[Translation][Portuguese] The Curious Expedition from English (1992 words) Day 28

in #utopian-io5 years ago

The-Curious-Expedition-Free-Download.jpg

Repository

  • The Curious Expedition on Github
  • The Curious Expedition on Crowdin

Project Details

Curious Expedition is a rogue-like expedition simulation set in the 19th century. Throughout the exploration of gigantic uncharted territories full of danger and treasures, the players will have to prove their bravery and ingenuity facing the unknown. The story is based on a decision-making dynamic that makes the path and gaming experience of every player different.

When I was first presented with this translation task I didn't know what I was about to discover. In order to do my job as perfect as possible I first searched the project to see for myself what I was translating. For my own surprise I found out that Curious Expedition is a really interesting game that lets you control all those fantastic explorers that I have read on books; it goes from Charles Darwin to Roald Amundsen and many others.

Being an adventure writer myself I must admit that I wish I had more time to play it!

The game is available on Steam, GOG, Humble Store and at the official homepage http://curious-expedition.com.

Contribution Specifications

1. Translation Overview

Day 28 on the Curious Expedition followed the same routine as previously reported. All the strings translated are part of the Main Game folder, where the sentences are part of long in-game story telling and dialogues with occasional menu options.

As I approach the end of this project I see more dialogues with multiple options that are randomly generated by the game's mechanics. Some of the strings presented multiple character variables, which required extra attention to pick gender neutral conjugations. Apart from that the work flow had the same routine as before.

Starting point on Main Game files (English/Portuguese)

  • [I spent the morning tending to $name and $his crippling cough.|I was kept awake through the night by $name and $his bone-rattling cough.|The hacking cough sounded terrible, so I had to spent time to make sure $he survived this episode.|$Name was heaving, hacking, $his whole body trembled the whole morning.|While waiting for $name to stop coughing up blood on the pristine snow, I wondered whether I should just cut $him lose.] Eventually $his condition improved enough so that we could continue the journey, but we did lose time.

String source:https://crowdin.com/translate/the-curious-expedition/3/en-ptbr#12557, accessed on March 16th at 09:00

  • [Passei a manhã cuidando de $name e de sua incapacitante tosse.|$name e sua estremecedora tosse me mantiveram sem dormir.|Sua tosse seca soava terrível, assim tive que passar o tempo para me certificar que $he sobreviveria a este episódio.|$Name estava arfando, tossindo, o seu corpo tremeu a manhã inteira.|Enquanto esperava que $name parasse de "tossir sangue" na neve imaculada, fiquei imaginando se deveria simplesmente abandonar $he.] Eventualmente, sua condição melhorou o suficiente para que pudéssemos continuar a jornada, porém perdemos tempo.

Fonte da String:https://crowdin.com/translate/the-curious-expedition/3/en-ptbr#12557, acessado em 16 de Março às 09:00

End point on Main Game files (English/Portuguese)

  • The nights were so cold, the water I was carrying froze. I had to heat up the water flask by the the campfire to drink it first. Unbelievable.

String source:https://crowdin.com/translate/the-curious-expedition/3/en-ptbr#12591,accessed on March 16th at 14:44

  • As noites eram tão frias que a água que eu carregava congelou. Eu tive que aquecer o frasco de água perto da fogueira para beber. Inacreditável.

Fonte da String:https://crowdin.com/translate/the-curious-expedition/3/en-ptbr#12591 acessado em 16 de Março às 14:44

2. Languages

This translation was made from English to Portuguese.

For the past two years, I worked as a basic to intermediate level English teacher at a local school, expanding greatly my knowledge of the English and Portuguese grammar/vocabulary. Now I'm a full time content creator using English as my main language.

I volunteered to translate two different projects for the brazilian community, which served as a sample for my application on the Da-Vinci/Utopian Portuguese Translation Team, where I'm currently working.

3. Word Count

  • On this work I have translated a total of 1992 words over a period of 5 hours

Proof of Authorship

Sort:  

Thank you for your contribution to Utopian + Da Vinci translation category @mrprofessor.
In analysing your translated words:

  • Translated 1992 words in this contribution, with three errors.
  • Your presentation is clear and provide all information needed for this contribution.
  • Excellent work overall, continue with your translations.

I look forward to more contributions.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Chat with us on Discord

Hi @mrprofessor!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your post is eligible for our upvote, thanks to our collaboration with @utopian-io!
Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85