear you feel about SteemIt like that, @erodedthoughts. I'm not denying that everything you say is true. I, too, see the whales have their childish fights, see the abuse, the selfishness of a lot of people. I used to be disturbed by it. But life just isn't all sunshine, lollipops and rainbows. And SteemIt is nothing more than a mirror of the 'real world'. The good part of that is that good and bad live next to each other. And I believe that the worse the bad side is, the better the good side is.

It's sad that the Feed Your Minnows project didn't take off. Like @hitmeasap stated in a post or comment last week, for things like this to become a success, you either need a lot of luck, or have a very large wallet and a lot of influence. Sad, but true. But then again, no different from how things work in the 'real world'.

The 10K minnows projects is like the bigger version of the initiative, and I see a lot of people putting their weight behind it. I'm also working with the ladies from the @heyhaveyamet initiative to find new users. They put in such an amount of time and effort to go through all the introduction posts to find the promising ones. They keep amazing me with their spirit, goodwill and love for the community.

And I can go on for a while, because I learned that for every bad thing that is going on here, there's at least one good thing to balance it all out.

As for Whaleshares... I have an account since September 2018. I've been (cross)posting, sometimes quite regularly, sometimes I forget about it for weeks. I must admit I haven't put in the time and effort to become part of the community, though. There are simply not enough hours in a day to handle both platforms.

I do question their policy (or better: lack of policy) on duplicate content. Not just because of the possible plagiarism, but also SEO-wise.

Their last update, the new interface... it doesn't really work for me. I can't load the list of my own posts, and it's a hassle to get into my wallet.

But like I said, I have never given it a fair chance. This place is where I feel at home, I know how to get around and I feel good here - in spite of everything.
Maybe one day, I'll change my mind... you never know. Everyone who talks to @doomsdaychassis knows his enthusiasm for the Whaleshares platform is contageous, lol.

If I head over there again in the near future, I'll be sure to read more about your witness initiative. I hope you can make a couple of people happy with a free account. (I didn't even know they were not free, hahaha)

Posted using Partiko Android

I still love my family here, many are just waiting for prices to come back up before they are active again. That is the one thing I love most about whaleshares is that it is new and prices are low so people are engaging because there is engagement.

So many new sites have popped up that creating new content for each is a lot of work. There have been a few issues with plagiarism with the cross posting but we try to catch it and correct it as soon as it starts.

I have noticed you have not posted there much in a while. Drop me your BTS account name and I will toss you some wisdom to try and entice you back. :)

Accounts are free but as a witness I can use the cgi-wallet to create them instantly so people do not need to wait for the approval period.

Your post inspired me to visit more often - I even posted two days in a row and I try to take a half an hour off of SteemIt to check out other posts.

It was fun to come across people I used to have contact with on SteemIt, but who disappeared. The moment I landed at Whaleshares, I bumped into their posts.

You made me realize I should at least give the platform a fair chance :0)

The nice part about joining now is inflation is high. If you earn 100 wls now it is like earning 7.5 wls once inflation evens off. It is really smart to be posting now.

What is your user name there?

Lol, I only just noticed I was logged into the wrong account when I posted that comment.
Thanks for the donation of the Wisdom coins.

I was getting ready to post my first Whaleshares-exclusive post the dat before yesterday, but for some reason I couldn't get in.

But it will be there soon :0)

Thanks first of all for your kind gesture to help people like us to own a whaleshares account. I was approve on whaleshares and they then created my whaleshares account with my username @obest . But I still find it difficult to login into my created account , I don't know what is the problem. I will greatly appreciate it if you can help me put with my issue. Thanks @erodedthoughts

You need to log in with your private posting key, the other keys won't work unless accessing your wallet.

Goto https://wallet.whaleshares.io/ and try the password you're using and if it opens the wallet get your private posting key to access the regular site.

Hey, @erodedthoughts, you are the first witness I voted for on Whaleshares. Do you have a few others you would recommend?

Thank you! That is a hard question for me. I don't recommend taking anyone's opinion when it comes to witnesses. I don't think there should be proxy votes either. I would look at the list for people you know like you know me or wait until you get to know others. Witness voting is different than post voting, you give money to a post and you give potential platform control with witness votes. Sorry!

You have my witness vote for sure but You already knew that. Thanks for the mention @simplymike . I have just been super busy with real life and also drug wars killing people unmercifully. It was kind of my calling in life and now it appears they have broken the game. :sad face: I will get back into posting on here and whaleshares and my first priority post is thanks to @erodedthoughts and @profanereviews for allowing us to promote whaleshares in my own way. Sorry I have been dragging ass on that but I will make it right. We have just had some hurdles this last couple weeks with race season coming up fast and our brand new motor decided it wanted to not oil the top end and fry a bunch of stuff.

We love you and miss you to buttercup!

I wrote my first 'exclusive for Whaleshares' post today. Instead of just cross-mostinh from Steemit. Can"t help for being a liitle prouf for doing that :9)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79