why where you spend your money matters: check out the organic farm shop where I buy my weekly veggies

in #vegan6 years ago

I stopped shopping at supermarkets years ago, like most people the supermarket is just normality that we just don't question, the supermarket or mini supermarkets are convenient and cheap, we get suckered into the deals and buying packaged items that aren't healthy for us just because theres a buy 1 get 1 free offer. Not to mention the fruit and vegetables are usually quite old, shipped from miles around or come in loads of packaging.

farm shop.jpg

farmshop.jpg

Even though you might think you know everything about your local area, keep your eyes and ears open. I never forget when I was living in Oxford, I was walking home from work one day and I saw a van it was called 'organic veg box' or something like that, i researched it a bit and found out it was a local farm delivery reasonably prized veggie boxes, so I started ordering from them and it really changed my life and most importantly my cooking and nutrition.

orangesshop.jpg

When I moved to where I am now on the Catalan coast, we were picking up veggies from local shops or the weekly market, the vegtables were good quality but there was a question market if it was organic. there were a few local organic stores but they were really pricey. A swedish guy kept telling me about there being an organic boutique. When he used this work boutique it really threw me off, he is quite a vague guy and didnt really give proper directions to it. Anyway one day it all got figured out and it turned out it was a farm shop that sells freshly picked organically grown produce.

shop2.jpg

Some stuff they order from other small farmers, like the strawberries and the honey come from the mountains. The couple that run this honest business are really lovely and sometimes give us discounts on the food if we come at the end of a busy weekend. They remember us because we are always coming week after week and the service just feel so much more personal than when you shop at a large store. you just know that your own hard earned money is being given to someone who cares and loves what they do.

artichoke.jpg

With these large companies you see how the staff get treated like machines and the work can be quite unfulfilling, I know because I have worked these job where you are just a number and it becomes very draining, not only that supermarkets in general are very unethical and I would like to see the power go back to small businesses like these.

beets.jpg

I recently got into a debate with a vegan about buying vegan products in tescos and well i basically told him that as a vegan he should be looking not to spend his money there because ethically speaking its one of the worst companies and especially for animal wellfare, obviously not to mention they sell lots of animal products. He honestly didn't see an issue with it and in fact he said that without supermarkets people would starve. That statement seemed kind of crazy to me, because there was a time when supermarkets didn't exist and people just grew their own or brought from a green grocer. It's crazy that some people are really brainwashed in to thinking that supermarkets are preventing us from starving when they produce so much waste and cause so many global issues.

farm.jpg

One of my goals is to grow more of my own produce, so I can be self sufficient. Right now i'm just growing in containers and getting used to all these green fingered stuff because it's all kind of new to me! I don't exactly have the fund or space right now but neither am I quite ready to get growing, I can see a lot of planing is involved and im not quite organized enough for it yet either. But it's the only way I think to take the power back to the people, I imagine a day when food is actually free and growing everywhere in containers, parks, roof tops, side walks.... I guess you could call me a freegan.

🥑 🍎🥝 🍉 🍇 🍐🍓🍈🍋🍑 🍍🍊🍌🍏

For more health, nutrition, spirituality + more @celestialcow....

celestialcowlong.jpg

switching to a plant based diet 🌱 can change your life and change the world
✌️Join the food revolution now

All images are created by @celestialcow

Thanks for reading

ecotrainbanner.png

global love banner .jpg

Hcwg0lg - Imgur.gif

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Sort:  

This fruits and vegetables look very delicious! Nice little organic farm store!

He honestly didn't see an issue with it and in fact he said that without supermarkets people would starve. That statement seemed kind of crazy to me, because there was a time when supermarkets didn't exist and people just grew their own or brought from a green grocer.

That's so true. I can't believe that he didn't see a problem with it - quite funny. I guess to change the world, one needs flexible thinkers!

I used to get vegie boxes delivered from RiverCottage when I lived in Dorset - used to love it! I had a hard time growing food there as the season was so short - plus, I got disillusioned when the neighbours pig came and ate all my beetroot! I was so devastated.

That grocery store looks DIVINE. You must love living there.

We try to grow what we can and buy from small producers and grocers as much as possible. I hate going to the big supermarkets, though do if I have to...

Yes living here is such a step up from UK life as far as I'm concerned.
I hate going into supermarkets and avoid at all costs but I do have to use it to get bottle water because tap water isn't very good here not even for filtering.

