[Vietnamese Translation] - Source: The Curious Expedition - Part 3: 1142 words in English

in #utopian-io5 years ago (edited)

1.Repository

The Curious Expedition on Github
The Curious Expedition on Crowdin

2.Project Details

2.1. Project name: The Curious Expedition

The introduction of this project was written in details in my previous post. However, I would like to list out some main ideas as follows:

Curious Expedition is a rogue-like expedition simulation set in the 19th century. (source: http://curious-expedition.com/)

This game brings to the players a chance to explore the undiscovered and mysterious places. To get success and be survived, the game players have to be very careful and clever to decide the right ways to solve the unpredictable tasks.

This is a rather difficult game. The game takes place over a series of 6 expeditions, each being larger and more difficult than the last. The goal of each expedition is to discover and explore the Golden Pyramid in each map, and hopefully bring back items to increase your fame and fortune.

For more information about the Curious Expedition, you can find out via its official website: http://curious-expedition.com/

2.2. Translation's Reasons:

This project caught my attention when I was thinking of choosing the project to translate. It seems that Vietnam is a potential market for gaming projects. The number of players in Vietnam is increasing rapidly. However, the game market in Vietnam is underdeveloped and not diversified. There is even a lack of standard documentation to cater to the game players.
I want to use my translation skills to give the Vietnamese community a standardized document that is suitable for Vietnamese culture when approaching an international game.

3.Contribution Specifications

3.1. Translation Overview

This is the third translation part of The Curious Expedition. The file I picked up to translate is the same as my two previous reports: Mod - Apes. The strings translated were mostly game dialogues, some are the narrative sentences.

As usual, in this part I would like to highlight some points which I faced up with when translating:

Point 1. There are lots of strings which are the long narrative sentences in this part. Each string contains many words which express the similar meanings. I felt a little bit confused and difficult to catch up with the words. Here is the example:

String: [Early that morning|The air was fresh and tasted of salt as|Full of anticipation|Eagerly anticipating the forthcoming raid|After rising at the break of dawn|After a good night’s rest|After being too excited to sleep] I [arrived at the docks|made my way to the docks|boarded the ship|stored my equipment on the ship|arrived at the harbour|hurried to the harbour|made haste and arrived at the docks]. [The crew had preparations left to do|The captain had yet to arrive|There were still some arrangements to be made|We had a little time before the ship would be ready], [so I had one last cup of Bananaschnapps|so I spent my time on the deck, enjoying the cool breeze|so I sat on the pier and waited|so I saw if there was anything I could do|so I performed a ritual of swift travel|so I imagined what lay beyond the horizon|so I took some pleasure envisaging my name being whispered in court|so I imagined what my visage would look like on an honorary statue].

(String Source: String No.46, page 3/5, Ape mod file, Curious Expedition)

+) The problem: Each small part which is divided and differentiated by the mark "|" or "]" is an uncompleted sentence. This brings to the readers the confusion to get the full meanings. So, to translate the whole text into Vietnamese but have to express the right and full context is quite difficult.

+) The solution: I read over and over the whole string to understand the completed meaning of each sentence. After that, I would gradually convert the string into Vietnamese and edit the translated string with the right format of the original one.
+) The result: [Sáng sớm hôm đó|Không khí trong lành và có vị mặn mòi khi ấy mọi người đang|đầy háo hức tham gia|mong chờ cuộc đột kích sắp tới|Sau khi thức dậy vào lúc bình minh|Sau một đêm ngon giấc|Sau một đêm quá phấn khích trước giờ ngủ] Tôi [đến các cầu cảng|hướng đến cầu cảng|lên tàu|cất giữ thiết bị của tôi trên tàu|đến bến cảng|vội vã đến bến cảng|nhanh chóng tiếp cận cầu cảng]. [Thuyền viên đã chuẩn bị những việc còn lại để bắt đầu công việc|Thuyền trưởng vẫn chưa đến|Vẫn còn một số bước cần phải sắp xếp|Chúng tôi đã có một ít thời gian trước khi con tàu sẵn sàng], [vì vậy tôi đã thưởng thức cốc rượu chuối cuối cùng|vì vậy tôi đã dành thời gian của tôi trên boong tàu, tận hưởng làn gió mát mẻ|vì vậy tôi ngồi trên cầu tàu và chờ đợi|vì vậy tôi ngẫm nghĩ xem liệu có còn việc gì tôi có thể làm|vì vậy tôi đã thực hiện một nghi thức khởi hành nhanh chóng|vì vậy tôi đã tưởng tượng tôi đang nằm trên đường chân trời|vì vậy tôi đã có một số niềm vui khi nghĩ đến việc tên của tôi đang được thì thầm tại tòa án|vì vậy tôi tưởng tượng ra bộ mặt tôi sẽ trông như thế nào trên một bức tượng danh dự].

