Design of Cover image for Steem-Plus API

in #utopian-io6 years ago

Repository

https://github.com/stoodkev/steemplus-api

Linked Task Request

Steem-Plus API project owner contacted me directly on Discord to ask me to design the cover image. Here is a screenshot of the start of the conversation:

Details

Final design:

steem plus api cover.png
Ready to use

The Project owner asked me to use the STEEM-PLUS logo with the word API added, I could make a propossal on how to design that part, also asked me to include the STEEM SQL logo and the phrase: "with Steem SQL". For the rest I could be creative.

I used the Steemplus icon outlined to look like a wire or link, because this API is used to fetch data from Steem SQL to be used on Steemplus extension. The steem-plus name was added as it shows in their profile cover image. And the API word is using the same font.

Benefits / Improvements

With this design, all the posts regarding the STEEMPLUS API have an image to easily distinguish when a post is about STEEMPLUS extension or STEEMPLUS API.

It is also adds elegant and technological look.

New design VS old design


Proof of authorship

making steemplus api 01.gif
Adjusting words alignment

making steemplus api 02.gif
Creating the effect with a mask, color halftone filter and color overlay.

Layers panel


Tools

Created using Adobe Photoshop CS6.
You can change the color of the background by turning this layers on or off:
.

The icon style can be edited in the layers style panel:


Original files

Google drive folder Includes PSD, PDF and PNG.

Proof of Work Done

My github account: https://github.com/fabiyamada
Merged Pull Request: https://github.com/stoodkev/steemplus-api/pull/2
Image being used: https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@stoodkev/steemplus-api-refractor-and-new-features

You can check the screenshot of the conversation by clicking here.


Licensed under a [Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International](http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/4.0/).
Sort:  

Thanks for your work!

It is a pleasure to design for the BEST Steem tool ever!:D

like it.. I like this style.. like my own. 🕺🏻

That is a great compliment! Thanks, Pod :)

This is very excellent thanks for the valuable participation

We can't accept every graphical iteration on simple banners. It wouldn't be fungible for Utopian, I may suggest you focus projects that need a logo. Graphics category mostly appreciate those kinds of works at the moment.

Is root folder really the right place to put image files?
Also, the project doesn't have a license information.


Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io.
Chat with us on Discord.

[utopian-moderator]

  1. It s not a graphical iteration on simple banners, it s a Task Request from a Project Owner for a marketing material.
  2. It s not an iteration at all since SteemPlus and SteemPlus-API are two different projects although related.
  3. If I don t need a logo (graphics category mostly appreciate those kinds of works at the moment) I cannot ask for help regarding design on Utopian? Seriously? Mods are here to score and enforce the guidelines, not decide what is good or not for the project.
  4. Root folder is probably not the best place but I planned on reorganizing the project anyways and told her to put it there in the meantime.
  5. For the license info, indeed it s my fault, and I ll fix it now.

I will contact your community manager.

  1. These can be count as different projects on development category. when I evaluate this on GRAPHICS category. I see only the banner. And putting an already existing logo into another background is nothing but a simple iteration.
  2. See answer 1
  3. Just highlight the words that I’m implying that is good or bad for the project. I’m telling we are appreciating mostly logo works on the category because other works such as UIs, Banners, Advertisiment Assets, Infographics, Game Assets, Social Media Assets etc. is not in our table yet. You asked for help and you get it. Utopian reward is not mandatory, and you as a moderator didn’t know that I should contact your CM as well.
  4. I didn’t see that conversation so it was a basic question and I get my answer.
  5. Nice job.

Two CMs already think different than me on this subject and it’s their call to override this review. I still don’t see enough value to get rewarded.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17