[Vietnamese Translation] - Source: The Curious Expedition - Part 4: 1031 words in English

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

1.Repository

The Curious Expedition on Github
The Curious Expedition on Crowdin

2.Project Details

2.1. Project name: The Curious Expedition

The introduction of this project was written in details in my previous post. However, I would like to list out some main ideas as follows:

Curious Expedition is a rogue-like expedition simulation set in the 19th century. (source: http://curious-expedition.com/)

This game brings to the players a chance to explore the undiscovered and mysterious places. To get success and be survived, the game players have to be very careful and clever to decide the right ways to solve the unpredictable tasks.

This is a rather difficult game. The game takes place over a series of 6 expeditions, each being larger and more difficult than the last. The goal of each expedition is to discover and explore the Golden Pyramid in each map, and hopefully bring back items to increase your fame and fortune.

For more information about the Curious Expedition, you can find out via its official website: http://curious-expedition.com/

2.2. Translation's Reasons:

This project caught my attention when I was thinking of choosing the project to translate. It seems that Vietnam is a potential market for gaming projects. The number of players in Vietnam is increasing rapidly. However, the game market in Vietnam is underdeveloped and not diversified. There is even a lack of standard documentation to cater to the game players.
I want to use my translation skills to give the Vietnamese community a standardized document that is suitable for Vietnamese culture when approaching an international game.

3.Contribution Specifications

3.1. Translation Overview

This is the 4th translation part of The Curious Expedition. I continued to translate the file about: Mod - Apes. The strings translated were mostly game dialogues, some are the narrative sentences. This week I have had more free time and I have spent most of My free time on translating the file. As I can see, the level of the difficulty was increasing because I was step by step discovering the main content of the file instead of the introduction part as in my previous pieces of work.

As usual, in this part I would like to highlight some points which I faced up with when translating:

Point 1. I have to admit that when translating this part, I feel it quite difficult to convert all the words in one long string into Vietnamese. The problem is that there are lots of strings which are divided into many small parts. Each part contains a different meaning. My task is to understand the whole string and then connect each small part with others to express the meaning of the string.

String: [I was finishing up my morning preparations as|I was deeply absorbed in my studies about this area as|Early this morning|The journey across the ocean brought many wondrous sightings of marine life before|My thoughts were focussed on the forthcoming raid until|After an unexpectedly calm voyage|I dare not recount the trials and tribulations of the voyage, but thankfully|After weeks of travelling|After too many salty days at sea|After barely surviving one of the most monstrous thunderstorms I have ever witnessed on a ship|The open seas were glorious to sail upon, and I was somewhat sad when|After weeks with nasty food and no bananas|Just as I thought we would never find a way through these waters|In the thick mist of a rainy morning] [we reached the lands of the local ruler|we finally reached the shore of our raiding area|we arrived at our raiding area|a shoreline rose in the morning mist]. [The land lay open in front of us, vast and untamed|The foreign landscape beckoned us to explore|I was curious to discover what kind of dangers were waiting for us here|We had arrived, and it was time to sally forth|I knew this place held the key to my advance at court|I knew I needed to find and impress the local ruler|I knew I needed to find the Golden City].

(String Source: String No.25, page 4/5, Ape mod file, Curious Expedition)

+) The solution: I read over and over the whole string to understand the completed meaning of each sentence. After that, I would gradually convert the string into Vietnamese and edit the translated string with the right format of the original one.
+) The result: [Tôi đã hoàn thành việc chuẩn bị một số công việc buổi sáng ngay sau khi|Tôi nhận thức sâu sắc những gì tôi nghiên cứu về địa điểm này|Đầu sáng nay| Cuộc hành trình xuyên đại dương đã mang lại nhiều điều kỳ diệu về cuộc sống biển trước đây|Mọi suy nghĩ của tôi chỉ tập trung vào chuyến đi phía trước cho tới khi|Sau chuyến hành trình đường biển an toàn ngoài mong đợi|Tôi không dám kể lại những thử thách và khổ nạn của chuyến đi, nhưng may mắn thay!|Sau nhiều tuần chu du|Sau nhiều ngày lênh đênh trên biển|Sau thời điểm hầu như không có khả năng sống sót khi trải qua một trong những cơn bão khủng khiếp nhất mà tôi từng chứng kiến|Các vùng biển chúng tôi trải qua đều rất hùng vĩ, và tôi hơi chút buồn khi nhận ra|Sau nhiều tuần phải dùng thức ăn không hợp và không có chuối|Và tôi chỉ nghĩ rằng chúng tôi sẽ không bao giờ tìm được đường thoát khỏi ra khỏi vùng biển này|Trong sương mù dày đặc của một buổi sáng mưa] [chúng tôi đến vùng đất của người cai trị địa phương|cuối cùng chúng tôi đã tiến vào bờ biển của khu vực săn bắt|chúng tôi đã đến được khu vực săn bắt của chúng tôi|trong màn sương mù mờ buổi sáng một vùng bờ biển hiện ra]. [Vùng đất nằm ngay trước mặt chúng tôi, rộng lớn và vô danh|Cảnh quan khác biệt đã kích thích sự khám phá của chúng tôi|Tôi rất tò mò muốn khám phá ra những gì hiểm nguy đang chờ đón chúng tôi ở phía trước|Chúng tôi đã đến, và đã đến lúc bắt đầu cuộc hành trình|Tôi biết nơi này nắm giữ chiếc chìa khóa mở ra cơ hội thăng tiến của tôi tại triều đình|Tôi biết tôi cần tìm và gây ấn tượng với người cai trị địa phương|Tôi biết mình cần tìm Thành phố Vàng].

Point 2: There are still the old words which caused me the confusion when brainstorming the right words in Vietnamese.

For example:

  • The word: Bloodrider; Berserker
    They have the meanings both in Vietnamese and Hán Việt (Sino-Vietnamese). Thanks to the excellent knowledge of my LM, he did suggest me the most suitable Sino-Vietnamese words to precise the original words. I really really highly appreciate his kindness and his ability to use and understand English as well as Vietnamese.


3.2. Languages:
Source Language: English
Target Language: Vietnamese


3.3. Word count:
This part has 1031 words in English. There are not many untranslated words.
The untranslated words are: 29 words, such as: $name, $his, $he,...
The translated words in total are: 1002 words.


3.4. Proofread
My translation part was proofread twice by the Language Manager of the Vietnamese Team - @carlpei. It means that my work was checked and followed in details by the authorized person.

4. Proof of Authorship

You can lookup Crowdin project on the following link, as well as the summary of my activities: Crowdin Project Activity

__

This part I would like to spend to say many thanks to you and my team for taking your time to follow me and my translations. Moreover, I would like to say a big thank to my Language Manager for his time reading and making proofread in details. I highly appreciated what he has done for our team.
I am so happy to be a part of our team and we are trying our best to bring to our community the useful sources of information. You can check more Vietnamese translations via my team who have Steemit accounts are: lantracy, symnop, adam.tran, lecongdoo3.
Finally, I am so grateful for being an approved translator of Davinci and Utopian.

My other contributions:

Sort:  
Loading...

Hi @lenancie!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your post is eligible for our upvote, thanks to our collaboration with @utopian-io!
Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server


Congratulations @lenancie!
You raised your level and are now a Minnow!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hey, @lenancie!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85