Node.js Greek Translation - Part 10 (~1107 words)

in #utopian-io5 years ago (edited)

image.png

Repositories

Github Repository, Crowdin Repository

Project Details

Node.js is an open-source, cross-platform JavaScript run-time environment that executes JavaScript code outside of a browser. Typically, JavaScript is used primarily for client-side scripting, in which scripts written in JavaScript are embedded in a webpage's HTML and run client-side by a JavaScript engine in the user's web browser. Node.js lets developers use JavaScript to write Command Line tools and for server-side scripting—running scripts server-side to produce dynamic web page content before the page is sent to the user's web browser. Consequently, Node.js represents a "JavaScript everywhere" paradigm, unifying web application development around a single programming language, rather than different languages for server side and client side scripts.

Node.js® is a JavaScript runtime built on Google Chrome's V8 JavaScript engine and it can already run on Windows, Linux, OS X, Sun OS, and the list goes on.

Also, I should note that Node.js is around 1 million words. Yeah! I need moar! MOAAAAR! *(Or a MOAB [Mother of all Bombs], to end this xD ) *

Sources: Wikipedia/Node.js & Node.js Official Website


Contribution Details

Translation Overview

After taking a quick break to translate the Gridcoin Whitepaper, I'm back! I've also been very busy with real-life projects so I'll go for a little bit smaller contributions from now on (around 1050-1100 words is my aim, unless the file I'm translating is super easy or I can sneak an extra 20-30 minutes in translating!)

Project Overview

As I've already told you (9 times so far, 10 if we include this), Node.js is a little bit over 1 million words. There were little-to-none translated strings, and they are all in the _toc.md file. I'm not going to touch this, until the end (yeap, in half a decade). The project is actually much tougher than I thought, and I'm using all the help I can, from Greek textbooks about programming etc. You see, even though I am a developer, in College we were not taught all the Greek terms (as they are mostly Stupid & Idiotic), but other classes did learn them.

I'll stop boring you with these for now. Let's get on with the specifics of this contribution.

Languages

The project is being translated from English to Greek. I'm a native Greek and because of my job (programmer) English is a "must learn" language.

In this session

This is the tenth part. And in this part I finished two files - documentation.md (that incudes various info about the Node.js documentation) and debugger.md (documentation for the debugger and a couple of usage cases)-. However I was 100 words short of reaching my wordcount target, so I started esm.md too (documentation about loading and using ECMAscript modules in Node.js)

As always, I'm not counting the code blocks in my translations. Starting from this contribution post, code blocks will be left untranslated, if there are no comments that can be translated.

This part mostly had short sentences. This is one of the longer ones:

On every breakpoint, each expression from the watchers list will be evaluated in the current context and displayed immediately before the breakpoint's source code listing.

which was translated as

Σε κάθε σημείο διακοπής, κάθε έκφραση από τους παρατηρητές μπορούν να αξιολογηθούν στο τρέχον πλαίσιο και να εμφανιστούν αμέσως πριν τον πηγαίο κώδικα του σημείου διακοπής.

(Funny thing, I was picking those strings after doing a second check and I just noticed that there was a typo in there! Good thing @ruth-girl didn't proofread my text yet! Hehehe)

String source

Also, while translating the documentation.md file, I learned that Node.js provides its documentation in both HTML and JSON formats, and I quote the documentation.md string itself:

This feature is experimental, and added for the benefit of IDEs and other utilities that wish to do programmatic things with the documentation.

This was translated a little bit more "playfully":

Αυτό το χαρακτηριστικό είναι πειραματικό, και έχει προστεθεί προς όφελος των IDE και άλλων βοηθητικών προγραμμάτων που επιθυμούν να κάνουν κάποια πράγματα με την τεκμηρίωση, σε πιο προγραμματιστικό στυλ.

Source string

Word Count

I translated 1165 words from the files I mentioned above, minus an estimated 5% for duplicates and untranslated words, which brings us to ~1107 words, for a total of 16504 words out of 1.048.272 words. All numbers were rounded to the nearest integer (as you obviously can't translate 724.24 words).

Both documentation.md AND debugger.md are 100% ready, while esm.md is at 14%, subject to @ruth-girl's proofreading.

Proof of Authorship


tl;dr version

Node.js is a huge project, both in how much value brings to the Web Development word, and also in how LARGE it actually is.

I have translated 1165 words (-5% for duplicates and untranslated words = ~1107 words) for a total of 16504 words out of 1.048.272 words. This brings the Node.js translation to a level of 1% (damn, we are stuck here!), documentation.md and debugger.md to 100%, andesm.md to 14%.

The translated words for this part do not include the translated comments of the code blocks. It's a burden to do that, and I'm leaving them out, so the actual translated wordcount would be 20-30 more words. The code blocks are included in the total wordcount though. Also, I no longer submit code blocks that have no words I can translate.


Thank you everyone for taking your time to read about my contribution. Big thanks to the @utopian-io and @davinci.witness teams for making this possible, and also to the rest of the people of the Greek Translation Team that I'm proud to be part of:

@katerinaramm,

@lordneroo,

@trumpman,

our ruth-less Language Moderator @ruth-girl,

and our community account @aristotle.team!

image.png


If you want to support @utopian-io provide better incentives to Open Source Development, by delegating some of your SP, click here. You can also vote @utopian-io for witness, by clicking here.

Sort:  

Thank you for your 57th contribution to the Davinci-Utopian translation project @dimitrisp!
This was the 10th part of the Node.js.


It seems that you’re getting back to your new long-term relationship and Node.js; I just finished checking your 10th contribution. I can say I got my hands on a very good translation with a typo and few expressions I’d prefer to see worded a bit differently (although your version is very accurate too). Grammar, spelling, formatting and syntax are correct and your writing style is perfectly consistent with the previous parts and fitting to the specific project.

I like your contribution post too. You briefly present all the necessary details on the project and the current session, plus a few work samples. I think you need to make your gifs more “Christmassy” though :P

In general, it was another very good contribution. Well done, @dimitrisp!


Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Chat with us on Discord

Thank you for your review, @ruth-girl! Keep up the good work!

Hi, @dimitrisp!

You just got a 2.8% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @dimitrisp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your post is eligible for our upvote, thanks to our collaboration with @utopian-io!
Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hey, @dimitrisp!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61166.56
ETH 2987.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71