Urban Exploration: Hellifield Abandoned Train

in #urbex5 years ago


We are Urban Explorers, we are not vandals. We take nothing besides photographs and leave nothing but footprints.

In my conquest to find interesting Urban Exploration locations, I have mostly been using a couple of internet resources, namely, https://www.28dayslater.co.uk/ and https://www.derelictplaces.co.uk/.

Both have good information contained within and you can search your local area for prospective finds. Working 30 miles from home opens more opportunity for me as long as the light holds.

l8binrx9ho.jpg

Winter is approaching and with it less light for me to find things en route to work. I discovered an abandoned train that sits close to the Hellifield junction between Gargrave and Long Preston and last Friday, went to investigate.

sgt99ll0e7.jpg

From my research of titbits on the internet, the train is a Royal Mail goods engine with approximately a dozen carriages. It's been sitting there for at least 10 years and there have been attempts to sell it that have failed.

To whom would one sell a train? Perhaps to passing gypsies, I don’t know.

Approaching the main Hellifield station, I saw notices threatening me with £1000 fines for trespassing and many security cameras. I could also see the train in the distance.

Just it being there was a relief, these things get demolished or towed away in an instant and you never know until you look. I wasn’t wasting my time with ghosts today.

Another angle was needed and Google Maps can help you greatly if you use them. This was my new approach and the same one used by the other Urban Explorer from where I gained knowledge of this train.


Make a note of the sturdy locked gates at the end of the road. I will explain later.

sfy2j1q5jl.jpg

You can see the train and everything from far away and even the the main road where cars pass frequently. This is not good, I don’t want to be seen and they can see me easily smooching around.

I learned that the sturdy locked gates were open until quite recently, just my luck. There are always alternate ways of gaining access and I found one quite easily.

888qmet621.jpg

adwverf17h.jpg

The train has been heavily vandalized with a lot of graffiti, and even more so recently after comparing what I saw with photographs from only a few months ago. Maybe this is why the gate is now chained.

5n28l6dbta.jpg

The front engine had handles and steps that looked sturdy enough, but I had to haul myself up. You need to remember that trains are usually in platforms and the climb is not generally this far up.

hse0toxsmo.jpg

a0zkbnqj70.jpg

Inside was a wreck. The glass on train windows is thick, but someone had taken the time to smash through some of it anyway.

135kkojveh.jpg

t7y7ora6m2.jpg

x3o7axp79l.jpg

54oxmj0bbo.jpg

kcweo92045.jpg

qp9rjzqa43.jpg

I always wondered why trains had a steering wheel? If there are any train drivers reading or you know, then please do tell.

ime0eug1nw.jpg

The newspaper gave me some clue of who long this engine really has been sitting here. April 27th 2002, that’s 16 years ago. Was the engine driver reading the Sun while tootling along the tracks?

5z2dp7smfi.jpg

Being a goods vehicle makes things less interesting than a passenger one. The bulk of carriages were empty and large but with little to photograph unless you like big open spaces. I didn't bother jumping up into it.

tans689uvv.jpg

yzga4ts219.jpg

Some were locked and there was more than one engine. I did check a second one only to find it was startlingly similar to the first with a similar level of vandalism.

kopklv53hf.jpg

fo1cugxf4v.jpg

563157oxhd.jpg

Even production trains are a little rusty around these edges, but this was extreme rust. The paintwork has seen better days, and even your graffiti merchant isn't going to improve this.

tp9icnkk8h.jpg

Sniffin’ Glue? I wonder if the vandals that wrote this were doing just that?

The train was a little underwhelming to me. Besides the engine, there was little to see besides rust and graffiti.

kbx76b6xbx.jpg

emcz5nw4bk.jpg

I spent around 20 minutes milling about the place looking for anything of interest. It was a little open for my liking and I had a feeling; was someone watching me?

pnmf2i6jwi.jpg

The train was next to a live track which I was conscious of. I left after getting the photographs I was looking for, but with that feeling, 'It could have been more interesting.'

6908fjq4qf.jpg

On approaching my car, a white security vehicle passed me. I didn’t make eye contact with the driver as he passed but had they been alerted to my presence?

Looking back at the gate entrance on leaving, the car was firmly parked next to the sturdy locked gate (the one I mentioned previously).

Coincidence or routine? I don’t think I will ever know.

It’s probably not wise getting too close to a live rail track. Hindsight tells me that I really shouldn’t have gone to this place. I didn't go on the tracks and purposely kept well away from them but had to hide from a passing train at one point.

I’ll stick to spooky manor houses and abandoned factories from now I think, with the odd lunatic asylum thrown in for good measure.


g9pv4ubd1t.png



Other articles in the ‘Urban Exploration’ series:

Urban Exploration: Extwistle Hall
Urban Exploration: Huncoat Power Station (Demolished)
Urban Exploration – A Trilogy of Failures
Urban Exploration: Holdings Country Pottery

References:
https://www.theurbanexplorer.co.uk/
https://www.28dayslater.co.uk/
https://www.whateversleft.co.uk/
https://www.britainsdecays.com/
http://www.urbanxphotography.co.uk/urbex-faqs


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

What a great find! I love that it's just sitting there, and has been for a long time.

We have an abandoned section of track not too far from Yuma. It was abandoned when some genius decided that a direct line between Phoenix and LA was unnecessary. Anyway, there are hundreds of cars parked on the section. I don't know that they'd be called abandoned, but they damn sure certain haven't been used in a long time. And yes, they are spooky.

I can tell that they were sniffing glue not shooting meth. Here abouts the wiring (copper) would just be gone.

Thanks for another great UX post.

You should go down there and investigate! Is it in the middle of nowhere or in urban land? take a friend.. these places are dangerous.. I couldn't do it in the US.

That's pretty cool. I wonder if there are any spare parts that are worth anything. It's pretty well tagged up but did you notice if anything was stripped off of it? I wonder if any of those switch boxes are worth anything. I imagine it's all completely rusted through at this point though.

I cant say im well up on engine parts. I would imagine anything of value is long gone. It was all in very rusted bad condition.

As benign as this was, I actually found it pretty interesting. I think trains just aren't as common anymore as they used to be. Especially for passenger transport. There are some tracks that run next to my house, but they are mostly used by trains moving from one grain elevator to the next. I am pretty shocked that those wires are still there. In the US, they would have been ripped out long ago so any metal inside them could have been scrapped.

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in our daily Travel Digest #380, curated by @itchyfeetdonica. Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 324 (11/27/18)

Hi, @slobberchops!

You just got a 11.15% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Brilliant post, I love learning about places (and vehicles) like this.
Always brings up so many questions.

Considering it has been there for so long its still in pretty good condition, I love cool find slike these

Dear @slobberchops,

Thank you for the submission for our project – 1001 Places to Remember. Hooray, your story is now listed in our project publication, you can check through our progressive report either from our @fundition project page or @archisteem account. We will be sorting out the seasonal shortlist authors and make an announcement soon for the seasonal reward.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Good find. Loving these urbex posts. Very interesting indeed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01