Vegan Mother's Day Cabbage Rolls

in #vegan6 years ago

ab.jpg

Marc and I are staying with his parents in case you don't know. I have a difficult time getting a chance to use the kitchen. His mother is funny that way. She started to sweep the floor around Marc's feet today as he made a fruit salad for breakfast. We knew we might not be able to eat anything else for a while.
Then she got out the frozen cabbage leaves. I knew what was coming. She was going to make cabbage rolls for mothers day. She makes them vegan for us which we appreciate.

You probably think, well what's the problem then? Well it's like this you see. We like to eat certain things. We like spices, seasonings, vegetables and as little oil as possible.

She has had a by pass surgery two years ago and she was never told by any doctor how to eat to maintain good heart health. She doesn't want to understand that the food that her and her husband eat is not healthy. Lots of oil and everything fried, no greens or raw foods whatsoever. So my point is that even though the cabbage rolls were indeed enjoyable, they were in way too much oil for us.

ab2.jpg

Okay enough complaining. I will tell you what was in these. She used a vegan ground fake meat, rice and mushrooms. She cooked it in a large casserole with sauerkraut and a bit of tomato puree on top, that she sauteed with onions and lots of oil.

She put nutmeg in them which is the only seasoning she uses besides salt and pepper. She has a nutmeg obsession. So when the rolls were ready to be eaten, I chopped some chives and added some paprika to them to give them a boost. Marc dared to sprinkle garlic powder. She hates garlic with a passion.

Anyway I probably sound ungrateful but to be honest we are frustrated. We have told her over and over that we avoid a lot of oil and we only pan fry in a little oil. She gets angry with us for saying this and continues to make us oily food. She is very upset if we turn it down. Silent treatment could happen.

ab1.jpg

ab3.jpg

Although this was not made the way I would have made it, it was appreciated for the effort she put in to make them, and really they were tasty. I loved the sauerkraut and potatoes.

I will probably have more when they go to bed and spice them up a bit. Tomorrow I will have to go for a jog to make up for it.

Anyway it was mother's day and we had to let her do what she wanted. She was very happy. I guess sometimes you have to make a sacrifice for someone's joy.

signature.jpg

Sort:  

I'm not a fan of cabbage rolls but my mother loves them =) I'll be saving this recipe for her =)

I love cabbage rolls sometimes, they're ok other times. I would make them with more seasoning if I had a chance.

My friend I know you make a great effort to live in the house of your mother-in-law, hold on a bit I know that soon you will give me the news that they will live alone and you can have your own kitchen

Hi my friend. It is my own fault that I live there. I don't have to pay rent but the bubble is going to burst and I will have to get a job. I can't wait to tell you when we are buying plane tickets haha.

Will be soon friend

i still find it funny although i heard that before!! frozen cabbage??!!! hahahahaha first person i know that frozen leafy vegetable. maybe they used to eat alot of canned food last time? due to lack of fresh food? just sharing, some cuisine do use oil in everything. anyway to be honest it still look delicious, possible because of your photography skills. :)

Haha I fixed them up a bit. They tasted fine but I think I gained ten pounds from the oil`. The cabbage is frozen to make it easier to roll. These rolls would probably be amazing if you did an Asian stylized version.

Hahaha ... yup that must be it. You fixed it and also the photography skills :). Look at the bright side, at least is mostly vegetable. Good idea , I shall do that. Thanks for ideas, I am running out of them hahaha

amazing one dear looks really tasty, love it, and happy mother's day.

That's kind of you to say thank you my friend!

Ok lovely dishes......would love to try it out ......cabbageIt is also a very good source of manganese, dietary fiber, potassium, vitamin B1, folate and copper. Additionally, cabbage is a good source of choline, phosphorus, vitamin B2, magnesium, calcium, selenium, iron, pantothenic acid, protein and niacin.Great post!!!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-14T01:22:33
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 281.48/400.00
Total Photos: 36
Total comments: 24
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.80 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70310.43
ETH 3568.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73