My Lisbon vegan experience

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

Let me share with you my vegan experience in Lisbon my friends! It's going to be a long reading but I hope it will help you if you would ever visit this beautiful city.

DSC_0069.jpg

Before I came to Lisbon I did some research about vegan places to make sure I wouldn't miss any delicious meals in the city! I didn't want to go to well known restaurants only but I also wanted to try something new and small that hasn't been reviewed many times yet. As I was staying only 3 days I didn't manage to visit all places but I would like to share with you my impressions of the ones that I have visited.

Overall it is very easy to find vegan food in Lisbon. You can also order some salad or potatoes at any restaurant but I prefer to go to vegan or vegetarian (if vegan is not possible) places to avoid cross contamination as I have some food intolerances.

Are you ready? Let's start our food tour!


Dona Flor Cafe is a cozy little cafe with a shop offering organic food and various eco clothes, shoes and cosmetic items.

You can find this charming cafe on Rua Das Chagas 31-33. I went there every day for breakfast not only because I loved their food but also because of the guys working there. They like to travel too so we had a few things in common besides veganism. If I would ever come back to Lisbon I would go there again. This is definitely my favorite place.

They serve different kinds of toast, sandwiches, salads, pizzas, sweets, smoothies and homemade ice teas. I tried their toasted rye bread with hummus, sun dried tomatoes and arugula (4 EUR) and it was my favorite!

If you have a sweet tooth you have to try their coconut mousse (2 EUR). It was nicely sweet with sour red berries sauce on top. The hibiscus and berries ice tea (2 EUR) was very refreshing and not sweet at all. You can also choose from different milks for your cappuccino (1.80 EUR). They have oat, soy and almond milk.

It's not a fancy place but a nice location with great food, excellent service and cozy atmosphere to hang out and enjoy your time.


I have read very good reviews about Eight Lounge so I couldn't miss it! This restaurant is located on Praça da Figueira 12A, very close to famous Rossio square. There is a small shop on the ground floor with some organic items and the tables are located on the first floor. You have to order and pay downstairs. You get your number on a paper that you place on your table so that the waitress can find you once the food is ready and bring it to you.

Their menu consists of so many deliciously looking meals and you will definitely find it very difficult to choose. At the end I decided to go for Cheese toast (4.90 EUR), Crispy croutons salad (6.90 EUR) and Beet the orange juice (4.70 EUR).

The juice was very good. I have just missed a bit of a kick that I expect from beetroot. The cashew cheese on top of the toast was perfect. It was mixed with fresh dill and lemon juice with crunchy cucumber pieces and herbs on top. The salad was made with lettuce, red cabbage, lots of quinoa, micro greens, cucumbers and delicious lemony dressing. I would just prefer if the dressing would be served separately because it was a bit too much for me but this is just my personal preference.

There are a few pages on the menu that are dedicated to the owners and their beliefs.

It is an interesting reading so I recommend to spend some time and learn about their philosophy. They build their way of life around eight principles: good nutrition, regular exercise, lots of water, sunshine, self-control, fresh air, plenty of rest and trust in God. This is how they created Eight lounge. Their goal is to help people re-imagine healthy living. Through delicious food and lifestyle inspiration, they want everyone to taste how easy the healthy lifestyle can be. They believe that we don't need more things to create a beautiful life - just a handful of the right things. Approximately eight of them.

I have enjoyed the atmosphere in the restaurant. The design is very trendy but also cozy at the same time. If you're lucky and you get a table at the window you can enjoy the nice view of the square. The service is very fast and their food is delicious. I would not have to think twice to visit them again.


The third on my list is AO26 Vegan food project (R. Vítor Cordon 26). I was so excited to get the confirmation of my reservation as I read only positive reviews. The restaurant is very modern and you can watch chefs cooking the meals in front of you. I really liked the set up of the place.

In Switzerland you automatically get some bread for free to start your dinner. It is mainly served with olive oil and vinegar but at some places you could also get a delicious spread instead.

In Portugal you can choose from bread, olive oil, some spread and olives. But you will have to pay for each part of couvert separately. I have ordered all of them and it was 2.50 EUR.

The portion was very big. There were 3 sorts of bread. I love bread and ate it all! I have never had lupin beans (tremocos) before but you can get them almost everywhere in Lisbon. They were delicious! I also enjoyed the vegan pesto spread. It was so good!

