Two Smoothies And A Stroll In Montreal

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

drink.jpg

We have been trying to start our day with something more valuable than a plate of pasta so by using what is available to us in the fridge on the counter and outside, we had concocted some delicious smoothies. Not one kind but two.

Yesterday there were freshly washed dandelions that we had pick so we threw them in the blender. I was set on not consuming them once early spring was over but it continues. There are so many ways to diminish the tough texture and bitterness. Putting them in a smoothie in place of spinach and kale which are the top green smoothie items is one way to use this nutritious herb.

I mixed them with frozen banana, pear and soaked flax.

drink2.jpg

I added a small amount of water and blended.

dand1.jpg

I kid you not, even a child would find this delicious if you could get them past the color green. Though I know there are many children out there that are now starting to consume healthier things because of their loving parents guiding them into the right direction.

drink1.jpg

We have started daily long walks which sadly will be on hold starting tomorrow when I go to my job interview. But the good news is that if I get the job I will be able to buy some better food items. We have been scrounging which is our own fault for taking our time and enjoying the freedom from the grind.

Yesterday before we headed out we had the dandelion smoothie and one more to really juice up and be satisfied until we returned.

The second was with a pineapple that my mother in law bought and had on the counter for a while. It was time to crack it open since they don't eat much fruit unless it has sugar on it. I think she buys it for decoration.

drink6.jpg

I must admit, pineapples are a lovely creature almost too pretty to break open. But since they are so delicious when ripe and juicy, we should decorate our insides with them. They are full of enzymes Bromelain that aid in digestion.

drink4.jpg

I added banana and ice cubes since I ran out of frozen bananas, ground flax and date puree.

drink5.jpg

Sweet and tangy. I added a generous sprinkle of cinnamon which I have never paired with pineapple before but it was delicious.

drink7.jpg

We were now fueled up for a walk on a perfect sunny day in Montreal. This time we went to a destination west of where we are staying. It's a park about an hour walk away. It's by the St Lawrence river, where the vista is just beautiful.

When we got there we noticed a couple of geese and several goslings being fed by a man. He was giving them bread which I wish people wouldn't do but I know their intentions are good.

These lovely creatures were very happily feeding on the bread as I snapped some photos.

drink9.jpg

The young ones are getting into a bad habit of eating gluten and yeast. I know I do that too but they don't know to turn it down.

drink8.jpg

This mother was not impressed with me getting so close. After a hiss and a couple of dramatic steps toward me, I surely backed off and thanked her kindly for the photos.

drink10.jpg

While we walked along the path we came to another gaggle of wild Canadian geese that included one lone white goose resembling the kind that live on farms. I guess somebody had a date with a farmer's goose. This goose among the rest looked like how I feel sometimes in this life.

drink14.jpg

We sat on the grass for a while and soaked up some rays with the sights of the St. Lawrence river ahead.

drink11.jpg

Then we left for home on another long journey that seemed really easy this time. We didn't go as far as the day before but it was still worth something.

drink12.jpg

signature.jpg

Sort:  

Such a good idea to put dandelions in smoothie! I am allergic to pineapple so I could not try the second one but I'm sure I would love the first one!

Good luck with your job interview my dear! Fingers crossed!

Thank you sooo much @delishtreats! I understand the pineapple thing. Many people have this problem and from time to time it doesn't agree with me as well but I got away with it this time haha.

Oh, I love pineapple but it gives me a horrible rash.. really bad.. and it takes like a week to get back to normal so I rather avoid it :) But I would definitely eat it if it wouldn't give me such a bad reaction :)

I really understand!!!

Lovely post, your smoothie combos sound excellent, especially the one with the self-picked dandelion ☺️ I recently found a ripe coconut at a beach in Bali and made a smoothie out of it and realized how wonderful it really is, to hunt for fruits in nature. 💚

Oh that's wonderful!! And that you're in Bali extra awesome. How wonderful to get a coconut at the beach. It's a dream. Thank you @rawadventuress!

Yes, I got really lucky there ☺️

After seeing those wonderful ingredients goes into the blender, I have a new opinion on green drink! And it's a good one :)

You must do it and I think you have some interesting veggies over there. I can't wait to see what you come up with haha.

Vege here are mostly best when it's cooked. Eating raw vege is Not really a culture here sadly

You can change that haha.

I'll see what I can do when I go to the market :)

I really enjoyed reading your post Carolyn...........beautiful photos and delicious smoothies. Those little ducklings are so precious 🌸💖🌸

Oh Lena dear I appreciate your comment so much. It means a lot to me thank you!!!

Congratulations @carolynstahl! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Really enjoying your blog. I'll be following you from now on ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70391.42
ETH 3572.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74