Sort:  

Very nice work @crokkon!

So it looks like 25% - 30% of the reward pool is used by bid-bots. Any idea roughly how much would be added to this figure by minnowbooster and smartsteem?

The dApp figure will mainly have risen in June as MrDelegation made a couple of large delegations out to newer platforms (tasteem and steemhunt I think from memory).

Thank you @miniature-tiger! I'm still trying to figure out how to best capture the sell-your-vote share. Going through transfer histories with an estimated ROI is a complete mess. For MinnowBooster there's an API for the list of votes, so this should be reconstructable together with steemsql. For SmartSteem the API only provides data for the own votes. For others (booster?) I have no idea? I guess we won't get reliable numbers without explicit bot operator support.

So the wallet history of what smartsteem received can really not be used for this purpose?

Neither do you have any clue of it's like 1% or 12%? Or of course somewhere in between.

Getting reliable numbers is really complicated. Looking into the wallet history of a vote buyer I see how much he/she has spent. Eventually there's a partly refund because not all of the bid could be filled. There are lot's of invalid bids and refunds are partly coming from other accounts. It's not always the author account buying the votes and more and more memos are encrypted. I don't know the exact ROI, so if the bid was done shortly after the post was created, there may be several other non-bought/front-running/... votes on the post as well. Additionally, users can keep their balance on smartsteem and minnowbooster, so they can buy upvotes without an SBD/STEEM transfer on the blockchain. One thing that may give a clue on the total number is the amount of STEEM/SBD payed to delegators each day, but that's again a (partly user configurable) fraction of the bid, not necessarily of the vote value (unknown ROI...).
MinnowBooster has an API that shows the bought votes - that might give some insights, but that would be only one of several sell-your-vote services.
I didn't even try to get an estimate on this, so I really can't give any number here...

Alright now I get it.

Best option seems just to ask the owner of @smartmarket. I'm not really good with remembering those things, but I think a witness is the owner. I look it up and ask the question right now.

And @steempress-io too - they got 1 million I think.

In my analysis, I took the vested SP of anyone recieving payment from SS and MB and added that together as 'taken SP' - Like @crokkon says, it's a bit of a mess to slap an accurate figure on this!

One of the biggest questions on people's lips is 'how much do the bid-bots use of the reward pool', and this is a nice approach at answering this question :)

An also very positive result at least in my opinion is that the total value of self-votes decreased by around 2% in the last three months.

I appreciate the positive conclusions, but I think we are both aware of the 'workaround' that some active whales/orca's are using to inadvertently lower this %. And so I'll be taking this statement with a pinch of salt, and guess we'll never really know true 'self-vote' %'s.

Perhaps if you grouped accounts that blow 75% VP on less than 6/7 accounts, then that would indicate a lack of community voting - I think one of your recent analysis's was in this direction.

As always, excellent work!

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io/.
Chat with us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Thanks @abh12345! On the selfvotes: Yes, I was looking into this some time ago, and we saw 6% direct self votes and 12.8% of all voters giving 80% or more of their rshares to 6 or less authors back then. So yeah, there are plenty of ways to obfuscate self-votes. I should probably revive this approach to check if that number decreased as well. You are of course right, the direct self-vote rate alone is not necessarily conclusive. But hey, it looks promising :)

What is the active work around you are referring to?

having/controlling one or more other accounts and use those to vote for yourself or in circles

Lol, that easy. I could have figured this out myself.

The first one I think of is Bernie.

Awesome breakdown! Thanks for taking the time to share this info.

Hey @crokkon
Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

A clear and sufficient explanation Thank you for making me understand how to distribute the quota because I am new and did not know it .

Hello, as a member of @steemdunk you have received a free courtesy boost! Steemdunk is an automated curation platform that is easy to use and built for the community. Join us at https://steemdunk.xyz

Upvote this comment to support the bot and increase your future rewards!

nice article i upvoted some of your posts. who need free upvotes and comments just follow and like my 5 posts

look @hirushaperera, I see you're new here, asking for upvotes in comments is frowned upon the community here is likely to get you flagged. Better leave meaningful comments and engage in discussions to make people notice your posts. About your posts: copying text from other sources is plagiarism and will get you flagged as well. That's actually a pretty stupid idea to publish plagiarized content and then ask for upvotes... how about some original content?

@crokkon you were flagged by a worthless gang of trolls, so, I gave you an upvote to counteract it! Enjoy!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87