Using a slider with the Utopian questionnaire

in #utopian-io5 years ago (edited)



https://github.com/utopian-io/review.utopian.io

Last week during our weekly voice meeting I talked about improving the questionnaire and I'm not sure if everyone understood what I meant. Because of this I've decided to create this contribution, with an example of how the new questionnaire would work.

If I recall correctly other people had some improvements planned for the questionnaire, but I think they were more related to the wording of the questions and answers (and maybe number of answers), while this is purely focussed on the technical side of the questionnaire.

Why?

First of all I'd like to explain my reasoning for updating the questionnaire. Currently there are only 4 answers per question, which is far too little. Sometimes when reviewing a contribution I think the answer lies somewhere between two answers, and I'm sure others sometimes feel the same. So what are we supposed to do then? I'm sure if you ask different people they will have different answers for this as well... What I personally do is the following: for example, if I think the answer is exactly in between two other answers, then I sum the score of both answers and simply take the average. Pretty logical, right?

The problem is for the contributor who, when checking out what I answered, sees the answer I selected (which is either lower or higher than the actual score), and not what I actually determined the answer (or more accurately: score) to be. Is this fair? I don't know, but it's definitely pretty confusing.

Instead of having a dropdown with answers, I propose using a slider with tick marks that indicate the score of the 4 answers, and let the reviewer pick whatever score they want. Using my proposed way of showing which answer was selected should alleviate some of the aforementioned confusion, and with that give a more clear view of what the answer actually is. It also gives the reviewer more flexibility when reviewing contributions, and will give them even more room to distinguish between the quality of contributions. Of course another option is to simply add more answers, but I prefer this approach.

An example

I've recorded a GIF showing how the new questionnaire works below:



I've also created a pen with a working example.


Of course the above example is just to show you how it works. The most important aspect is the ability to pick a score in between two answers if necessary, while also leaving the possibility for reviewers to see and select the pre-determined answers originally available in the questionnaire.

I am very curious to hear what you guys (contributors and reviewers) think about this proposal!

Sort:  

Hi Amos! Thank you for your contribution.

You made a great post!
This will be really useful. Currently, in the Suggestions category we have a question about the quality of the mockups and the answers are poor and excellent but most of the time I would like to answer It's ok but it's not excellent and your idea will solve that problem.

The animation and the working example are just perfect.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io/.
Chat with us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Thanks for the review, @favcau! I'm glad to hear a solution like this would be useful in the suggestions category as well - hopefully it will get implemented!

Thank you for your review, @favcau! Keep up the good work!

Slightly annoyed that the answers and slider are mirrored, so clicking answer 2 will select answer 3 etc.

Haha, I was just thinking that - I'll update it! It's just meant to be an example, so I guess we could just keep using a dropdown like we already do.

I really like the suggestion and I think it will work well and give chances to review better! Cheers

Haha, well if they decide to add this, then it will be your job to implement it most likely!

Hey, @amosbastian!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
Congratulations! Your contribution was Staff Picked to receive a maximum vote for the ideas category on Utopian for being of significant value to the project and the open source community.

We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

totally unrelated by on "toggle night mode" one can't see bold text. don't know if that's a steem plus issue or a steemit issue. fyi

You can see if it is steem-plus issue if you disable the extension and try without it.

Hi @amosbastian!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your post is eligible for our upvote, thanks to our collaboration with @utopian-io!
Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @amosbastian! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 8000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

This is perfect!!!!!

Hi, @amosbastian!

You just got a 0.18% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87