Bible Bot - Greek Translation (Approximately 1135 Words)

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)


Image from: pixabay.com


Github Repository:

https://github.com/BibleBot/BibleBot


Project Details:

Bible Bot is a Discord Chat Bot for Bible verses. You can easily get it here:
https://discordbots.org/bot/biblebot.

Our developer LM, @dimitrisp, is in charge of proofreading and evaluating this contribution.


Why I chose this project?

Well, because I was mostly curious. Unfortunately, we had to abandon the iFixit project, which I had liked a lot. So I needed another piece to work on. I went through our Whitelisted Projects and.... BOOM! The Bible Bot hit me!


Contribution Specifications

Translation Overview:

The project is not very big (only 1520 English words). When I started translating, some strings were already translated and approved, but I needed to go through them again in order to check their accuracy; some were ok, while others needed corrections. Most of the text is setup commands, whereas there are some strings containing three of the four Creeds *(the Apostles', the Nicene-Constantinopolitan, the Chalcedonian and the Pseudo-Athanasian Creed).

Languages:

The original text was in English and I translated it into Greek (my mother tongue).

Activity Overview:

Out of the 1520 words, about 1/5 was already translated. I began by working on the unstranslated strings and then went on to check the approved translations and fix any mistakes.

In terms of difficulty, I'd rate it average, as there are a few dev terms that needed translation, but in general it is a "translator-friendly" project (as I like to call them). Of course I needed to pay attention to code strings and variables that needed to remain untranslated. I also needed to go through some previously translated strings to correct mistakes I found in them (wrong translations or formatting).

Word Count:

According to Crowdin's word count tool, I translated 1336 words (from a target text of 1463 words). If we subtract 15% of this number for:
a) variables and code strings that need to remain untouched and
b) duplicate strings,

we are left with about 1135 words.

Proof of Authorship:

ruth-girl_crowdin profile .jpg

ruth-girl_github profile.jpg

Note: No Activity Screenshots were added after a specific new guideline we received on August 2nd, 2018.


What does the future hold?

I don't know what my next project is going to be... or do I know and I am just not telling you?
I guess you're gonna have to wait to find out.


TL;DR

I was working on the iFixit project, which was forced to stop and I chose to translate Bible Bot out of curiosity mostly. The file was relatively small and I finished the project all at once. I translated about 1135 words, the project was not very difficult, but needed attention when writing comand- and code-strings. The next project I'll be working on is still not set.


This project was enjoyable to deliver. I learnt something new, as I already new the Apostles' Creed by heart in Greek, but I had never read the Chalcedonian Creed until now.
And this is where the ancient Greek phrase "γηράσκω δ’αεί πολλά διδασκόμενος" (I grow old always learning a lot) applies perfectly.


Credits:

Thank you @dimitrisp for reviewing my work! It's always a pleasure working with you!

@katerinaramm - @lordneroo - @trumpman, hats off to you too for working hard and providing us with great translations!

The Greek team rocks!

A big thank you also goes to DaVinci and Utopian for supporting this huge endeavour and making sure things work properly, abuse is suppressed and good work is rewarded!

Sort:  

Hey @ruth-girl
Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Thank you for another great contribution to the translations category! This was your 1st contribution to BibleBot and your 3rd contribution overall.


BibleBot is a discord bot that prints Bible verses. Your translation exceeded my expectations, as it is very good, and I hope to see you do the same job on the next translation project you will choose.

On the project you translated, there were a some strings that were already translated, but their quality was pretty bad, and you also fixed them.

I have nothing new to add about your job, as once again you were very cooperative and your translation was very good.


Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Chat with us on Discord

Thanks a lot for the lovely review and help! :D

Interesting Project

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72