TRANSLATION REPORT: CONSUL via Crowdin (Part 8)

in #utopian-io5 years ago (edited)

A2852D1D-F3B1-46C2-9827-89CFA8F3562D.png

This post is published in relation to the @utopian-io & @davinci.polyglot translation project, by a selected Translator for the Italian language


Project Details

This is the eight progress report related to my work on the CONSUL app.

In order to avoid plagiarizing myself, please find all relevant information about the project in my first entry. You can also check out the whole project on GitHub.

As has now been established, I’m currently serving as Language Moderator for the Italian team in the @utopian-io & @davinci.polyglot translation project. I must give precedence to reviewing my Translators’ contributions and my own work on CONSUL will therefore proceed more slowly, but I’m happy that I’m able to continue on with this project, which I’ve found both interesting and stimulating.

Contribution Specifications

Translation Overview

In this round of translation, I’ve managed to work on the following files:

management.yml
officing.yml
pages.yml

MANAGEMENT.YML and OFFICING.YML were both very similar to previous files: short sentences or one-word strings with no code whatsoever. The content was also very similar, as the various strings all dealt with the different navigation tools or login and registration requirements for website/project managers and officers, respectively.

The strings found in the PAGES.YML file, on the other hand, could be grouped into three different content sections:

  • privacy and data protection
  • web accessibility
  • keyboard shortcuts

This was a much more interesting file than the ones preceding it. The sentences were longer and more structured, which made for a more satisfying translation exercise. The information provided was also much more interesting, especially with regards to the tools which can be employed by websites in order to make their content completely accessible to all users, regardless of the disabilities they might face.
An issue I had with the privacy and data protection section was that a few strings specifically cited the applicable law. This is good and proper, of course, but it seemed a little silly to translate the legal reference when (1) it won’t be relevant once the platform will be used by Italian local governments, since they’ll have to refer to the Italian legislation on the matter and (2) I don’t even know which Country the cited law is from (I’m guessing Spain, since the CONSUL platform is originally Spanish). I did leave the reference, for now, but I opened an issue on the specific strings, asking whether it would be more appropriate to refer to the laws local to the target language for each translation.

As with previous files, whenever I ran across strings that had already been translated by other users I upvoted their translation, when I agreed, or added my own when I felt the translation should differ. Most of the times, this was done to adhere to previous stylistic choices I had made, and not necessarily because the existing translation was inherently wrong.

Languages

  • SOURCE LANGUAGE: English
  • TARGET LANGUAGE: Italian

Please refer to my application for my expertise and experience as a translator.

Word Count

CROWDIN COUNTER: 1294

BEF8E3A3-A017-46FC-9988-CFE66BDBD8F4.jpeg

A screenshot of the Crowdin counter for my contributions to the Consul project from October 8th to October 10th

These files had no code in them, but a good number of repeated words. I therefore made sure to keep a good margin on the 1000 words parameter.

I’m now 89% done with CONSUL.

Proof of Authorship

Please find the CrowdIn project at this link, where the activity feed summarizes my contribution.

Sort:  

Hi @imcesca!

Thank you for your contribution.

The post is very well written and discussed, so the overall presentation of the post is good.
The strings translated are very accurate, most of the sentences are very well translated. No errors found in orthography and grammar.
Keep up the great work!


Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Chat with us on Discord

Thank you for your review, @mcassani!

So far this week you've reviewed 1 contributions. Keep up the good work!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 5 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 14 SBD worth and should receive 83 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hi @imcesca!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your post is eligible for our upvote, thanks to our collaboration with @utopian-io!
Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hey, @imcesca!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Congratulations @imcesca! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.40
ETH 3576.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75