May Homeschooling Miscellany

in #unschooling6 years ago

May was pretty quiet and boring as well. Think we just ended up gaming most of the time (occasional bout of Skylanders with the small one, and a few rounds of Monopoly with everyone, and I think there was some Exploding Kittens in there somewhere as well). Magic and Pokemon cards were sorted (at least by colour and type, and further sorting in the case of the Magic cards depending on how pedantic people were, I think @gorc just sorts by colour and @shadowlioncub sorts by colour and type til he gets bored). As per usual when we're stuck home there was a lot of docos, again mostly concentrated on Horrible Histories and David Attenborough. Very hard for other types of docos to get a look in against those.

@shadowlioncub got back into making paper planes and made me this tiny little one complete with a pilot:

My parents were also up so we spent a fair bit of time with them.

We hit up Bounce once and gymnastics kicked in because seems like gymnastics is life:


ipfs link - I really wish these things could embed ipfs properly and that it would Just Freaking Work all the time for everyone!

The rest of the time has been spent preparing for badge tests (@gorc is finally badging level 3 to go into level 4 next year which he should have done last year if he hadn't been determined to slack off at all costs then, have to learn somehow I guess, and @pixietrix is badging for level 5 to go into level 6 next year), then after that will be trying to qualify for regionals and hopefully onto states after that. @shadowlioncub isn't badging as he's still a bit too uncoordinated and can't vault. We're hoping he'll geet it together and be able to badge next year but if he can't I've told him he can quit if he wants (or keep going if he wants as he really does enjoy it, he's just getting bored not learning anything new as he's stuck in the same level).

We've also been hardcore house hunting again, the kids have been helping with that. The search involves taking everyone's considerations and how important their individual considerations are to them, making sure there is enough space for everyone to do their thing, that it's still within a workable distance from the places we go regularly (we're quite aware that there are other gymnastics clubs but the kids don't want to move from theirs and besides which I'm not sure we'd be able to afford private clubs), and of course that it's within our budget! We've managed to narrow it down to 5 properties, 4 of which have yet to be viewed, and also have a couple of options that are on the extreme outer edge of our distance which JJ is still considering but I don't really want to drive to every day despite liking the house itself.

There's some other stuff going on too so it's probably going to continue being a little bit all over the place for a while. Hopefully once the other stuff is sorted (ideally including buying and moving though reality is we might have to keep looking if someone else buys the house/s we want or we eventually decide the ones we're considering aren't quite right) things will settle back down.

This post also appears on my blog.

Post payout will be split between @gorc, @pixietrix and @shadowlioncub.

Thanks for looking! ^_^

If you want to natter I usually haunt both the #teamaustralia channels (yes there's two, the PAL one and one for Aus/NZ), Be Awesome, and hang with the @steemartists on the server with the same name on Discord with a bunch of awesome people :D

sig

-={ patreon }=-

The steemaroo divider is free to use. Ask me nicely if you want an upgoat/cute critter footer.

Sort:  

I suggest sorting Magic cards by whether they are instants or monsters or enchantments, and then by their abilities, like whether they have trample or whether it has summoning sickness

I have no idea how JJ sorts them, I just remember him taking a really, really, really long time to do it when he did it (and he had to do it as his card boxes fell apart while we were away on holiday and his parents were petsitting, so they helpfully bought a new crate to store them in...but as they had no idea what to do with the cards they just put them in XD).

As for the boys well they're just slack ;D

goatsig

Good luck with the house hunting!

Thanks! ^_^

goatsig

You are homeschooled?

I was too!

No, I went to school. I'm homeschooling my kids :) How was your experience?

goatsig

Oh nice! First generation.

I loved it. To be honest, I had my own time to study out of interest after my parents helped me figure out how to be auto-disciplined - and I loved what I learned. I also had a lot of free time to be creative and work on what I enjoyed: lego and ultimately.. 3D animation. It was my dad and homeschooling that got me started in that. I work hard, smart, and people think I'm pretty educated, though I have nothing formal to prove it - just a good portfolio for the work I do. My siblings have gone to Uni and graduated in their fields, also taught themselves subjects they didn't learn with the parents themselves during, before and after. Ultimately I'm thankful for my parents having taught me enough skills to manage myself and take on any task on my own to the point that... with the internet and whatever I want to do, all is possible. I highly recommend it.

When I traveled around the world after it all, I did have some social adapting to do, but I certainly was not lacking social skills. That was the big question people thought I would have problems with. I did have a lot a siblings to help with that beforehand and a healthy homeschooler community - so all good there. My only quipe is maybe earlier on I'd have more tutors or people involved in the social aspects - mainly because people don't grow up a lot with time and melodrama is a thing. I see none of it and cause it unknowingly - so knowing it exists might help grow a less "gullible" vibe I had when I met the world the first time.

I do hope your house search doesn’t end up like our sofa hunt. Let’s just say we compromised and now we have two every different style coaches. How many rooms are you looking for and with or without a pool?

Having a pool is big in my state.

I can assure you house hunting is very much like your sofa hunt. Eventually at some point you will be so sick of it that you end up compromising and then regretting what you bought. But eventually you will get use to it and love your house. I am sure you also love both of your couches now?

Woohoo! I hope the kids make it to Nationals! That would be so awesome if that were to happen!!

House hunting taking 5 people's preferences into consideration, huh? That's quite a daunting task, but I have no doubt you guys would be able to sort it out. That's a nice bit of addition to the monthly series, if anything. I'm sure the discussions would be funny as heck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00