Very well said @celestialcow! When we shop at local farmers market, we make connections with the farmers who are actually growing the food we are eating to nourish our bodies. On top of that, we know where our money is going and who we are supporting. When I first started gardening, having conversations with local farmers helped me understand what crops to put in and how to care for the crops organically. It's great to make personal connections. Even though I am growing a lot of my own food now, I am still great friends with these farmers.

The picture at the top of your post is awesome. You are so fortunate to have that around you. They are also fortunate to have someone like you who truly appreciate and support what they are doing. Such a small step to take to make a major change of the food system.

Hehe thanks laundrylady, it's nice to know other ppl out there get it.
I feel so fortunate that this place exists, really I do and I know I'm not the only Fan. Especially loved by the older local folk,. You know they are making real foods if that's where the grannies are going :)

Good comment about the vegan; I often question the health of a supermarket-based-veg-diet as one is probably getting plenty of free toxic residues - few seem to think of that.

Upvoted (by @rycharde), resteemed (by @accelerator) and has been added to the latest MAP Upvotes post.

= Quality Content Creators can request to join MAP = see the Benefits = Free Membership =

That's for resteem, this point is exactly what I've been thrown at by meat eaters questioning my veganism saying I'm just eating pesticides and therefore bad for me but if I make the effort to find real toxic free veg then we'll they can't argue. And my body feels great!

Sure, but supermarket meat is also filled with residues of hormones, antibiotics etc, so I wasnt arguing in favour of any supermarket products.

I'm glad you have a source of natural foods, was really a general comment to those who appear to be on a healthy diet but use products with hidden toxins. Sad state of humanity that toxicity is considered the norm :-(

Great post! I also prefer the small organic shops and market stalls. Back in Germany, we even had an organic store where you could buy produce without any packaging, you just had to bring your own jars and boxes and fill them with all the good stuff. It was run by a lovely woman and was even much cheaper than bigger organic stores in town. Loved it :)

I'm glad u found something in your local area, Germany is very good for organic food so I've heard alot of organic farming happening there

Yes, we did have some organic stores there in our town and a market at the weekend with a small selection of organic produce. I am no longer living there though, since I am traveling the world now, currently being in Malaysia. Here in South East Asia the attitude towards organic farming and plastic packaging is definitely different 🙈

this is SO SO SO important.. i wrote a huge long ranty post on this a few months back.. when we spend in large shops the money goes straight out of the local community, and even country and usually ends up stuck in a foreign bank to avoid taxes forever.. so crappy! our local shops need support MORE than ever.. and we MUST have the mindfulness to make that happen.. Xxx keep up being amazing!

I have scrolled way back on your feed but I missed this one im Glad you are spreading the word like u said it just takes mindfulness but when u step into a super u see how ppl are looking braindead. Its no wonder the crap they buy in those places clouds their vision. Looking forward when these supers can't afford to stay open.

I always prefer to buy from local farmers and grow as much as I can myself. Funny about the Vegan who thought that we can't survive without supermarkets.
While I am not a Vegan or a vegetarian, I do think most of our food needs to come from things we can grow easily. You will be surprised how much you can grow in a container!!

It's true, Im growing quite alot in containers at the moments but I was having a vision of a permaculture garden one day :)

Buying in local shops is also my favorite choice, but living in Venezuela this is no always an option since they don't always are available.

One of my goals is to grow more of my own produce

It is quite exciting growing our food indeed, I recently made a post about the food we are growing in our backyard but it is all small because we are just starting and the backyard isn't that big :)

I'm glad u are growing for urself because ur situation as u said Is not so easy. Many Venezuelans move here to Barcelona I've heard some stuff. I'm going to check your post out now

We all should strive to eat more healthy. Just remember everything at those Markets aren't organically grown. There is a series / episode on Netflix that investigates some of these people that sell " organic " veggies and such and the information they find our is alarming. Some buy from big companies and then sell at market for prime dollar claiming organic when its not.

Some of the tips the series says is to look at the boxes / containers the veggies are in and see if you see a logo or name of a company and look them up. Ask the person selling question about what they are selling.

I was brought here via the MAP group !

Hey thanks for dropping by, yea I know that markets can be bad for that, thats why we are lucky to find this farm because by law to grow there it has to be organic only.

Growing your own vegetables is really great! You definitely will feel the satisfaction when you get it to your table! Getting organic food to your table is really added healthy benefit to your whole family!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10