Last Night's Curb Recycling Haul - Found Enough Early On That I Didn't Need To Finish My Route - $1,500 Minimum Resale Value

in #upcycling5 years ago (edited)

Hello and welcome to my world of free stuff.

I only wound up making half of my circuit around a portion of my neighborhood because I found plenty very quickly and thought I'd go back to watching the crypto charts as I wait for the pullback to make my buys. (I didn't FOMO one bit.)

Let's take a look at some pics!

The overall haul...

The first find was a working vintage Italian coin sorting machine. It's missing a hand crank, but the only other one listed on eBay now has several watchers at $650. It can count up to 1,500 coins per minute and is in a lot of vending machines. It has some rust on it, but I'm in the process of removing it.

This was found on top of a vintage drum set I didn't take. The hardware was rusted and I didn't think it'd be worth taking up the space in my apartment for potentially $200.

I know, a drummer leaving drums behind...

Next, was a perfectly clean and working Kenmore vacuum in an ugly lime green color sitting in a bag. It's actually a cult classic for some reason that sells really well. It's literally almost in perfect condition. I'll sell it in four parts: the canister base ($65), hose ($60), wand ($30) and power nozzle ($60). I've actually found and sold the same model and color before.

I then found a Dyson DC24 vacuum, which is a super popular seller, but it's got motor issues. I'll be able to sell parts like the brushroll, canister, hose and handle for about $90 minimum. Not great, but they're popular. I literally JUST sold a DC24 motor to Guam of all places late last week...

Then we have the awesome find!!

I was walking and saw a huge library of books in clear bags outside of a large apartment building. This is common with elderly people, where most of the books are older and not worth much. However, I did spot this one circled and knew I hit a vein.

I went through only 3 main clear bags to get this haul with zero damage:

Besides the 3 Erte art books that'll easily sell for $90 as a set, these are 22 books from the Franklin Library/Easton Press' 100 Greatest Books set from the late 1970's and early 1980's. The kicker was that 15 of them were still truly and fully sealed new!!! The ones sold online as "new" aren't still in their plastic, so this is top shelf here.

The 7 others were in mint condition. All I had to do was blow a little dust off the top of their gold foil edges.

I'll probably sell these all individually. A lot of these sealed books will get $40-$50 a pop, or more given the better titles. The used ones will be $25-$35, with one at $60+. Shipping media mail is super cheap. This is going to be easy money. I've sold some of these before, a few sealed, and know the market well.

Here's a closer look at the titles.

Cool, right? I got to save all of these from being destroyed in a few hours, and can pass them on for a profit to avid collectors and readers all over the world!

While I took the coin counter and green vacuum home before, this was one rare occasion when I had to take a Lyft home a few blocks. I was carrying the books and the Dyson vacuum in a box, but it was really heavy. I could've done it for pride and exercise, but I didn't want to risk getting hurt for baseball.


As with the drums, I was also tempted to take this, but left it...

Hundred of brand new classical music CDs that were on eBay and Amazon, but not selling. I didn't want to get stuck with these for years.


Revenue is $ before shipping and fees.

P.S. - I sold 5 charms off the Sterling Silver bracelet I found last week for $60 cash today. They're going on the necklaces of two little girls the Mom bought them for. They were excited. The 14K gold charm I have left will sell any time for $65, and the rest of the 9 charms and bracelet will sell for about $90 combined. Not too shabby for finding it in a box on the curb.


Thanks for reading. Time for me to hammer out some more push-ups for the day, and then hit the curbs for another round of hunting.

Don't be shy to try to look around where you live on recycling nights if recyclables are left out on the curbs in plain sight.

@steemmatt

Sort:  

it's just amazing how we buy many things and we just don't feel their value after a while! makes you really question the human's behavior.

Tell me about it. I continue to do this mainly because of social responsibility, not just the money. I can't turn a blind eye to it. At times, I stuff I won't sell just to donate it to a thrift store. I can't do it all, but I try to do what is practical.

for sure man! you are not a superman.
just gotta what you can :) <3

Great work, and completely jealous, I love buying and finding deals, but I have finally admitted to myself I despise listing, shipping/meeting someone for sales. I have a hard time fitting the time in with others schedules and just end up with a pile of stuff that has value, that eventually gets donated so clean house.

The listing is pretty easy from eBay's phone app. I do it all from there. The shipping is easy for me because I live within walking distance from USPS and FedEx. I don't mind it that much because I quit my job to do this and have to find a way to enjoy it. As for someone doing it on the side as a hobby, your sentiments are quite understandable.

Re: Craigslist - I only sell certain things there and have made myself come to enjoy playing around with low-ballers to make sure they know there's not a chance. I try to qualify people about the price right up front and find small ways to get a sense of their commitment level before I emotionally get my hopes up that the sale will happen.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @blewitt.

Nice!

Your like my hero. I wish I could do all that. I currently do this with used books from goodwill/thrift stores.

I say I do it, but really I just have a huge stack of books that i haven’t listed yet. Kind of stuck at the shipping part. Need to get on it. Potential profits are definitely good. Most books were bought for a dollar or less and sell for 3-4 dollars on up to 20 or so.

I have even come across occasional signed copies. Amazing what people throw out/give away.

Thanks for your support and glad you could connect here. I usually don't deal with books unless they're textbooks or rarer ones like these. On top of that, I have so many free books on the curbs available, that I usually skip the book sections at thrift stores or just take a quick glance.

Glad you have made books a successful niche for yourself. I could probably learn a thing or two from you! Given all of the general stuff I sell, I don't have the discipline to handle books in high volume like that, but there's definitely good low-risk money there. The signed or 1st Ed. copies are the best finds. Always a nice feeling when you get one.

Most excellent work @steemmatt, I envy your location.
It's very satisfying to save something from being
Lost to time, devalued by the ignorance of our
Current generation. At least I find it so.
Upvoted my friend. 100%


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

This is so cool! I've always wanted to try doing this kind of thing but lack the knowhow and, to be honest, the patience. Very cool haul- those books are gorgeous! They'll make some collectors very happy! Cheers!

Patience is key. The knowhow is something that's not too difficult once you take the steps to get going. Feel free to ask any questions. Happy to help, but you're completely capable if you just put some time into planning/practicing.

Dude that book find is killer! Didn't think that vintage vacuum would be that much. Killer finds mayne and thanks for sharing. You should build a .pdf or do an online course on how to do this stuff.

Good to see you back. Vacuums are actually a massive % of my upcycling income. They are virtually like finding silver on the curbs. Think: crazy Grandma and her favorite discontinued/retired vacuum, but a part broke and her husband needs to replace it for her ASAP or else all hell is/dust bunnies are going to break loose.

The books were a cool find. Two books will be moving at $90 and $60 soon. Another recently sold for $125 (someone else's listing), so I'm aiming there. In a few weeks or a month, many of the sealed ones will be replanted around the world.

Man....the vacuums make sense now. Dang I know of one someone just set out to the curb. I may dip my foot in this upcycling.

Posted using Partiko Android

The most common lucrative brands are Miele, Dyson, Electrolux, Rainbow, Shark and Kenmore. Others are ok, but I often pass on them/just take a part of two to save on space. There is a lot of money in the power hoses, power nozzles, power wands, canisters, cord winders, and motors, if you break them up.

It can't hurt to try. You just need to scout to find the right vein of potential curb recycling where this is possible. Some areas simply don't have the volume like here, but if you're aware and looking, then you can snipe accordingly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05