Urban Exploration - Horncliffe Mansion Part Two: The MansionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #urbex5 years ago (edited)


We are Urban Explorers, we are not vandals. We take nothing besides photographs and leave nothing but footprints.

On returning back to base after my successful Horncliffe Mansion infiltration (in a sense), I contacted @mender1 who seemed a little miffed that he had missed out.

qxmd3gzf1p.jpg

He was due to go out that day so couldn’t have gone there and then even though the place was still likely to be empty. But maybe by the time he arrived, it wouldn't be quite so empty. Read on...

u19eplv1dl.jpg

He suggested we go back the next day and I agreed. It would be better to go as a group and as @mender1 has all the ‘kit’ I figured it might be an interesting experience as a revisit.

4sz0492mjz.jpg

The next day was raining a little, perfect for Urbex! I arrived at the rendezvous point close to the Mansion only to find TWO cars parked up. One was @mender1 and another a well-dressed lady.

Horncliffe Mansion has been recently put up for sale at a price of around £380,000, though you need to enquire for the price as it is not advertised.

s1zv4jfk4t.jpg

It seemed that 'the lady' was genuinely interested in the property that we had both come to photograph so we invited her to join us.

After giving her a hand up over the wall I mentioned to her that there was no way in as I was looking around yesterday, but she only seemed interested in the outside.

We could have both been psychotic murderers but she seemed to be the trusting type to follow TWO strange men into the grounds of a derelict property.

After @mender1 had taken his front and side shots we wondered to the back where I was about to explain about the possible entrances.

That was until I saw this....

fl7lnnxyda.jpg

Between yesterday and now, The Incredible Hulk had visited and completely smashed the blue door down. I was aghast but also excited that now we could go in and have a look around.

What was even better is that @mender1 had this huge bright light that lit up the dullest of darkened places. I realised at this point that I could not have done this alone and my return was going to prove a prosperous visit.

bz7r55hl98.jpg

Inside was worse than I could have imagined. Considering it’s been left for only 9 years, it had deteriorated in a big way.

Now this was 'proper' Urbex; a DSLR, a tripod and lighting, I had to get myself one of those big lights, but for now it was just my iPhone.

kthyawfjh6.jpg

wb0e9yzr28.jpg

Graffiti was prominent, almost everywhere we looked, some warning us not to fall down the lift shaft. I did look up.. and down!

3w6265fdvs.jpg

The main staircase looked quite inaccessible though I probably should have given it a go. More graffiti was at the halfway turning point.

0l0fidylsg.jpg

y4l10nw990.jpg

tzvfmm38tj.jpg

Some rooms were better than others, and this is likely were the squatters were living.

savch0yg2z.jpg

h527z45wwy.jpg

The décor on the walls and ceiling is still exquisite but now donned with cobwebs and cracks.

gu59ocjyka.jpg

This room hadn’t fared well at all, the upper level had collapsed and it was more reminiscent of something left a lot longer.

zboiknj7qb.jpg

In other rooms it was quite unsafe to walk as the floor was caving in.

ppg15dnsdo.jpg

More stairs that none of us fancied climbing up.

bv6omeplwn.jpg

y4q15a0pwm.jpg

The basement seemed sturdy and stone stairs descended to more devastation.

fisjo7d3hg.jpg

The electrics and switch box and fuses are still intact though a little rusty.

wx2pxil8gd.jpg

Other Urban Explorers had left their mark on the property, this one is from a few years earlier. Leaving your mark seems to be the new cool thing but I don’t see it that way.

a4ffsu2e13.jpg

I get the impression that most Urban Explorers are young people armed with paint guns, and maybe that’s why I don’t want to meet any out in the field. I hope my impression proves to be incorrect.

kv1u0vd277.jpg

Next, we went into the creepy new building that today seemed a lot less creepy.

nn39sgjciu.jpg

Not being alone makes all the difference, and I will embrace future trips with the companionship of @mender1.

mhwz51d8xw.jpg

pw7z6o0lb0.jpg

According to my companion, this building hosted wedding receptions and dances. It now looks in a sorry state.

v3t1xudew5.jpg

This graffiti was not present the day I visited previously. It appears ‘The Hulk’ is also a graffiti whore and a decent one too.

bqmxxt2vfi.jpg

Another look over the cars completed my Horncliffe Mansion trip. I had missed a few things and so took some more shots of the creepy building.

