Steemit condenser split. What do you think about it? Here are my own thoughts.

in #utopian-io5 years ago (edited)

source

The news of Steemit condenser split isn't new news anymore. If you didn't read the official announcement, it'll still be hard for you not to notice the new changes on Steemit. But, I doubt if as a user of Steemit you haven't read the announcement post. There's a constant reminder at the top of the webpage, and it's hard to miss.
Barely a week ago, Steemit team announced the split of Steemit condenser(ie Steemit's front-end) into two. The split saw the emergence of two entities which were once one. That is; our very own Steemit and the new Steemit wallet. This split raised a lot of eyebrows; including mine. This article is just an expression of my thoughts about the split.

Steemit and Steemit wallet.

steemit.png
A screenshot of Steemit.


steemit wallet.png
A screenshot of Steemit wallet.

The split didn't do anything much aside from extracting a user wallet, and, porting it to a different website entirely. My claims might be wrong, but I think I was among the first set of people that tried out the wallet. That is when Steemit announced the soft roll-out of the wallet. As at that time, the way to access the wallet was by inputting the web address. I checked it out and was expecting something other than the normal wallet that's available now. To my uttermost surprise, there were no changes. The wallet was the exact replica of what we had already gotten used to. If Steemit weren't making any changes to the wallet, then why split it? I asked myself this question several times and I'm sure some other people did too. Well, they(Steemit) stated their reasons for the change, and it was quite understandable. Here is their reason;

Splitting Condenser into separate Social and Wallet applications will constitute a major step toward accomplishing our mission by enabling us to improve each application faster, consume fewer resources, and generate more revenue, while maximizing user security by enhancing the client-side signing experience.

The reason is very tangible, but it has its disadvantages. It might not be a disadvantage to others though, but to me, it is. Well, that was during the initial stages after its launch. There were certain issues, and some of them have been fixed now. When the split happened, if I accessed the wallet, it seemed as though I was stuck in that page. I couldn't go back and, I couldn't access my blog from the page. It was a weird experience for me though. But, that issue has been fixed now. There's now a button that takes users back to their blog. But, what remains a problem is the speed in transition between my blog and my wallet. It's been almost a week since the change was effected, but I haven't been able to get used to the transition. With a little more time though, I will get familiarised with the change.

  • So, what do I think of the split?

Well, the reasons for the split are valid. Steemit as a Dapp has seen several drastic changes in the past. This one isn't really a drastic change though. But, like other changes that have happened, we criticized them at first, then adjusted to those changes, and finally accepted them. This change is no different. I've come across a couple of articles and comments of people who aren't really happy with the change. Especially because of the certain level of inconvenience that the change comes with. Some are even planning to port to other dApps similar to Steemit. But, I doubt if they will go through with that decision. This change isn't enough reason to cause any sort of migration.

  • Do I like the change that comes with the split?

To be honest, there's nothing to like or dislike about the split. We are still being served the same Steemit, and, the same wallet. They are just in separate locations now. Steemit in their official blog said they would develop Steemit and the wallet as separate entities. Hopefully, we'd see some improvements in the wallet soon. I'm not hoping on any sort of changes though. But, speaking about changes, there's been a noticeable change on Steemit now. That is; the presence of ads. I wanted to talk about this in a separate article, but it'd be great to talk about it here.

Ads are now on Steemit. What do I think of it?

steemit ads.png

Some time ago, Steemit announced that ads were going to be introduced on Steemit. The reason was based on some financial issues which saw the retrenchment of a handful of Steemit staff. I can't remember all the details though, but I know that Steemit informed end-users through their official blog that ads were going to be introduced on Steemit. Well, it took quite some time but, they are finally here. Ads are now flying everywhere around the Steemit space.

My thoughts.

Aside from ads being a little bit annoying, they are also finishing agents of internet subscriptions. Not in a large way though. I don't know about other countries but, internet subscriptions are quite a big deal where I'm from(Nigeria). Steemit on its own exhausts data. I wonder how much effect the introduction of ads would add to the level of that exhaustion. Even so, it isn't a big deal for me. I surf other websites with ads, and I don't have a problem with it(surfing those websites). But, if anyone finds a problem with it, they could use browsers with ad blockers. Brave browser offers great ad blocking services. It's been my default browser for a while now. And, although I don't have my ad shields up, I could do that anytime I wish.

brave shiels.png


Summary.

There is a saying;

The only constant thing in life is change.

This principle applies to virtually everything. Steemit has undergone change. We'll rant about it for a few days, weeks, or months. In the end, we'll adjust to it anyway.
Steemit was the first Steem dApp I encountered. I don't think I'm leaving it anytime soon. And, definitely not because of any change that occurs.

There you have it. My thoughts on "Steemit condenser split". A lot of the technical details were skipped. That's because a lot of it has been said already.

Thanks for reading. You can share your own thoughts in the comments section.

Links

Project repository: https://github.com/steemit/condenser

Project links:

Resources:

The content of this post was created based on my knowledge of the project, and mostly from my experience. The images used are screenshots of the platform on my device. Other images gotten elsewhere have their source links provided just below them.

You can read these articles below for more insight;

Github profile:

https://github.com/HarryHeights

Sort:  

Hello, Harry!

Thank you for your contribution. Your post is comprehensive, very informative and well-illustrated with relevant graphics. Keep up the good work.

Once again, you did a really good job in terms of content. The post is extensive and detailed, and contains useful information about the recent developments. Furthermore, the post includes valuable insights about your personal knowledge and views, and it goes without saying that I enjoyed reading your work.

That said, the post did have minor issues of style, but not to the level where it hurt the reading experience. To sum up, this another nice contribution from you, and I appreciate your commitment to quality.

I look forward to your next contribution.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Chat with us on Discord.

[utopian-moderator]

Thank you for your review, @lordneroo! Keep up the good work!

Hey, @harry-heightz!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Hi, @harry-heightz!

You just got a 9.44% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @harry-heightz!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your post is eligible for our upvote, thanks to our collaboration with @utopian-io!
Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77