Unschooling Blog, Vol. 48: Stop Motion Animation Fun

in #unschooling6 years ago

One thing I've been interested in since childhood is stop-motion animation/movie making.

As a kid I made several of my own original movies and really enjoyed the production process of any original and creative work.

This is one passion which remains with me into adulthood, and which happily, I've found I can share with my son, as his enthusiasm for this type of thing is also quite pronounced!

Please enjoy our most recent 8-second film, "The Fight"!




We've also had a bit of fun in the past exploring green screen technology!



What does a child learn when interestedly engaging in this type of production? Well, it could be any range of things. But here are a few that come naturally with the territory:

  • process/order of operations
  • cinematography/video editing/audio dubbing
  • storyline creation
  • dialogue/character development
  • YOU NAME IT.

I realize some may think it is quite a stretch to say that making 8-second videos can teach a child these things, but I would beg to differ. These things are not learned as "lessons" in this process, but as natural elements of the creation process necessary to the completion of a work.

Why would a child want to engage in all of these different areas of skill? Well, because it's fun!

~*~

(Thanks for stopping by! If you missed the last installment of Unschooling Blog, Vol. 47: "Two New Members In Our Unschooling Meetup Group!" you can find that HERE.)

~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as DLive and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

This is why I wanna show my son the different things you can do and it’s all about having fun. For them anything new seems fun and once they adapt to it , it becomes their habit .

Soon I wanna show my son blocks so he can enhance his skills as well. He’s only 9 months right now

Art creation can be super zen also. Dig a hole and fill it up so to speak.

Who was the scriptwriter? 😊

So much value in learning something through it's natural process, than reading from a book or watching a screen. Thanks for sharing!

I realize some may think it is quite a stretch to say that making 8-second videos can teach a child these things, but I would beg to differ.

That's another thing most fail to realize: it takes half an hour to create something like this that's only 8 seconds. Kids see the work that goes in - but the end result is so worth it :D Enjoyed the film, guys :D and not sure if the police here are the heroes lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85