I was already full but there were two more meals to come. I have sensed that I might have ordered a bit too much 😊

My starter was tempura (5 EUR) from eggplant, red bell pepper, onion ring, pumpkin, zucchini and pineapple. All of them very good but a bit too oily for my liking. I didn't try pineapple as I'm allergic but I'm sure it was as good as the rest. It was served with vegan mayo and soy sauce.

I was so looking forward to my 'meaty' lentils burger (11 EUR) and well, I was disappointed at the end. The burger was cold, very soft and not meaty at all. Don't get me wrong. I don't normally look for the meaty taste but as it was written like this on the menu I was expecting it. Also the mayo didn't have much taste. I give them credit for making their own one but it was not perfect. The only part of the main dish that I really enjoyed was sweet potato fries. They were perfectly cut and crispy.

They also offer seitan steak and Thai curry so if you would ever go there and try one of these dishes let me know how you liked it.

The food is still very cheap but a bit more expensive than in the other restaurants that I have visited.


Princesa da Castelo is located nearby the castle (Rua do Salvador 64A), only 5 minutes walk.

It is a place with just about 5 tables and it feels quite small and crowded when there are many people inside. I must say it was also very dark inside so this might have contributed to the feeling of being in a small place.

They serve 1 soup (2 EUR), 3 starters (3.90 EUR - 4.90 EUR) and 2 mains (10 EUR) which they vary every day. They also offer fresh juices (3.50 EUR) and smoothies (4 EUR).

The combinations on the menu are very interesting and you would never think of combining such meals together such as nachos, udon noodles and Moroccan spiced lentils.

For the starter I ordered nachos (5.90 EUR) because the only other choice was mushrooms ceviche and I'm not that fond of cold mushrooms. The portion was very big and it was served with salsa and marinated olives.

Salsa was made of tomatoes, cucumbers, green chili and herbs. It was very tasty and quite spicy.

However I couldn't enjoy all of it as the service was too fast and they brought my udon noodles after 10 minutes so I was not even half way through my nachos.

The noodles dish (10.50 EUR) was really tasty. It was loaded with vegetables. There were pieces of pak choi, carrots, beetroot, bell pepper, red cabbage, zucchini and lots of coriander. It was very good. Veggies were delicious and crunchy, perfectly cooked.

Tofu teryaki vegan balls on the other hand were not that delicious. The taste was good but they were burned at the bottom and so hard that I couldn't chew on them so I didn't finish.

I also ordered veganized Pastel de nata (2.50 EUR). It was a dough with vanilla custard sprinkled with cinnamon. I have never tried the traditional version but this one didn't impress me much. I think it wasn't that fresh.

The location of the restaurant is perfect but I would appreciate different options on the menu and some finishing touches that would transform basic dishes into something special.


I wanted to go to Food Temple as I heard many positive reviews. The restaurant is located on Beco do Jasmim 18 that can't be reached by a taxi so bear this in mind. Make sure you input the address in GPS and not the restaurant name. It will bring you 0.5 km far from the restaurant if you try the name - own experience plus I heard other people talking about it at the table next to me.

The restaurant is very small. I think they only have 2 big tables and a couple of small tables. They have a small daily changing menu offering 3 sorts of tapas, 1 soup and 2 mains. They say that all tapas together equal the size of a main dish so you better choose one or the other. I went for tapas as I wanted to try different things.

Tapas consisted of quinoa salad with smoked tofu (3.80 EUR), quesadillas (3.90 EUR) and green beans with some yogurt sauce (3.70 EUR).

I really liked the quinoa salad. Tofu pieces were crunchy and there were also some pieces of steamed broccoli. It was very tasty. My favorite were quesadillas. These were the best quesadillas that I have ever had, not that I had that many in my life! I was not so happy with the yogurt sauce on the beans but I don't like yogurt in general so this could be the case.

I don't have pictures from this restaurant as they seated a guy next to me who was also traveling alone and we spent all evening chatting.


There are still a few places that I would like to visit next time when I'm in Lisbon and I hope that the vegan scene will grow there by then. As I said at the beginning it is very easy to find vegan food but there is a big potential to grow as the restaurants were always full and you had to make reservations in advance.

And you know what? I had the best local rose wine ever and I can't find the note with the name! If you know Portuguese wines a little and you have one that you really like, let me know the name as it might be the one I'm looking for!

Thank you so much for reading and I hope you enjoyed my vegan experience in Lisbon!

