Mud Woman Rolls On (in progress) by Roxanne Swentzell Denver Art Museum Colorado

in #untalented6 years ago

This mother and children sculpture was being formed on-site in 2011 when @blxphabet visited the Denver Art Museum in Colorado. Roxanne Swentzell spent nine months creating this work out of various adobe-like materials and my son got there there towards the end of that time, but before completion.

You can see how it ended up at the link below the photo he took of it. I definitely suggest you take a look and read more about this interesting creation.

j85ctmsrex.jpg

Mud Woman Rolls On (in progress) by Roxanne Swentzell

This sculpture is 11 feet tall, is a permanent exhibit, and “communicates a feeling of love” unless you are creeped out by it like me. I'm with the baby in the front and his expression of "What the heck?!"

The artist has a sense of humor and signed her work on the mom’s butt. So she probably would not mind my uneasy giggles when I look at it.

If you do not want to click the link, here is a quick time lapse video of the making of it so you can get an idea of scale. But you will not see the finished product or a close up.

This is a moment when I would really like to hear from @bxlphabet. We have visited many museums together and don’t always see eye to eye about the art we see. But I’m pretty sure he was startled by this piece and I would really like to know his thoughts.

If nothing else, I think we can agree that the mom is obese so it goes along with my theme.

~ @fitinfun

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85