Utopian.io Idea: Night/Dark mode for Partiko mobile app

in #utopian-io5 years ago (edited)

Repository

https://github.com/Partiko

https://github.com/Partiko/Partiko-Feature-Suggestions

Components

This is a feature addition that would apply to all screens and sections within the mobile application.

Proposal Description

Many other applications have started to offer a dark/night mode for viewing on a mobile device in low light or darkness.

Due to the fact that so many other applications have begun to implement this, I believe there is a strong precedent for adding the code necessary to make it available in the Partiko app.

Looking at my profile to the right, I don't think they need to do anything with the cover graphics or the preview images from posts. It would be beneficial if they could invert the white space and the text colors to make it more readable at night time or in low light situations.

Mockups

Here are a couple of screenshots from the Reddit smartphone app that offers this feature. I leave it to the discretion of the developers to make it look how they think it should. Something similar to this would be awesome though. I like how the text is still readable and they include a small thumbnail of the preview picture to the right side of the screen.

Benefits

I have been seeing a lot of articles lately about dark/night mode and how they are starting integrate it into the native Google apps in Android. Despite reading the article title, I never took the time to dig into what they were talking about.

More recently, I actually made the switch on some of my apps that offer a dark/night mode and the difference is amazing. I spend a lot of my time in bed at night reading posts and articles on my phone from Reddit, Telegram, Partiko, Discord, etc.

I can't tell you the number of times I have found myself sneezing up a storm because the backlight on my phone is so bright(despite me adjusting the brightness). There have been countless studies on dark/night mode and how it can improve readability of text as well as reducing eye fatigue and other benefits.

Github account

https://github.com/bozzj

References

Although I have found a couple of other posts requesting this feature, it doesn't appear anyone has actually requested it on the Partiko Github page.

https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@jaff8/esteem-vs-partiko-clash-of-steem-dapps

https://steemit.com/steemit/@detlef-s/add-night-mode-for-partiko-n4f1bgyz

https://steemit.com/partiko/@daan/meet-partiko-the-social-media-dapp-of-the-future#@bengy/re-daan-meet-partiko-the-social-media-dapp-of-the-future-20190301t200621179z

Discord

https://discord.gg/P4pc76h

Here is a screenshot of the request I just added on the Partiko Github Issues site where I was told to add feature requests on their Discord server.

gmhlfri369.png

Hopefully they can get this feature added in the near future!

Thanks for reading!

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif



Earn free crypto income with Mannabase

Sort:  

Hi @bozz, thank you for your contribution.

You made a great contribution.
The post is clear and well-written, and the suggestion is easy to understand.

Unfortunately, Partiko is not Open Source. As you can see, their repository is empty, there is no code.
I believe that Partiko team will see your suggestion and hopefully, they will implement it.

Check this post when you have time: How to choose a valid repository

I would love to see another contribution from you :)

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines.


Need help? Chat with us on Discord.

[utopian-moderator]

Thanks, I am not sure I can bring myself to try again though. You know the old three strikes and your out rule... It appears I just might not be destined for a good Utopian post. Thanks for the great feed back.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for your review, @favcau! Keep up the good work!

Dark mode is one of the things that I look for in all my apps, I hate the glariness of the white background. I really wish more apps and web pages had it as an option...

Thanks for logging the github request... I didn't think about that!

I seriously thought it was a just a gimmick and I didn't understand the hype until I tried it out for myself. It is totally going to change the way I browse at night now! Hopefully it will help with my circadian rhythms too.

It's really hard to revert back once you've tried it... On the other hand, my wife doesn't like it. But if you have it and you like it, you start wanting it everywhere!

Even though I only use it occasionally in certain situations I do like apps that have dark or night mode ad an option so it would make sens eot me if they added it

I can see myself using it a lot more in the future now that I am getting more familiar with it.

I still have hardly used Partiko, but i know I should try it out more and see if it suits my way of doing things on Steemit

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Partiko needs a dark mode ASAP...and then it will only strengthen its lead on the best platform to navigate steem

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks! I agree!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 425 (03/11/19)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00