GDevelop - Greek Translation Part 2 (~1185 words)

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

GDevelop desktop - 2.jpg


GDevelop Repository on Github:

https://github.com/4ian/GD

GDevelop on Crowdin:

https://crowdin.com/project/gdevelop


The basics...

Project Details:

GDevelop is the desktop version of the GDevelop Website I completed some days earlier. After having worked on the Website translation, I felt it right to go on and translate the program as well.

According to its official website:

"GDevelop is an open-source, cross-platform game creator designed to be used by everyone - no programming skills required."

Let your creativity run wild and create any type of game you wish!

The tools?

Plenty!

Use the revolutionary tool of "events" and create games from scratch without any special programming knowledge. You can publish your work to the web, iOS, Android, Windows, Mac, Linux and even Facebook Messenger; and if you are using the app, you can easily export your game to Android.

Tutorials and guides are available to help you make your first steps, and for the more advanced users, some Javascript will surely send your game to the moon... and further!

You can either make your games online or download the program on your computer and... let the game begin!

Our developer Language Manager, @dimitrisp, will be in charge of proofreading and reviewing this project.


Why this project?

After completing Mura CMS, the open-source content management system, I had to go through the whitelisted projects again and find myself another piece that would not only be suitable for my skills, but also close to my interests. GDevelop seemed like a fun project with lots of potential and benefits to offer, so I spared no second thoughts and started translating it into my native language.

I am a creative person myself, therefore a project that "feeds" on people's creativity and offers chances to promote it and have fun, while sharing the final results with so many other users, seemed like something I'd like to help and spread the word about. The fact that games created with GDevelop are compatible with almost any platform, raises the chances of it being adopted by new users more easily. Don't forget that it's like a "game creator for dummies", armed with guides and tutorials to help the average user who wants to experiment and create their own game to share with their friends and why not... the rest of the world!

For all the above reasons, I would like to see more Greek speaking users try this game creator out, and this is why I am translating the project into Greek.


Contribution Specifications

Translation Overview:

The original text contains 25,312 words to translate, a number quite big. This project will be completed in at least 18 parts.

When I first started working on the GDevelop project, some strings were already translated and approved. My job is to read those again and make sure they are correct and follow the wording and writing style I use throughout the project. If I come across bad translations, I will of course fix them.

In terms of difficulty, this project seems a bit harder in some parts, but I worry not as my guardian angel... ehm, guardian LM I meant, will be on the watch and give a helping hand when things get messy... Gaming (as if I didn't see that coming) and developing terms raise the bar of difficulty in various parts, not only because I need to understand their exact function in the program, but also because there is not a complete word bank in the Greek language and the English terms are preferred most of the time.

Languages:

The original text is all written in English and it is my task to translate it in Greek (my mother tongue).


Sounds interesting?

If you liked the description above and feel tempted to give it a try and see what you can make with this powerful tool in your hands, go through this link:

https://editor.gdevelop-app.com/

and check out the online GDevelop editor.

If you like it, you can download the desktop version from here:

https://editor.gdevelop-app.com/


The current session...

Activity Overview:

In the second session, just like in the previous one, I went through some already translated strings. I made corrections where they were needed or in some cases just fixed the writing to style to match mine. In this part, as well as in the first one, I consulted @dimitrisp and decided to translate certain strings in a specific way or left some words untranslated, because we believed that the English term is better understood by Greek gamers.

Here is a taste of what I translated this time:

"Open the folder of the project" ="Άνοιγμα του φακέλου του project"

ok, that's easy!

"Error while downloading the update file.\nPlease check your internet connection and your firewall.\n\nYou can disable Check for updates in the preferences of GDevelop." = "Παρουσιάστηκε σφάλμα κατά τη λήψη της ενημερωμένης έκδοσης αρχείου.\nΠαρακαλώ ελέγξτε την σύνδεσή σας στο διαδίκτυο και το τείχος προστασίας σας.\n\nΜπορείτε να απενεργοποιήσετε τον έλεγχο για ενημερώσεις στις προτιμήσεις του GDevelop."

now things get a little more interesting...

"Double click to set the project as the current project.\nDouble click on an item to edit it, or use right\nclick to display more options." = "Κάντε διπλό κλικ για να ορίσετε το project ως το τρέχον project.\nΚάντε διπλό κλικ σε ένα στοιχείο για να το επεξεργαστείτε ή κάντε δεξί\nκλικ για να εμφανίσετε περισσότερες επιλογές."

this is not something to sweat over. Thankfully that part was somehow easier than the first one, but in the next contribution things are getting tough again...


Word Count:

According to Crowdin's word count tool, in this session I translated 1248 words. After subtracting a rough 5% for untranslated words that were mainly programming and gaming terms like "shooter" and "platformer" (I chose to leave such words in English as they are common words Greek gamers meet every day, so the original English word is better understandable for them); I can say that I have translated about 1185 words.

Note: The previous part was about 1169 words.


Proof of Authorship:


Note: No Activity Screenshots were added after the new guideline we were given on August 2nd, 2018.


TL;DR

I finished the GDevelop Website project and on my previous contribution I started working on the desktop version. The second part that I present here was easier than the first one, but the next one looks quite demanding. Proofreading and review of my work falls on @dimitrisp again. In this session I translated about 1185 words.


Credits

ruth-girl_steemit_translation credits 2.png


translations - greek team.gif

Image credits for the first and second images of this gif: @pab.ink

Third and fourth images from the Public Domain

Sort:  

This is your 2nd GDevelop contribution and your 20th contribution overall to the translations category!


GDevelop is an open-source, cross-platform game creator designed to be used by everyone - no programming skills required. With GDevelop you can create games for Windows, Linux, Os X, iPhones, Androids etc.

This part was easier than the first part. It didn't have as many unknown technical terms, and the result was better.

I also got to answer some of your questions before you translated, which -as always- is a plus for me (shows that you really care)

Once again, I changed my mind mid-proofreading on a few strings and made you change them twice -sorry about that, you know how bad my OCD gets some times-

Your contribution post was perfect, however, since you threw my guitar into the sea, here is a moldy cookie:


Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Chat with us on Discord

Thank you for your review, @dimitrisp!

So far this week you've reviewed 2 contributions. Keep up the good work!

Thanks for the review my dear LM! And apologies for the guitar, I wasn't meant to be dropped into the sea... 😭

Ποποπο.... τι leader εισαι συ!!!! :ppppp

Η καλύτερη Νίκοοοοοοοοοο! 😝🍻

Τους δίνεις υπερωρίες και τα ρεπα τους;;; οχι τίποτα άλλο η επιθεώρηση εργασίας καραδοκεί..... :))))

Να 'ναι καλά το utopian, παίρνουμε όλα τα νόμιμα επιδόματα! 😇

pasok!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 15 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 12 SBD worth and should receive 148 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hi @ruth-girl!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.027 which ranks you at #1017 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 1019).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 215 contributions, your post is ranked at #59.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Good bot, too! Thanks!

Hey, @ruth-girl!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87