If you like my article, feel free to upvote/resteem it and if you would like to read more about my travel and cooking, you can also follow me 😊

Cheers,
Martina

DQmeghPGYhwUy1Bafh4LpeqbRKFykxNwtufJxJtMCCuCNom.gif

Sort:  

wow... what another awesome post! I'm so happy to see you get curied again... That is really rare to have them so often, so you should know that you are really doing well! Good job @delishtreats, I'm proud of you :)

Thank you Dave! 😊 I had a few glasses of wine yesterday so was not sure if it was true at the beginning 😁 I'm sooooo happy it was!

Wow, I’ll surely make use of your guide, when I move to Lisbon, Martina! Being a vegan in Moscow a decade ago was pretty tough, as there were no vegan places there at that time, and only two vegetarian places (one of which wasn’t that good), but I managed somehow back then. Surely finding vegan food in Lisbon in this day and age won’t be very difficult. And now I have your recommendations to go by! :D

That's great! I hope it will help you my friend!

I didn't know you are vegan!! That's great! I can imagine being vegan in Moscow was difficult. I hope it is better there now! Have you been there recently?

Well, I’m not a vegan anymore. I eat mostly vegan at home, with occasional fish on the menu (cannot resist it, as I love fish and seafood), but I do eat meat when travelling or when I sharing a meal cooked by others, so as to not complicated things for my hosts. Earlier this week I was visiting a family where everybody was vegan, so I could enjoy delicious food without consuming any animal products whatsoever. No, I haven’t been to Moscow in the past five years. And the last time I visited I was there on a diplomatic trip as part of the Swedish state delegation. I don’t see it as an exciting travel destination for myself. I would much rather go to Japan again – now that would be an awesome trip!!

What’s your next travel destination after Florence?

It seems like you are also traveling a lot! How is the preparation for Portugal? All settled?

I also want to go to Japan! But it's a bit complicated for my husband to take 3 weeks off from work and I don't want to go alone as it's very different there.

The next trip will be Berlin. I will go to Mallorca in July too and hopefully to Budapest and Krakow in August. Then I will see if I will be able to make another trips still this year.

Have a nice evening my friend!

The preparation are only just starting. :D But I sold my Playstation 4 today, which only took one day and was smooth enough. I didn’t even have to send it with post – the buyer lives in my city and will come fetch it tomorrow. I’m wiping out its hard drive and cancelling my subscriptions, as we speak.

Still have to sell my TV and some furniture, donate some old clothes to the second-hand charity store, arrange transportation for moving the remaining things to a storage space in Stockholm, and find a place to live in Portugal. I think I’ll attend the latter task very soon, as it might take a while, before I have something confirmed. I’m feeling a bit stressed about this upcoming move, to be honest. I’m sure I’ll sigh with relief, once everything is done and I leave the current place behind.

Well, if you husband could go just for 10 days, it would still be worth it. Besides, Japan is one of the safest (if not the safest) places to travel in. Everything is just so convenient and “user-friendly”. You can limit your first trip just to Tokyo and do a trip between one and two weeks. And then do a longer trip and visit other places in the country next time.

Just speaking of it makes me realise how much I miss Japan. Maybe I’ll move there next, after I get bored with Portugal! :D

Wow, you travel A LOT! Way more than I do, haha! :D

Have a lovely evening you too! (well, night, really. except that it doesn’t get dark where I am now, this time of year)

It seems that there are so many things to be done! Good luck with that! I hope it won't be too stressful for you! And once you're in Portugal, you can relax on the beach, watching the ocean and drinking some delicious cocktails! Sounds quite rewarding to me :)

Thank you for the tips! This year is quite full for me but I will think about that for next year. I heard from many people who have been to Japan that they loved it and they miss it too! If YOU move there, then I'll definitely come to visit you! Lol

I try to enjoy this garden leave. I have big plans for next year and if it will work out then I won't be able to get some time off for long time so now I have to make the best out of it.

Is it not dark at all in Sweden? It must be very frustrating. I like to sleep when it's completely dark outside :)

I hope that your big plans will go according to your hopes and dreams, my friend! And if they do – are we going to call you Mamartina then? ;)

You are so funny Oleg! :D No, no, it's not gonna be Mamartina, lol! Actually you never know but this is not the plan :)

I will tell you more soon :)

Good night my friend!

PS: I've just returned from the concert of Lenny Kravitz. It was so cool!! I was in love with him when I was like 15 :D and it was so nice to see him live :)

What a story of wandering vegetarians... hahahaha, so complete! I am not a vegetarian, i eat vegetables though. When i read the quesadillas and found no picture of it, I feel a bit dissappointed, because I do curious about quesadillas (it must be an effect of playing online restaurant games years ago..LOL)

Thanks for your complete review, I've never eat any of those meals (never been to other countries, that's why I love to read travelling blogs) but.. where's the rose pic..?? something that you drink when you were in Belem?

