The Curious Expedition - Greek Translation Part. 24

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)


(credit)

Current Session

Just finished my 24th contribution for "The Curious Expedition" and just noticed I hit a very important milestone:

30.png

Yep... After 24 contributions I have only finished 30 % of the project, LOL.

Well, on the bright side, @ruth-girl has been finally accepted as a language moderator (or whatever it's called) and she can finally start approving, and not just upvote, my suggested strings. As you can see in the photo above, she has already approved about 6 % of the project. You go girl! I am sure she is also double checking the strings again for any mistakes we might have made so I guess this is a good thing, although it requires some extra work from her part.

So, like always, here are a couple of strings I translated during this session, to give you a small taste of what I am dealing with:

  1. "$name started behaving strangely."

  2. "[We dug for hours, but|Even after a long day of digging|After many back breaking hours and a broken shovel,] [the area yielded naught|our search proved fruitless|our excavation did not yield any results]."

  3. "A villager caught up with us."

  4. "Start next tutorial lesson."

  5. "[He regaled us with stories of|We were informed of] a [hidden|remote|undiscovered] region where a considerable number of ancient shrines could be found. However, he warned us about the [frequent|dangerous|deadly|powerful|scalding|volatile|unimaginable] geyser activity that served as a protection for them. We made sure to mark the location for our next expedition."

As you can see, it's more or less the same standard stuff I have been translating all this time.

And again, here's a small taste of what I was listening to during this session:

Hope you enjoyed the tracks. If not, too bad!

Repository

Project Details

The Curious Expedition is a rogue-like expedition simulation set in the 19th century. It's the first game by indie developer Maschinen-Mensch. The game is available on Steam, GOG, Humble Store and at the official homepage http://curious-expedition.com. The game has been regularly updated through out the last 2 years. A list of all the updates can be found here. For information on modding the game, go here . [source and more info]

Gameplay

Here's a video showing some in-game footage from the game to get a good idea of what to expect. Maybe it will convince you to give it a try:

And here's what I believe to be the official trailer:

Why Did I Choose This Project?

Well, to be honest, I chose this project because all the other options were applications with boring names like Freecad and Jabref. I thought it would be fun (edit: less boring) to translate a game instead. And thank god... I was right!

I am sure my team members are very jealous that I get to translate strings like "Let's eat", "Giant tortoise", "I feel happy and sad", and "Oh my god" while they get to translate stuff like "resolving duplicate keys", "Port Design", "Constraining modifier key" and "Corrugated elements"... LOL!

Too bad for them, now they have to live with the choices they have made....MUAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH

Contribution Specifications

  • Translation Overview: This is a really large project, approximately 80.000 words and obviously it's gonna take me a while to finish. In each part I plan to translate anywhere from 700 to 1200 words. For the most part, the translation is very easy as there are few, if any, technical terms.
  • Languages: The project is being translated from English to Greek.
  • Word Count: According to Crowdin, for Part 24# I translated 893 words, for a total of 25147 translated words. Since most of the strings translated were part of the in-game dialogues there were only a handful (1, maybe 2%) that were left in the original language, e.g. screenshot.

Proof of Authorship

Credits:

First I'd like to thank our very helpful and patient LMs, @dimitrisp and @ruth-girl for being awesome.

A shout-out goes of course to the other brilliant members of the Greek team: @katerinaramm, @lordneroo and of course the one and only @trumpman. A special shoutout of course goes to @trumpman2, I would be nothing without his constant support and guidance!

And last but not least, a big thank you goes to DaVinci and Utopian for keeping this project alive, running and developing!


Image credits for the first and second images of this gif: @pab.ink - Third and fourth images from the Public Domain

Sort:  
Loading...

Hi @trumpman!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your post is eligible for our upvote, thanks to our collaboration with @utopian-io!
Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Does replying to bots help increase the engagement factor for UA ? XD

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 11 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 11 SBD worth and should receive 103 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thanks!!!! You are an awesome pig god dammit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70810.22
ETH 3571.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73