Vegan Mini ChocolateTruffle Cake With Date Coconut Crust

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

choc.jpg

I don't know what possessed me but I felt like desert was due in my life. I don't exactly have a sweet tooth but sometimes that disappears completely and I am left with a crazy sweet tooth that must be satisfied. The perfect way is through chocolate.

The funny thing is that at my last job, I started at this vegan company, turning soybeans into tempeh, then promoted to their sister company's kitchen in the same building to now cook the raw tempeh, and package for shipment. I worked with my boyfriend Marc as a small team then we got a little bigger. Soon in the same kitchen they installed ovens and started the baking team making many cookies and many other vegan sweets. The bakers shared the kitchen with us.

After several months the supervisor that was hired for the whole kitchen left, and Marc was offered a position to be tempeh supervisor, and I would become the baking supervisor.

I really didn't want to go to the baking team. I really don't like baking which I actually had done before, but I don't consider myself a desert person in any way. I took the position because they were so happy to announce it to me that I couldn't say no or they would have thought I was crazy. It was more pay and less work. I like to get my hands on the work so it was tough refraining.

Part of my job was to inspect what people were doing, and taste all of the cookies, brownies, cakes, pies, and everything else deserty.

Needless to say I felt sick after a while. I just couldn't do this anymore so I delegated this tasting job to one of the girls. They were more then happy to be the official taster. Some people would love to have a job where tasting desert was their everyday life.

I finally left the job with Marc and we went to Mexico for six months where I did not consume anything sweet other than fruit or a cocktail.

Today I made something that we did not make at the company, but it's inspired by some things we did make.

Starting with melted chocolate chips with no dairy in them, I mixed it with blended silken tofu.

choc5.jpg

I made a crust for the top which would be used as a pie crust had I decided to make a pie. It was a mixture of coconut, date puree crushed sunflower seeds and ground almonds.

choc4.jpg

I used a ramikin to pour the mixture. I lined the ramikin with plastic wrap because I wasn't sure if it would stick. I am pretty sure it would have come out if I didn't do that but I knew this would guarantee that it would.

choc6.jpg

After I gently pressed the crust into the ramikin on top of the chocolate mixture.

choc7.jpg

When it had cooled and firmed in the fridge, I turned it upside down and decorated.

choc1.jpg

I took some of the chocolate mixture beforehand and added some almond milk to make it a little thinner to use as a sauce later.

choc2.jpg

This was far too rich to eat for us alone so we shared it. Although I know people that would have been able to consume two by themselves.

choc8.jpg

This was a gluten free alternative crust. But I originally thought of using oreo cookie crust. I changed my mind and decided to avoid the extra sugar and gluten in it. Perhaps another time.

choc3.jpg

signature.jpg

Sort:  

So the company does not only make tempeh? Or isit two separate company sharing a kitchen? I agree with you it's hard to say no, you don't want to disappoint them. Somehow some people just can say no. I wonder if the lady you delegate to taste the dessert had gotten sick of it yet. I know I would:). Anyway, very very stuning creation there. It's like a American cheese cake but a healthier and chocolate flavour instead of cheese. I know the lines created by the cling wrap was not intended( or isit?) but I like how it engrave a very artistic look! I could guess dates are kinda you flavourite ingredients:D

Same owners. One is a tempeh factory in the building and the other is their vegan production kitchen shared by two teams at night. One is tempeh cooking team and one is baking team. That was at night. The day crew cooked and prepped all kinds of other vegan food for the stores and the companies two restaurant location.
The lines are by the cling wrap. I could have smoothed it out but there was not much time. My mother in law got out the mop. I use dates to lesson the sugar in things. But in this case it was for a quick gluten free crust. The taster got slightly sick of it but she was still willing to do it. When I left she jumped into my position so she probably has to do it more. I was getting in trouble for not doing it but they let it slide.

Thanks for the compliment!

I bet she probably got somebody to taste it as well. Not sure if what I am going to ask is sensitive issue but feel free to not answer it if it is. Why did you leave your job to go Mexico? Seem like a very nice job.

I don't mind at all and I am happy to tell you that we just wanted freedom from a slave job where we worked until late evenings and there was heavy demands. Some of the other managers and supervisors in other departments were the type that would cut your throat to get noticed or a pat on the head. We had enough of the working world so with a couple of pay checks and some plane tickets already purchased and two months accommodations purchased, we threw out everything we owned except a laptop and the inside of Marc's computer,camera and extras, and a few clothes and photos. We took everything that we could carry. We came back with less. I came to the minus 13 c weather with flip flops on my feet. Fortunately my mother in law brought her coat for me. I don't have one. I have only summer clothes.
It looks like we have to find a way to get money before the snow falls again. I really am scared to go to a work place once more. Blogging is more fun. But the price to pay is high.

First of all thanks for being so opened to sharing:) yes, It's true people do do bad things to get to the top, it's kinda like a survival instinct . Well, some people can life that kinda of lifestyle, which other prefer somethings different everyday. So I guess your the more adventurous one :). Your mother in law sound like a really caring person, although having a bad food choice hahaha. Wait, you all are scared of winter? That's new to me, cause in my country we never exprience winter so I never know what's the feeling you have during such time.

First of all thanks for giving me an ear. I've got nothing to hide if someone wants to hear. I'm sure if anyone else looks they will think I am just ungrateful and lack compassion for seniors but I am just frustrated with her knowing she could have a more peaceful life if she wasn't so picky and miserable.
My mother in law cares yes but it is very conditional. That is just her I guess.
Winter is horrible here. I really just want to hide in a hole when it comes. I want to scream into the air and curse with my fists shaking. You are a very lucky person. You live in Paradise!

In this case I now know why you think my tropical country is a nice place to be . My mom is kinda like your mother in law in many ways, but well like you said it's just how they are. Accepting them only makes things better . But my mom is different in a way, she's a health freak!!

Oh yummy @carolynstahl, this sounds and looks scrumptious!

Thank you so much. You can't go wrong with chocolate right!

My friend how are you, you made your effort to work between sweets and you can not eat them, what you created is very beautiful to look worthy of placing in an exhibition

That is too kind of you my friend thank you so much!

wow what an amazing one dear, it looks really very tasty hope someday i'll be able to taste your amazing food.

Thank you so much. I will send you some haha!

Looks delicious, but I'm wondering if I could make it myself... actually maybe my wife could make it for me :)

Haha it's really easy just make it for your wife. She will love that:)

No actually she won't, but I will :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87