Point 2: There are some words which have the various meanings in Vietnamese. So, I have to choose the most suitable one according to the content of the string.

For example:
The word: Court in the Court shaman

(String source: No.13, page 4/5, Ape Mod file.)

It has several various meanings in English and it does the same when being translated in Vietnamese.

In this case, I did skip this string firstly, then I came to the next string which explains the content of this word to translate. After finishing the supporting string, I got back that word to transfer it into the right meaning.


3.2. Languages:
Source Language: English
Target Language: Vietnamese


3.3. Word count:
This part has 1142 words in English. There are not many untranslated words.
The untranslated words are: 23 words, such as: Ape, $name, Adrenalin,...
The translated words in total are: 1119 words.


3.4. Proofread
My translation part was proofread twice by the Language Manager of the Vietnamese Team - @carlpei. It means that my work was checked and followed in details by the authorized person.

4. Proof of Authorship

You can lookup Crowdin project on the following link, as well as the summary of my activities: Crowdin Project Activity

__

This part I would like to spend to say many thanks to you and my team for taking your time to follow me and my translations. Moreover, I would like to say a big thank to my Language Manager for his time reading and making proofread in details. I highly appreciated what he has done for our team.
I am so happy to be a part of our team and we are trying our best to bring to our community the useful sources of information. You can check more Vietnamese translations via my team who have Steemit accounts are: lantracy, symnop, adam.tran, lecongdoo3.
Finally, I am so grateful for being an approved translator of Davinci and Utopian.

My other contributions:

Sort:  

Thank you for your contribution to the Davinci-Utopian translation project @lenancie. This is your 11th contribution to the translation category.

  • This is your third translation on a gaming project but I have to admit that I was very excited to proofread your work. You are using the correct word and the layout is well structured, the translation has a logical flow and uses correct punctuation.
  • I have to agree with you that those words can be complicated when translating them into Vietnamese and the good thing is you know where to search for information to make a translator become a better translator. You are doing a well-done job. The game is based on mythology, therefore, most of the words are in old English words and in order to translate them into Vietnamese, you need to use "Hán Việt (Sino-Vietnamese)" to be precise with the original context.
  • The Curious Expedition is a difficult project with mythological terminologies and gaming jargon which will require a good background knowledge. You are doing a fine job on this project because you are a professional and a licensed translator. You use factual information as evidence to back up your choice of words and I highly appreciate that.
  • You pay attention to detail and you use the correct terminology. Your article is accurate and pleasant to read. You present your thoughts and ideas clearly, precisely and professionally.
  • Your ability to work independently is top-notch but you also provide assistance to your fellow translators.

1539275774.png


It is a pleasure to have you as a team member. I look forward to seeing your next contributions.


Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Chat with us on Discord

Thank you for your review, @carlpei!

So far this week you've reviewed 3 contributions. Keep up the good work!

Chúc mừng @lenancie, bạn đã nhận được một upvote 25%. Tôi là con bot của cộng đồng Việt Nam trên Steemit. Tôi được tạo ra bởi nhân chứng @quochuy và được uỷ quyền, tín nhiệm bởi các thành viên Việt Nam, hôm nay tôi vote cho bài của bạn để ủng hộ bạn. Tôi hi vọng sẽ được thấy nhiều bài viết hay từ bạn.

Chúc bạn vui vẻ, và hẹn gặp lại một ngày gần đây.

Hi @lenancie!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your post is eligible for our upvote, thanks to our collaboration with @utopian-io!
Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hey, @lenancie!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75