How's the flight... have you got something from Barcelona too?

Oh, my dear. I'm sorry for not sharing the quesadillas picture! The guy kept talking and I felt stupid to take pictures why having a conversation with him! But I promise you that next time I eat quesadillas I take a picture for you! :)

So nice that you remember I was in Belem! Well, I didn't take a picture as wine looks always the same :) But as you asked for it I will take some pictures of my drinks on my trip to Florence next week! :)

The flight was good. It was delayed by more than an hour so I got home after midnight completely exhausted but at least I arrived safely. I will start posting my adventures from Barcelona next week and it will be followed by vegan experience later on :) I can tell you now that I had many delicious meals there!

Thank you for your comment! It's very sweet of you!

I understand your situation, forgive me for being too enthusiastic. I like the way you write the review of your Vegan Experience and the story behind any "drinks" too, I just haven't read any about "rose" from Portugal, that's why I'd like to know.

well... take a good rest and be ready for your next adventure. I will be waiting for your posts, it is better than reading a travel magazine, because your photos were well-spoken too.

No worries my dear :) I promise I will post more details about my drinks :) I'll have a glass of rose next week in Florence :)

You are so kind! Thank you for such compliment! It is really a pleasure to see that you like my articles!

Have a nice day!

Yey! Good curied again :D Congrats!

Those are great places to eat. Eight Lounge's philosophy is the same as NEWSTART that we have been taught in school. It is the same principle. I like how you presented it well and your concise reviews on them are informative.

Good thing there are different choices of places to eat vegan food.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

It's crazy, isn't it?! I don't even know what to say! But let me tell you something. I'm soooo surprised I got curied again!

I haven't heard of NEWSTART yet. Will google it! :)

Thank you for stopping by my friend! I am also glad to see you reading my articles and leaving great comments!

You deserve it, my friend. If am a curator, I would curie all your posts haha!

I just looked it up and apparently there is a website of NEWSTART. I thought it was exclusively taught in our school lol! It was taught to us in my elementary days so I thought it was restructured and renamed or something.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

You're too kind to me!!

You get to learn very useful topics at school!!!

This vegan dishes look very tasty, very delicious! Glad you enjoyed them, Martina. I am happy to start following you and upvote on this great story!

Thank you for stopping by and taking your time to read my article. I hope you will like my upcoming posts!

That so impressive Sweetie, I had no idea their would be so many wonderful vegan restaurants there. I don't think we have that many in Toronto 🌸💖🌸

Thank you so my darling! There are now plenty of vegan places in Europe. It's so good!

For some reason I thought you were based in Italy :) I don't know why!

Congratulations @delishtreats! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi delishtreats,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

Thank you so much for your support! I have not expected that! You made my day again! :)

Absolutely brilliant!!!!! Yes u are five star stuff @delishteats no matter what you do, you do it with such flair and enthusiasm, I absolutely LOVE you!!!!
If only these eateries knew who they had sitting at their table... but probably best they didn’t 🤣 I am thrilled there are so many beautiful places to eat in Lisbon too, it makes visiting a place that much more special. Even as a vegetarian it can be difficult to find quality eateries in my past experience so this thriving wholesome food industry is music to my tastebuds 😉Thank you for putting this incredible post together, it should be made available to the Lisbon tourist office so that the most people can benefit from your wonderful hard work and dillegence and sheer love of vegan food, you are a triumph for steemit and veganism. Bless you. RESTEEMED AND UPVOTED TO THE MAX🌈💛🌴🦋

You made my day dear friend!!! I am soooo happy that you like my work!! I always loved writing and this is also why I started my blog here but I didn't expect such amazing feedback!!!

I am so excited that vegan scene is growing! It makes me happy. I remember in the past that it was very hard to find even vegetarian places as you say and I am sure that in 10 years from now it will be hard to find a meat serving place!! :D :D Just kidding - but still what a nice world it would be? :)

Oh, that would be so great to have my posts with the tourist office as I love to share vegan message!! :)

Thank you soooo much for your words!! I will always remember them when I feel down!!! LOVE YOU!

Fantastic place greetings

Thank you for stopping by! :) Have a lovely day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64203.15
ETH 3065.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93