Translating JabRef | English-Dutch | #1

in #utopian-io6 years ago

jabref.png

Project Details

JabRef is an open source bibliography reference manager. The native file format used by JabRef is BibTeX, the standard LaTeX bibliography format. JabRef is a desktop application and runs on the Java VM (version 8), and works equally well on Windows, Linux, and Mac OS X.

Project Links

Contribution

Because I finished translating the BibleBot project this weekend, I was looking for a new second project to translate. JabRef is not a big project to translate, 7375 words in total and only 28% was already translated to Dutch. There were about 5000 words left to translate, so I decided to go for it.

I went through the approved translations first, to make sure I would use the same terms in my translation. I found a few approved translations that don't have the most ideal translation at this moment and maybe should be changed to make them feel more natural. I took notes on my findings and then started translating. When I got to those words that didn't feel natural to me, I went back again to the approved translations, and made a comment with my findings. I started translating the parts that I'm confident about, and while I was going through those strings, I came across several translations that aren't translated, or I don't agree with.

A few examples:

Library was translated to library, I believe a better translation in Dutch should be: bibliotheek

Strings translated to constanten, I believe a better translation in Dutch should be: tekenreeksen

Duplicate translated to dubbels, I believe a better translation in Dutch should be: duplicaten

I went back and forward through the project, and I found some more translations that maybe should be taken into consideration to be improved. They just don't feel natural this way. I asked the opinion of my boyfriend too, as he a technical person, and he agreed on the parts we discussed. For this first translation, I tried to skip these issues while I did take notes for later discussion. I did suggest a few better translations while I went through the approved part of the project. I plan on discussing the issues with my LM @misslasvegas as soon as we both have the time to look at the project together.

Word count

My first contribution to the JabRef project contains 1012 words. I plan on finishing this project in two weeks.

jabref proof 1012 words.png

My previous translations:

Finished project(s):

Current project(s):

Team

Currently, the Dutch team has the following translators:

Sort:  

Thank you for contributing to the translation project for Davinci-Utopian @anouk.nox!

This was your first contribution for the JabRef project. I absolutely agree with you that the older translations don't always cut it. It's quite visible that there hasn't been much thought on the translation, which is a shame.
Because now, we'll have a part of 'so-so' translated work and then yours.
Even though this is something new altogether, you manage is quite well. There were only minor imprecisions to correct.

It is not the most exciting project to translate which makes it harder to stay consistent, however you have no issues with this.

The work you've done these last two weeks alone left me in awe. What a work horse!

I am looking forward to a continued collaboration with you.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Chat with us on Discord

Thank you for your kind words @misslasvegas! It's indeed not the most exciting project, and the mistakes in the older translations make it a bit more difficult. But hopefully, I'll manage to finish it to satisfaction.

Thank you for your review, @misslasvegas!

So far this week you've reviewed 8 contributions. Keep up the good work!


Congratulations @anouk.nox!
You raised your level and are now a Minnow!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Presentamos el Ranking de SteemitBoard
Introducing SteemitBoard Ranking

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Hi @anouk.nox!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your post is eligible for our upvote, thanks to our collaboration with @utopian-io!
Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sbi-booster.

Hey, @anouk.nox!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63576.35
ETH 3066.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80