Why i'm going gluten free as much as I can and how I manage it on the go!

in #vegan6 years ago

Wow life can get a bit hectic sometimes, well it is for me right now! I'm making lunches boxes everyday as i'm traveling in and out Barcelona which is an hour from my home. I've taken a temporary job just to pull a bit of extra cash together., but I thought I was only going to be working 25 hours because that's what they offered me and now I'm working 35! I was expecting to be able to eat my lunch at home and have more time at home working on my steemit posts. But time is getting a little bit stretched.

lunchbox1.jpg
I soak my oat in a large jam jar, then I can put the lid on it and take it on the go with me, this one has borage flowers. The lunch contains raw veggies and left overs, like chickpeas, lentil dahl and a humus

And well the work has been quite disorganized and i'm chained to a computer in an air-conditioned room that I just found out has black mold growing on it. When I brought it to everyone's attention how toxic black mold can be, not many people seemed to care (but that's what black mold does, it makes you apathetic to clean it away) the fact its growing in the air-conditiong and we are breathing it in is no surprised several people feel sick. Thankfully my immune system is quite strong because i'm eating just plant based vegan, sugar free and gluten free diet.

quina.jpg
My first ever quinoa salad, looking more to experiment more with this ingredient

Gluten can cause inflammation response in the body, so already when I'm in an environment that causes sickness and aches and pains to the body at least by not eating gluten containing foods I'm adding another extra defense for the immune system. I find that people who spend a lot of time in a chair will experience gluten sensitivity more, because the body is not metabolizing the gluten food as quickly, and it's not just physical symptoms but also with the moods too.

greenpasta.jpg
green pasta sauce made with green cauli and served with courgettes and basil

I'm starting to get into quinoa a little bit as it is a gluten free alternative, but i use it very sparingly as it is expensive and not very local. My first time cooking it I was a bit worried I'd mess it up as they are such tiny things and I read somewhere if you do it wrong they can be kind of sticky. I used double the water of the amount of quinoa and just boiled it with the lid off and it was perfectly fine.

One day I brought gluten free pasta, well at least i thought it was gluten free but I had read that packet wrong, I thought it was just hemp and chia but actually one was hemp + spelt the other chia + spelt, must of been a bit tired that day. None the less I tried it anyway and it didn't cause any bad effects. I have also been buying red lentil pasta, again a its a bit pricey but sooo tasty. I just use less to compensate fort the cost and is probably a good thing, so I don't over eat, which is a common side effect with pasta.

quinasalad.jpg

Using left overs like rice or lentil for lunch boxes is a must for me, it just makes the salad so much more filling which I find necessary for my long days. But in general I always try to fill them with as many raw vegetables as possible to get all those really important nutrients and anti oxidants that will protect me in unhealthy environments I'm surrounded by at the moment.

Its certainly a wake up call that I need to figure out what my dream is, where I want to be and how I'm going to make it happen so I don't have to rely on shitty jobs like this in the future. I just find it hard because I have so many interests and passions. People tell me I should be a vegan chef, maybe it's true but I also not a big fan of restaurant environments either. Somehow I need to figure out how to make my skills wok for me but all I know is I don't like to soley focus on one thing.

lunchbox.jpg
extra filling lunch with red rice and lentil left overs

I enjoy moving between projects which is why I have a hard time fully completing ideas Ive had in the past.For example I'm half way into working on developing my own hand-made jewellery business, but I ran out of cash in the making and developing stage, to be fair I decided to move to Spain during that period when I had little to no savings to actually do the move. At the time that was main dream (even above the jewellery) to move from a permanently cold and grey place to one with more sun but a lot of my past dreams never materialized, maybe because I never wanted them enough, or I never realized how to make them happen. This is maybe one reason why I probably struggle to be able to hold onto a clear vision that I am want and am able to manifest. I working on all this stuff each day at a time but at least by eating healthy each day its one way I can have a direct effect on my mood and well-being to help me on the path to figuring out what my dreams are.

🥑 🍎🥝 🍉 🍇 🍐🍓🍈🍋🍑 🍍🍊🍌🍏

For more health, nutrition, spirituality + more @celestialcow....

celestialcowlong.jpg

switching to a plant based diet 🌱 can change your life and change the world
✌️Join the food revolution now

All images are created by @celestialcow

Thanks for reading

ecotrainbanner.png

global love banner .jpg

Hcwg0lg - Imgur.gif

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Sort:  

Dam this looks good @celestialcow

That quinoa salad looks so good!

I have a friend who used to be a chef, but he now makes healthy meals for people to reheat at home. He found something thats safe in a convection oven or microwave, and the people return the empty containers the following week. He delivers right to their home once a week, but you could have a pick up spot too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70