Antique hunting and Producing

in #upfundition5 years ago

The hunt for set decoration is on!

This is the most expensive part of our film BUT we are trying to rent and borrow as much as possible rather than buy.

I had a great adventure into two Antique stores that I've never been into before in Toronto that came recommended. In one store I chatted with the owner and her husband while petting their cute dog. They said they would be getting in some 1950's kitchen stuff soon and would keep me posted. We chatted for a while (she complimented my boots) and I told them more about the film and the LOVED the idea.

They are small business owners and totally understood that we are doing this on a tight budget so they said to keep them in the loop and they'd be willing to lower the price to help me out and thought it'd be so cool to support a film. SO NICE. I then offered that perhaps we share their logo/info in our credits or online  with the film supporters of the film exchange for cheaper/free rentals and they got so excited, which made me excited. When you are making your movie you want people who are equally as enthusiastic as you. That can't always be possible but when it clicks- it's a really special feeling.

With producing and creating I am constantly reminded that people want to help other people. And when it comes to art, people want to help great art get made. I'll have to wait and see if this store is able to help me out and if they have the appropriate materials for the film- but I would love to support a local, small business in the making of my movie in as many ways possible. 

This is how we build community and make amazing things happen. This was a friendly conversation about my velour boots that turned into what could be a great business connection for both of us. Authenticity speaks volumes and I believe with the right attitude anything is possible.

For anyone else on @fundition or  Steem trying to make their projects or ideas happen, keep at it and continue to share your ideas and trust you'll find the right partners to collaborate with.

Here are some pictures of inspiration from my Antique hunting today:

This first one I imagine the Barbara-Anne Poster in ;) hehe

Pink Princess Phone, 1959. It sells for 89.00 so hopefully I can find a way to borrow one.

I love this glassware and Barbara-Anne will have a stiff drink at the end with Emily.

More rotary phones and radios. Gosh I love these- so classy!



Sort:  

ahhh, the life of the props department on a budget!!!
flea markets, raiding other sets, begging and borrowing!

You getttt itttt lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

I never had a fascination for antique.But looking at those phones and radios make me remember about the movies form the old movies.

I think the plot of your movies is based on the 1950's event right or maybe around that time?Is it going to be a full length movie,if so then I will definitely watch it and tell you how would be your acting?

This project is being supported by @Fundition

Fundition is a next-generation, decentralized, peer-to-peer crowdfunding and collaboration platform, built on the Steem blockchain.

#upfundition and #fundition tags on Steem represent the projects that are started on https://fundition.io.

Are You Prepared to Make the World a Better Place too?

Read the full details of Fundition Fund program

Learn more about Fundition by reading our purplepaper

work_on_progess.gif

steemitf.pngtwitterf.pngyoutubef.pngfacebookf.pnginstaf.pngdiscordf.png
Join a community with heart based giving at its core

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17