The Curious Expedition Greek Translation - Part 50 (~ 1088 words)

in #utopian-io5 years ago (edited)

Current Session

Wow! I can't believe this is my 50th contribution for The Curious Expedition! And since I have translated about 61 % of the project I guess I have only.. 30 parts more or less to get this thing over with:

61.png

To be honest, I am getting a bit tired of translating this game for all this time now, so I can't wait for the time when I will have finally finished it!

As for the current session, like I have said 50 times counting this post, this was again a very easy translation. Just have a look at some of the strings I worked on during this session:

However, [not one of the villagers wanted|all of the villagers refused] to join the trek. [We seemed to have gained a bad reputation amongst these people|We needed to gain their trust first|Perhaps we would need to show our goodwill by trading with them first|They simply did not trust us enough|We needed to improve our standing with these people before they would join the expedition].

[I sense harmony.|The spirits are strong with these people.|These people are in balance with the spirits of the lands.|I feel welcome here.|The gods are smiling on these people.]

[You should not say that.|Saying that is very offensive.|You know you are being very offensive, right?|How can you say that?|Quiet! What if they understand you?|You have serious issues.|You should not judge them like this.|You are such a bigot.|I really don't like your opinion about these people.|We're guests here, and you should behave accordingly.]

A golden well-crafted reproduction of an eggplant fruit.

As you can see, there is really nothing special or difficult to translate. Easy strings that even a small child can do!

And like with many of my previous translations, I again inserted a few original strings of my own here and there (always making sure they fit with the context provided) as the devs have given us the liberty to do so!

Now, let me conclude with a small taste of the music I enjoyed while preparing this contribution:

That's all folks!

Repository

Project Details

The Curious Expedition is a rogue-like expedition simulation set in the 19th century. It's the first game by indie developer Maschinen-Mensch. The game is available on Steam, GOG, Humble Store and at the official homepage http://curious-expedition.com. The game has been regularly updated through out the last 2 years. A list of all the updates can be found here. For information on modding the game, go here . [source and more info]

Gameplay

And here's what I believe to be the official trailer:

Why Did I Choose This Project?

Well, to be honest, I chose this project because all the other options were applications with boring names like Freecad and Jabref. I thought it would be fun (edit: less boring) to translate a game instead. And thank god... I was right!

I am sure my team members are very jealous that I get to translate strings like "Let's eat", "Giant tortoise", "I feel happy and sad", and "Oh my god" while they get to translate stuff like "resolving duplicate keys", "Port Design", "Constraining modifier key" and "Corrugated elements"... LOL!

Too bad for them, now they have to live with the choices they have made....MUAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH

Contribution Specifications

  • Translation Overview: This is a really large project, approximately 80.000 words and obviously it's gonna take me a while to finish. In each part I plan to translate anywhere from 700 to 1200 words. For the most part, the translation is very easy as there are few, if any, technical terms.
  • Languages: The project is being translated from English to Greek.
  • Word Count: According to Crowdin, for Part 50# I translated 1088 words, for a total of 51433 translated words. Since most of the strings translated were part of the in-game dialogues, there were only a handful (1, maybe 2%) that were left in the original language, e.g. screenshot.

Proof of Authorship

Credits

First I'd like to thank our very helpful and patient LMs, @dimitrisp and @ruth-girl for being awesome.

A shout-out goes of course to the other brilliant members of the Greek team: @katerinaramm, @lordneroo and of course the one and only @trumpman. A special shoutout of course goes to @trumpman2, I would be nothing without his constant support and guidance!

And last but not least, a big thank you goes to DaVinci and Utopian for keeping this project alive, running and developing!


Image credits for the first and second images of this gif: @pab.ink - Third and fourth images from the Public Domain

Sort:  

Thank you for contributing to the Davinci-Utopian translation project @trumpman!
This was the 50th part for the “Curious Expedition” project and your 53rd contribution to the translations category in total.


A flawless translation! Everything was perfect and you managed to sneak in a few funny things that made my day!

Your post contains everything we need to review your contribution, and a little extra (Sabaton \m/ - in the next translation you could include a song by Kyrakin xD)

I'll be waiting (around the corner with Chocolate Melomakarona in a box) for your next translation, and hopefully, it will be perfect as well!


Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Chat with us on Discord

Thanks boss. Happy to make you proud :D

Thank you for your review, @dimitrisp! Keep up the good work!

[You should not say that.|Saying that is very offensive.|You know you are being very offensive, right?|How can you say that?|Quiet! What if they understand you?|You have serious issues.|You should not judge them like this.|You are such a bigot.|I really don't like your opinion about these people.|We're guests here, and you should behave accordingly.]

Please tell me that you put this here just to see if anyone actually reads this s**t, that these are not the actual lines from the game, and that I won some prize now, say... the pink dragon???

😈 😈 😈

No pink dragon for you, I'm afraid. :P

Ha! Actually that was a lucky draw. I just copy 3-5 of the translated strings without looking them at all. There is also another string right below this one that is something like "Yeah, well said| I couldn't agree any more|etc" 😂🤣😂

Slow the much-oil! xD

Hi @trumpman!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.345 which ranks you at #690 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 275 contributions, your post is ranked at #97.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hey, @trumpman!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
Congratulations! Your contribution was Staff Picked to receive a maximum vote for the translations category on Utopian for being of significant value to the project and the open source community.

We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82