My Sweet Escape 6: Awesome Anawangin

Awesome Anawangin Cove

368.jpg

This is the continuation of other 4 blogs in my 3 days Zambales Escapade

So we went down the hill. Our hearts are filled with gladness. We were also starving for its lunch time. As we go down the hill, that astonishing view of Talisayen Cove is tattooed in my mind. Even if I close my eyes, all I can see is the view from the Grotto. For a disabled person like me, being here in Talisayen Cove is an achievement for me. Climbing the Grotto and going down is a success.

Going to the Camping Site

We head on to our camping site at Anawangin Cove. So we are on a boat ride once more. Here we will stay for two nights and two days. We were all tired after the Island Hopping but still, we cooked our lunch in a bonfire. My group asked me to cook the rice as they gather dried woods while the others wash the rice and the other put the woods on fire. We divided the labor since we are all equally tired. We were able to take lunch at 3 pm then we all fall asleep after one of us wash the dishes at a community sink.

It was almost dusk when we woke up. Then we all go for a swimming. The tides are getting high that day. I really enjoyed the night swimming. it means less sunburn. Anawangin was still not that develop. There was no street lights. It is really good for a camping experience. Time was so slow in that place as compared to the city. We have done so much after we woke up but to our surprise, it is just 7 pm.

Then a local invited the boys of our group for a fishing. It is a perfect time since there is no moon. When they arrived at past 9 pm they were able to fill a pail of fresh fish. Supposed to be that is our dinner but I didn't eat the fish for I saw them when they are still alive. I like fish but after seeing them alive and being grilled alive, I just can't stand eating them. I know it is kind of weird but I just can't explain.

Good Morning Anawangin

It was a cold night. We spend sleeping inside our respective tents. The place is dark for there is no electricity in the place. Stores around the cove are beingrun by personal generators. Inside the tent, I can hear sounds of insect for we slept beside a pond going through a nearby forest. I felt like I was in a famous reality show, Survivor. This experience is rare for a city person like me. It is so pleasurable to be in one with nature as you sleep while the wind blows humming you to a deep slumber. When I woke up this the view that greeted me
347.jpg

I took the chance to go to the beach and take deep long breaths as my friends run towards the sea. How I wish the atmosphere in Manila is as soothing as this. The sea breeze is so refreshing implying that you are safe and sound. How wonderful was the coming of the sun. The surroundings change color as the sun shows up. After a breakfast at a nearby eatery, we explore the place and strike poses for selfies. Who would not make millions of selfies in this majestic paradise?


I just can't let this moment pass without printing memoreis that I can look back on to after this moment is over. I made hundreds of pictures. But as I check my friend's phone, haha they already thousands especially the girls. We stroll along the beach savoring the place and this rare encounter with nature until we reach the rocky side of the cove.
430.jpg

434.jpg

The water on that part is so cold. It is also the way towards the summit of the nearby mountains. Since I am a crippled person and the path is so slippery and steep, I decided to wait for them at the rows of rocks.

This place is just relieving. I simply grab the moment to ponder about life. First of all, I am really thankful to the friends I am with for considering me to go along with them in this sweet escapade despiete my physical limitations. This surely is a memorable summer for me. This the first time I engage in island hopping. This is also the first time for me to ride a boat, to go to an island, to do camping, to see fresh caught fishes and more. Indeed this a journey of "first times" for me. As I submerge my feet in the water, I can see it so clearly. I feel so blessed of having all of these in this journey.
0008.jpg

When Afternoon Comes

All the day we just eat, chitchat and stroll along. When the sun is not that hot we went to the sea and plunge in. It is as if we went back to childhood. We were playing and taking pictures. The jump shot was a challenge for me since I can't jump haha. We even played volleyball. Oh, I love volleyball. This is my sports before I acquired my disease. Such moments like this is priceless. Until now, as I write this blog, that awesome feeling I had at Anawangin is just making me smile. It is something to be grateful in this life full of challenges.

I really want to experience to be buried in the sand. Like Filipino belief says, burying an ailing body in the sand will help that person to get well sooner. This is one of my goals as I goto the beach. I was glad because my friends help me to do so. Aside from that, another memorable experience was the underwater pictures. This picture makes me a pro swimmer haha. Honestly, I don't know how to swim

0011.jpg

As the Night Arrives

Later at night, a local gave us a bowl of viand. This is Adobo and I love Adobo. But as soon as I was able to have a bite of it, I was told that it is made of alligator meat. Whew! Luckily I wasn't able to have a bite.
After dinner, we made a bonfire by the seaside where we just all lay down and look at the stars in a very dark night. This is my 2nd time to experience a bonfire. It was so wonderful to see other bonfires around the place. This moment makes me really feel we are in reality T.V. show, Survivor.

0010.jpg

We talked about our dreams in life. Whats more interesting is we talked about our childhood. We were all laughing out loud as we hear the embarrassing and unforgettable experience of each and everyone. It was a peaceful night. Our witness is the stars, the sea, and the sand. In this place time run so slow. After that boding moment we had, we were surprised to learn that it was just 11 pm. We went back to our tents as other campers are still circling their own bonfires. Some campers slept in the sand under the stars and the cool breeze.

The Last Day

We all woke up early. Again, the pretty features of this paradise greeted us a pleasant morning. After a breakfast, we ran back to the sea. This is our last plunge into the water because by 11 am of that day we will be leaving Anawangin. We were like kids. We savor our last moments here in Anawangin. We swam, we walked, we played. This is the times that we forget the burdens and responsibilities of adulting. To our excitement, we forgot our phones and cameras.

615.jpg

Since I am slow, I prepare myself for the travel home ahead of my friends. While waiting for them and the boat to arrive, I went to the nearby pond and got myself a memory of this beautiful body of water.

661.jpg

When the boat guide arrives to fetch us, we made few final shots of this wonderful place. There were hundreds of memories made in this entire tour of Zambales and beyond. This will be forever treasure in my heart, mind and soul.

Goodbye Anawangin, Goodbye Zambales

On we go for the last boat ride. Leaving a place where a lot of memories was made gives me a choking effect. However, there is still this happiness inside of me I can't explain. I hope this is not my first time. I believe there will be a lot of getaways in the future. This journey was made extra special by a generous and caring people I call my friends. I am just so blessed to have them. I hope this is not the first and the last. Who knows. As long as you believe there can be a miracle.

693.jpg

Indeed God works in mysterious ways. I never thought this can be possible. As I look to my pictures and as I make this story, yes!... it all happened. It was not a dream but a dream come true. Gratefulness reigns over me... grateful for this life... grateful of what has all happened to me. if not of all the hardships I experience before, I may be not treasuring life wonderful moments like this now!

As we have our final boat ride, I was singing this song in my head.

Who knows what miracles
You can achieve
When you believe somehow you will
You will when you believe

Life is full of miracles!

717.jpg

718.jpg

Thank you for Reading my blog

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 7 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 28 SBD worth and should receive 97 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

thank you so much @trufflepig. Thank you for always appreciating my blogs

You received an upvote as your post was selected by the Community Support Coalition, courtesy of @steemph.antipolo

@arabsteem @sevenfingers @steemph.antipolo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75