Life of a Coin

in #utopian-io6 years ago

InShot_20180713_143110136-1.jpg

¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤

You look at me and take pride in having. But my shining and glittering face gets tarnished due to your careless careless handling and the heartless manner of treating me. I have been circulated among you for many years. The lettering embossed on my back is dulled. My face too becomes very dull. I'm now an old coin.

But I had a glorious birth in the mints. My parent was a metal strip from which I and my siblings were cut out. Then we were embossed with two ears of corn and the figure 1 with the words Rupee and 1981 imprinted. It indicated the year of my birth. On the other side, the lion capital and the words भारत and India were embossed. The figure and letters were very distinct and legible. I was proud of my smart appearance. But I got old since then. Now you would not recognise me as the same coin.

My first journey was to a bank and that was the beginning of my active life. I was paid over the counter of a bank to a gentleman who chased a cheque. He too could not remain indifferent to my shine and admired my look. After leaving the bank he put me into a leather bag. My next visit was to a shopkeeper. He shut me up in a drawer. I continued to be there for many months. He perhaps did not want to part with me. I had to rub my shoulders with the low born 50 paisa coins. I felt uneasy. Suddenly, I heard whisper from far end of the drawer - 'Oh my young friend, come this way to us'. I found few coins as I look now. They were beckoning me. An old coin gave me good advice with a smile - 'Why are you avoiding us? A rupee is always a rupee, however dull may be look of me'. At last, I was exchanged for two 50 paise pieces. My new master was a miser. He kept me in a chest. I found five hundred of my won species lying there. We were all confined for almost seven years to the chest. The only relief was that we were carried now and then into the fresh air. We were also counted and placed in different heaps. One day the miser died. After long confinement, we were taken out by his young son. He gave me to a young lady. She soon handed me to a servant to buy chocolates. I thus rambled and rambled till I was worn out. The corn ears became dull. The lettering became almost rubbed out. Eventually, I was given away in charity to a beggar. Even he accepted me with reluctance. At last, I was sent back to the mint to be melted into a furnace and cast into new metal sheets.

Now, as I lay back waiting in the mint, I realise that life is short, but waiting for death is long. In this long wait, I again hope to be born as someone that is admirable to all.

♤......................♤

■SEE ALSO■

■■■■■■■■■■

giphy.gif
GOOD NEWS

india-varanasi-benares-varanasi-ganges-boating-600.jpg

THE GANGA

images (60)-1.jpgLife of an Aeroplane

stock-vector-literature-hand-drawn-vector-illustration-with-doodle-icons-images-and-objects-arranged-in-a-circle-477961258.jpgWHY LITERATURE?

images (58).jpeg
ENGLISH

ALL IMAGES CREDIT GOES TO

images (48).jpeg

Sort:  

i like the coins, good design! 😎💰

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by %facttechz% from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @facttechz! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Home stretch to the finals. Do not miss them!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I like this series of yours .. ..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01