All In Moderation: How To Write A Utopian Moderation Comment

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

As Utopian.io moderators, our job has several aspects. In my new position as Utopian's chief content officer, part of the job is improving the overall quality of both posts and moderation comments under the Utopian banner. So let's talk about what makes a great Utopian moderation comment.
banner-subtitle.png

The Why

The first thing we need to understand is the purpose of moderation comments. Why are they there? Moderation comments serve two major roles.

  • Let the contibutor know that their contribution has been reviewed.
  • Give the contributor feedback on the post
    why-2028047_960_720.png
    Image credit: GDJ on Pixabay

And here's the important part: That's it.

Usually, moderators write the comment immediately after filling the questionnaire about the post and getting the score. It is very natural to connect the two. Natural to think: I've given the score, and now I have to explain it. And that is not what we're doing.

We need to realize that while some folks write their posts because Utopian is there, this is not true for all. It's not, in the end, about Utopian. It's about the contribution itself, and the value it brings.

The What

Feedback can take many forms. But first and foremost, it must engage with the post. The details depend on the category, of course. If it's a blogpost, the language and quality of the writing become more important. If it's a Development post, the technical side becomes pre-eminent. And the egagement should be constructive.

what-2730753_960_720.png
Image credit: GDJ on Pixabay

We are here to help contributors create better contributions. And so, we bring our own relevant skills to the moderation comment. That's why I, as a professional writer and editor, can't write moderation comments for Development posts. We've got developers writing those.

So what we do is this: We read the post carefully, and find things we can commend and things where we can offer suggestions for improvement. And that's what we post in our comments.

The How

Always start with the positive. Any criticism, even the most post positive and constructive, is hard to take for most people. So start with something positive. Be truthful. Don't make up a positive. But there's always something. At the very least, there's "thanks for the contribution." That's a positive statement you can make without any value judgement.

how-2730752_960_720.png
Image credit: GDJ on Pixabay

Next comes the critique. Be constructive. We are not there to judge. We're there to help. Again, be truthful and honest, but do it with kindness and thoughtfulness. To quote a random background NPC in Mass Effect Andromeda: "There's a difference between being honest and being an ass." Don't cross that line. Not only is that being kind, it is also much more likely that folks listen to your critique and take it to heart if it is palatable.

As a moderator in the Blog category, I have found that not everyone reacts well to specific examples of grammar and style errors. Initially, I thought the examples were critical. Without them, to my mind, just saying "there are issues with the style and grammar" was useless. But some folks don't take well to seeing them. So I've changed tactics. Now, when there are issues of style and grammar, I offer to cite examples in a follow-up comment. I've found many people are happy to get those examples. I've also found that the folks who are happy to get the examples are the ones most likely to learn from them going forward.

To Sum Up

Here are the core moderation principles I've distilled. This is an ongoing learning process for me and the rest of the Utopian community, so these may change, but this is what I have so far:

  • The feedback is not about the guidelines, it's about the post
  • The feedback is not about the poster, it's about the post
  • Start with a positive
  • Be constructive
  • Be specific
  • Be kind
Sort:  

I've always felt that it is easy for you to express yourself. I can see the same in this post. Clear points, no unnecessary talks that would distract readers from absorbing the content. Well done as usual.

Expressing one's self in writing is a skill. I've been working on it professionally for over 25 years. I'd better be decent at it by now, eh? :)

It's good to know there's thought going into these kinds of details!

I find the feedback in general to be valuable. I think that for open source projects, where people may well be working individually or outside of any formal structure, getting feedback can be rare so any direction or insight is helpful.

The only (picky) point I'd raise on the above is in relation to the line:

Give the contributor feedback on the post

I know that you've covered this in the discussion that follows this point but I think that the important thing with the feedback is to:

  • Give the contributor feedback on the contribution

So for a blog post, it's one and the same thing. But for development (and probably for other areas like translation) the post itself is just a summary of the work done. I think getting feedback on the underlying work is where the most value can be obtained, at least for me.

I'm pretty sure that is what he meant though ;)
But yeah, that wording is misleading :)

Sure. The idea was to differentiate feedback from judgement. Most of my own moderation work is in the Blog category, where the post is the thing itself. But in Visibility, where I also help out with moderation, the ad is the thing that gets most of the feedback. That said, the post itself is always part of what we're giving feedback on. You can have an amazing project, but if you don't explain what you're doing in the post, it becomes harder to give feedback.

I gotta say the feedback contributors get on their contributions has skyrocketed some months ago, and I am certain this was one of the best steps utopian-io has taken so far. The feedback I received always helped me improve my work, and also really helped me understand my review (most of the time). I'm very glad for all the feedback I receive, especially since I am rather new to Open Source, and development in general. I really can say, utopian has been a very important part in my "developer life". I learned a lot only because of utopian, and I'm super grateful for that (I couldn't even remotely make a good bug report before I got some feedback and good examples through and because of utopian)

You put this out in perfect timing for me to have this a guideline to review contributions.
Its spot on and will be a good tool for all moderators to use.

I am very excited to be working with you. It will help me learn to be a better communicator.

I am very grateful to you for that.

I can say first hand that utopian's curation has helped me become a better communicator.

While still far from perfect, the quality of my posts has improved and helped me engaging with a wider audience.

Steem would be a very unrewarding place for most without quality reviews such as those provided by utopian's curators.

In my experience reviews have always been respectful and useful.

Thank you for all the time and effort spent on trying to help Steemians.

Perfect is always a goal, not a destination. All we can do is work to be better. And you've had a couple of recent Top of Utopian staff picks. You're doing pretty good!

Hey, @didic

Thank you for your contribution

Since 29 Aug 2018 you've submitted 3 contributions on Utopian. Keep up the good work!

Your 2 contributions have been appoved and upvoted by Utopian

Here is your contributions details..

  • Iamutopian : 2
Your total payout for 2 contributions is $ 103.86

Upvote chronicled's comment to Support!

[Disclaimer: This is not official info from utopian , If you feel something need to improve please comment here]

Great post, you're right. But it applies to many things in life even with our family and loved ones, many times we are negative to make a correction.

Hi @didic!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.642 which ranks you at #5317 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 10 places in the last three days (old rank 5327).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 219 contributions, your post is ranked at #22.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

We are here to help contributors create better contributors. And so, we bring our own relevant skills to the moderation comment. That's why I, as a professional writer and editor...

contributors or contributions? 🤔

Oh, no! I let out the secret of our contributor cloning program!

Which is to say: Thanks. Fixed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23