Vegan Ice Cappuccino

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

cap3.jpg

I have seriously been trying to cut down on coffee to wean myself off. It had been two days of no coffee. Last night I saw some leftover coffee in pot before I went to bed and couldn't resist filling up some ice cube trays. I knew it would still be sunny for one more day.

Back in the day I would consume such things as ice cappuccino, so sweet and decadent, I would pay an arm and a leg for one.

cap.jpg

Now I don't consume dairy or animal products so I found a way to really hit the spot with a cappuccino like beverage. It turned out pretty thick so I'm not comfortable calling it a beverage, though it made it's way through a straw.

With the coffee ice cubes I blended a banana, a cup of almond milk, vanilla and two tablespoons of date puree. Date puree is something I have decided to keep on hand all the time. Its just as simple as soaking dates in water overnight and blending the next morning. This puree is a miracle for sweetening and keeping down the refined sugars.

cap1.jpg

After blending everything I got something that reminded me of soft serve ice cream. It was so cold and refreshing as we sat in the sun to consume it.

cap4.jpg

When I started making this, Marc said it won't be sweet because there is no sugar in the coffee, but I kid you not it was perfectly sweet from the dates and bananas.

cap.jpg

Remarkably it tastes as though there was cocoa in it . In fact you could fool someone into thinking that there was. I suppose the coffee and dates combo kind of gave it that taste illusion. Usually cappuccino is made with espresso but I am not equipt for that. And besides the coffee worked perfectly.

I would suggest for anyone that wants to have this but doesn't drink coffee, to use a substitute such as Cafe Lib made from grain, which has a similar taste to coffee and would do the trick. This is a version you can make for your children. I assure you they would love it and not even suspect that it was good for them.

My boyfriends mother gave her kids coffee when they were babies. Why? Believe or not, her doctor told her that it would help them sleep. Marc remembers being a small child and screaming in the morning until he got his coffee fix. Is it me or does that seem a little crazy?

cap2.jpg

signature.jpg

Sort:  

ah i am so innnnnnnnnnnnnnn-gimme gimme gimme-pleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaseeeeeeeeeeeeeee

I hope you make it. Enjoy!!!!!

did :-)

and?

ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh scrumpschelicious

DSC01920.jpg buttercoffeecream with ladyfingers and roasted almonds

This makes me so happy. I can sleep well now!!!

Sounds delicious. We freeze small cubes of coconut milk in silicone cube trays. Then put them , along with extra ripe bananas, dates, vanilla bean, and real vanilla extract into a Vitamix and soon have some of the best ice cream around. Adding a little water or soy milk helps mix it all together.

You are so lucky to have a Vitamix! I fight with the blender that is here where I'm staying haha. That coconut icecream is going to be next on my list. Great idea.

As you explain it comes to my mind an iced coffee that I consumed a long time ago, I am a lover of coffee whether it is cold or hot I am sure you will like it because if you know cocoa I adore cocoa

The thing about giving the children coffee to make them sleep better, I really do not know if that really works

I love iced coffee and cocoa. If I had cocoa I would have put it in. Next time.

I think that giving children coffee is really unhealthy. It is addictive and generally wakes people up not put them to sleep haha.

That's true, friend

aw this looks really yummy dear really love it.

Thank you dear it really is refreshing!

Wait did I read wrongly? Coffee helps sleep? I know coffee may help with constipation but never I heard helps sleep.

Haha common knowledge right? Well some doctors are idiots believe it or not.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-14T16:50:00
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 287.98/400.00
Total Photos: 37
Total comments: 24
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.18 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30