An update // "The Trials of Parenthood" or "Help, My Kids Are Insane"

in #update6 years ago

Just a small update for anyone following along.

This past week, I don't know what has been going on with my kids. Something in the water, or the moon, or something. It has left me with pretty much zero computer time everyday, meaning that even my real work has suffered this week.

Shortly after the New Year my wife took a new job that is most mornings. Luckily I am in a position to accommodate this and so I shifted my work to the evenings, when possible. Most clients are willing. Bottom line is I watch the kids in the morning while my wife works, then I work in the evening when she comes home, then if there is time at night, I do steemit stuff. If I can prep more than one steemit post, I queue them up to post at regular times, usually in the evening or morning.

Anyway, this past week my oldest has had pink eye so he is home from school. My youngest has refused his nap everyday, so that small bit of free time hasn't been available. Work has been extra busy. Then when I get home, around 9 or 10pm, one of my kids has still been up, usually crying or otherwise complaining every day. After I calm them down and put them back to bed, I have been too pooped to even look at the computer so it has been off to bed. 5am always arrives too quickly.

Whew.

Did that sound like a complaint? I apologize if it did. I'm not really complaining, or that isn't my intent. Lack of time is part of the deal when you have kids, as are weeks like this. I knew that going in and I'm ok with it. I just want to explain when my normal daily output has suffered this week.

Anyway, I'm off to another job today, but I hope to find some free moments to craft some content. We'll see how it goes 😉.

Hi thereDavid LaSpina is an American photographer lost in Japan, trying to capture the beauty of this country one photo at a time.
Sort:  

Good Luck! We miss your posts, but your family comes first! No this didn't sound like complaining and I'm glad you aren't sick! They are only little once! :)

Thank you :) Yep, whenever I get a little frustrated with them I always remind myself of that, that they are only young once and I need to enjoy it.

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 1.25$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Hang in there, homey. Parenting ain’t easy! Doesn’t sound like a complaint at all. Appreciate the update.

Hanging in as best I can, with a smile and a laugh—and a can of beer helps too :)

This, too shall pass. I can understand it...Better get ready for my second one that's on the way. C'Est La Vie...

CREATE YOUR OWN @REVIEWME PROFILE TO START EARNING CREDIBILITY STARS FROM THE COMMUNITY!
CREATING YOUR PROFILE IS EASY! JUST FOLLOW THE STEPS HERE ☜(ˆ▿ˆc)

@kaliju, it's funny you write that ("This too shall pass")—I had been thinking the exact same expression and was going to write it in this post but didn't. I think I first came across that phrase while studying Taoism, and it is always on my mind. Anyway, yep, get ready ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62480.78
ETH 3045.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91