April Homeschooling Miscellany

in #unschooling6 years ago

We didn't do much. There was a lot of Horrible Histories and David Attenborough documentaries on Netflix, a lot of anime, a lot of discussion of character stereotypes. @gorc went through a period of refusing to go to bed, and when confronted on why, good-naturedly joked well he is a teenager, he needs to be rebellious about something. I suggested that the stereotypical teen rebellion thing tended to happen because the children in question felt like they had no control of their lives due to spending large chunks of their day in school, then have to give up even more time on homework, and in order to make sure they're getting the study stuff done the parents are obliged to restrict the fun stuff. He and his siblings however had due to the style of homeschooling we do, almost all the time in the world to do as they liked, and if he felt that bedtime or something else was cramping his style then he could simply bring it up and we could have a chat about it and either tell him why it had to be that way whether he liked it or not, or negotiate conditions that would work better for everyone. He agreed that it might be better to do that instead. The bigs wanted to decide their own bedtime and are doing so at a reasonable hour (though every now and again I have to poke them before I go to bed).

Other than that, @gorc, @pixietrix and some friends from gymnastics heard frogs after an adult gym class, and wanted my phone to take pics when they found some:

He took a few, this one was the best of the bunch.

We spent a bit of time with my mother in law who was looking after my sister in law's kids for a week while they attended a conference, and also has our other nephew once a week to help my brother in law out. We don't get to hang with the cousins often so it was nice to catch up.

Finding cute little critters seemed to be a thing this month as @gorc found a gecko in his room and after requesting photographs and laughing at it ferociously gumming his hand (I asked him if he pretended to be hurt to make it feel better), relocated it outside.

I may request he leave the next one inside to eat the insects, although then we have gecko droppings to contend with...

@shadowlioncub "discovered" a new easy snack he could make himself:

and proudly blogged about it. The best part was he did that entirely on his own, aside from asking how to spell some words. Previously to try to encourage him I'd been scribing for him and then getting him to copy what I'd written. I've since been told that typing counts as "writing" and that handwriting was something else, which has made a lot of things so much easier, as the only one with neat handwriting is @pixietrix. @gorc frequently types on chats and things and is more willing to type than write. I've also been told by @shadowlioncub's psych that we should really be encouraging him to write by himself as the process forces the brain to slow down and concentrate on multiple things at once (holding on to a thought in the brain long enough to transfer it to paper/screen and simultaneously coordinating the muscles required to write/type it out). That was an epic battle, so I'm glad it's happening naturally even if it's considered "late" by school standards, and better yet his confidence is growing, so hopefully he'll be able to progress towards longer articles on his own without getting too exhausted.

This post also appears on my blog.

Post payout will be split between @gorc, @pixietrix and @shadowlioncub.

Thanks for looking! ^_^

If you want to natter I usually haunt both the #teamaustralia channels (yes there's two, the PAL one and one for Aus/NZ), Be Awesome, and hang with the @steemartists on the server with the same name on Discord with a bunch of awesome people :D

sig

-={ commission info | patreon }=-

The steemaroo divider is free to use. Ask me nicely if you want an upgoat/cute critter footer.

Sort:  

Wow, you're very diplomatic and wise, ryry, I wish more parents are like that. Watching David Attenborough and lots of anime... they are living good lives :D.

-upvoted-

I try to be diplomatic, don't know about wise ^_^ They are indeed living good lives, I kind of wish they knew how good they had it but I think it's still beyond their experience at the moment, hopefully they'll realise when they're adults :S

Thanks ^_^

goatsig

Hmm, that frog looks suspiciously like a cane toad.
Nice Report. (Your homework is done for the month :-P)

Cane toad?! D:

[reverse image searches]

...

Well, your guess was much better than Google's.

Screenshot_20180515_135601.png

I can't remember if it was Google or some other company that was allegedly developing terrifyingly accurate photo recognition things. If it was Google guess it's just for government/military/surveillance use and not for us plebs XD

goatsig

Great parenting. I have to poke my teen to to got to bed early although sometimes I doze off while on steemit and he pokes me :D
forever gratful for the upgoats

Thanks :) Haha maybe you shouldn't stay up so late on steem? ;D They just get caught up in things like we do and don't want to go to bed I guess :)

goatsig

I've had this on my tab queue for more than a week now and I'm only now getting through some of them. Sorry I've missed out on commenting for a while, life's been kicking my ass as of late. Every time I mount a comeback here, I lag behind tenfold.

April seems thinner than your usual fare, but I do hope it was hella productive for the kids. Since teenage rebellion is somewhat the norm, isn't rebeling from teenage rebellion more in vogue? Perhaps young @gorc could try to be even more obedient. That'll show those rebels! I like how you're handling the situation with that. Taking notes for when I have a youngin of my own for sure!

Don't stress about it, that happens sometimes. During those periods I've actually just written off losses and started again as it's much easier that way XD

Hopefully some hero somewhere will write a front end with G+ style filters some day, everyone wants one but no one wants to do it XD

It's a bit thinner for various reasons, part of it was we tend to hunker down during school holidays, and then after that it was so insanely busy for me for a while (and when I wasn't insanely busy I was pretty much dead from being so busy) that we just kind of ended up homestuck and it was really frustrating for everyone.

So I reshuffled priorities, pared myself down to the absolute last two things that I do for myself (and pretty much laugh at the people who bang on about how I'd find I have heaps and heaps of time if I'd just sort out my priorities and only stick to the things that are really important and get better organised), and then we had to do a whole pile of paperwork to do with our house and now we're apparently moving so I've been looking for another one and we're doing home opens and stuff (and despite saying I was never doing it again I'm doing the searching because I'm obsessive enough to do the research on each bloody house before it makes it into the short short list, JJ has to do the communicating with the REAs for the ones with private viewings now though as I flatly refuse XP). And while drowning in all that I keep making bad decisions about which tasks/things need to be done next x_x so yeh, May is probably going to be a bit thin as well when I finally get around to it aaargh.

Hope your life stuff eases up soon anyway, pop on Discord and type at me if you want to chat but not necessarily on this obscenely public thing XD

goatsig

Congratulations @ryivhnn! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89