94fzfyuxqy.jpg

dukhf5njnb.jpg

@mender1 was trying some light photography with the shutter open on his DSLR and tripod. It makes for some interesting effects, though I don't have any to show.

It was getting dark by the time we left. The lady who had accompanied us was shaking her head and muttering, ‘this needs too much work’.

5ajfq2t8r7.jpg

I don’t think she’s going to buy it, though someone really needs too.

I'm sure by now the place is sealed up again. I hope so but am glad we all got to see inside. I think the builder guys must be from the estate agents and are looking after the property and their frequent visit's are reseal exercises.


All photographs were taken by myself.


g9pv4ubd1t.png



Other articles in the ‘Urban Exploration’ series:

Urban Exploration - Horncliffe Mansion Part One: The Car Graveyard
Urban Exploration – Stand Athletic Football Club
Urban Exploration: Urban Exploration: A Trilogy of Failures II
Urban Exploration: Brodock Ltd, The Old Paper Mill (Failed)
Urban Exploration: Urban Exploration: Workhouse Farm
Urban Exploration: Hellifield Abandoned Train
Urban Exploration: Extwistle Hall
Urban Exploration: Huncoat Power Station (Demolished)
Urban Exploration – A Trilogy of Failures
Urban Exploration: Holdings Country Pottery


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Wow! Only 9 years and it look THAT run down?! Looks like it had some help becoming derelict. :/
Its a shame though, looks like it was a really beautiful building in its day.
Great shots though! I agree, I wouldnt want to go around tagging the places I explored. That is tacky, and give the urban explorers a bad name...

Looks like the perfect setting for a horror movie @slobberchops, I sure would not want to be there at night, must be some real 👻 wandering around there;)

Yes, no going in at night.. not even me!

Amazing shots! I love the cornicing. But I'm glad you've got a "partner in crime". If you were to stumble in there alone with a dim light, you could easily fall into that lift shaft! I saw a YouTube about an urbex in a deserted London Underground line, and they found a body at the bottom of an abandoned shaft.

The mansion was a lovely place once, I have seen photographs of it in the hayday which are not mine so can't post them.

The shaft was one of the first things I saw after going in. I have a big light myself now but will likely do further visits with @mender1 now.

A big bright light is a great idea. Apart from safety considerations, it really enhances the photos.

Wow. That's better than I thought! Not only did you get a great UX outing but met a 'companion in crime'? How very cool.

All in all a really great look at a pretty forlorn place.

Not so much in crime, @bigtom13 but it's good not to go alone to some places. It seems much 'safer' with two. The 'lady' seemed interested in a purchase, but I'm not sure how serious she was.

Awesome that you were able to head back and give it another go. I imagine it makes a world of difference having someone there with you. Especially when they have all the right tools. The graffiti by the other explorers seems to run contrary to the motto of the urban explorers. That is really too bad. Thanks for sharing!

The graffiti by the other explorers seems to run contrary to the motto of the urban explorers

They are all different @bozz, with differing ethics. Many are kids who are just looking for kicks, not UE's.

Ah, okay. Good to know. Still too bad they have to tag the stuff with UrbEx.

Hiya, @itchyfeetdonica here. Enjoyed your urban exploration series. Keep them coming please! :)

I just curated your post to our daily Travel Digest #407 and upvoted it through @steemitworldmap. If you enjoy what we do, consider supporting us by:

Vote for the Daily Traveldigest
Follow our curation trail
Delegate Steempower


The more support we get, the more we can give back! :)

Great pics!! This would be a place I’d love to buy and fix up. I see all the possibilities.

Ps. I saw something in 2 of these pics. Can you see them? 👻

It is a paranormal haunt and @mender1 put a fake spirit in one shot and sent to it me for some laughs.. but no... I didn't see anything, please tell?

WOw such great shots, and cool your friend had the lights when you went inside, some interesting graffiti and sad to such decay but it makes for a great selection of shots and cool post

I think you would be in your element here @tattoodjay, I know you love your photography.

I know I would love exploythere so much to see and photograph
Have a great day

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 365 (01/08/19)

Hi sorry to comment not relevant to the post, but I want to say Happy New Year for you and your family, I wish you all the best for this year. Sorry it has been to late my friend @slobberchops

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87