Bajai Life Camp 17.07: Day 488 [#photos - What draws your eye?] See you on the road.

in #vagabond-life6 years ago

Bajai Life Camp 17.07: Day 488
Far Home Bernabeu Hostal
Sunday October 7, 2018
Madrid, Spain
26.72% relieved

I booked my hotel in Palencia this morning. Looks like a nice place. I hope it's not too far away from the station. I don't imagine Palencia is the last stop. I can get the ticket at the station. The buses run pretty regularly.
I have three opportunities to get there at a decent hour.

20181007_Palencia 6a.png
Art?? In Palencia

Bizarro Dream #100718

In my mind I've eliminated her as a candidate. But the subconscious kicked into overdrive. She showed up very amorous, playful and affectionate and I was happy.

Of course I haven't heard from her this weekend. I can take this as a good result, otherwise I might get more drawn in.

I need to go. I'm not that guy. That man.

20181007_Palencia 1a.png
The architecture here is stunning

Anyway, the mirror is treating me well this morning. I have to still remember I'm too fat. That's what keeps me motivated, although I've done nothing yet today. I will be carrying bags around.

I'm in the final phase of the bug bite attack. The skin's almost smooth... well back to normal, and it doesn't itch.

Forgot to mention, right ankle is sore. I don't know what happened, but it's improving.

"What's the actual difference between
a three star hotel and a five?"

I got my ticket, so I'm feeling better. The first machine I tried didn't work so the "challenge" is still in effect. I almost referred to it as a dark cloud, but that's too bleak.

The purpose of this trip is not only to see more of Spain, but to find places to lay low between programs. For some reason I feel I need to pinch pennies. That is to hold on to as much loot as possible, although the reality is much more positive. Nonetheless I don't want to waste money. What's the actual difference between a three star hotel and a five? Anyone who's sampled both can tell me I'm sure.

20181007_Palencia 2a.png

However, for a vagabond like your humble narrator, five stars are like throwing pearls before swine. I don't have a sense for opulence and I don't like people serving me for money. To do nice services for people because you like them, or because it makes you and them feel good, is a much better experience.

Anyway... off to a nice within budget hotel, out of the chaos of Madrid, hopefully where I can chill.

This came to mind at breakfast... I posted on social media.

"What a lot of us humans either fail to understand, or refuse to acknowledge is that the concept of privacy came from the state and thus the state (the system) can revoke the privilege. Most of what we have, whether given, assigned or acquired was provided, even if indirectly, by the system... and those that control the system can change it. Is it right? Who determines what's right? Only those who are willing to protect and defend what they believe is right and are rights.
The constitution is just ink on parchment unless, until humans decide to actually defend (& understand) the ideas contained within.

And on that happy note... have a pleasant Sunday."

(I should include comments if I get any.)

The Move


20181007_Palencia 3a.png

From Madrid to Palencia went ultra smoothly! Perfectly I'd say. We... the two of us left on the bus after the penultimate stop... got in earlier than scheduled. We passed the hotel on the way to the station, but I still felt as if I were going the wrong way. Nonetheless I found it on the first try. Good thing too. There were no taxis and the station was all but abandoned.

At first glance I like Palencia. I felt the need to walk around this city as soon as I got here. I found the commercial strip, the park and the river, which is very small. There are lots of kids and elders here. Teens too, sitting in the park doing what they do. Lots of "se vende" signs on buildings too. I wonder if many people here commute to Madrid.

20181007_Palencia 4a.png

It's cooler up here too. It actually feels like Autumn. I'm not really that prepared.

Layers.

There's a gym down the street from the hotel. Tomorrow I may check it out. I found a place in the park to do pull ups. If I can get a three day deal... even a two day deal on the gym I'll take it.

My vibe is much better. I feel I've made the right choice coming here. I'm even understanding Spanish better. There's an almost thirty seconds delay, but I eventually get the idea.

I want to practice drawing Manga and Spanish and calisthenics. My curriculum is rounding out. I'll be more of an entertainment asset next year.

20181007_Palencia 5a.png

I have found out quite a few things about this area. Information I don't usually discover until the last day. There's even a lavanderia close by.

A lot to report today. I'll have to pick it up tomorrow.

Sort:  

My rant didn't get many comments. They rarely do. I don't think people know how to receive my thoughts.
Enjoy the show.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94