Avocado and spinach mousse millefuile

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

HKM_3563.JPG

As you can probably tell, I've gone a little spinach-crazy. It's not that I'm an uber fan, but that my boyfriend overdid it with the spinach purchases when I requested a few handfuls of different varieties for the Steemit Iron Chef contest run by @progressivechef. I didn't expect an entire grocery's worth!

Nonetheless, it means that I've had to force myself to use it and now my fridge and freezer are fully complete with various green dishes for those rainy days.

Ok, so I may not be a super spinach fan- BUT I am definitely a dessert fan, and millefuiles really do tickle my fancy so why not make a non-conventional savoury one?! Albeit the sweet one is still my desired preference, but as spinach millefuiles go, this is a pretty decent one.

HKM_3596.JPG

I was a little too nervous to make a seed-only base for the pastry component of the mille-feuille so I added oat flour to the mix. I started by first soaking 150g linseeds overnight in enough water to keep them covered. The following morning, they should exhibit a jelly-like texture.

Incorporate 2 tbsp oat flour into the seeded gel and pour out very thinly onto a baking tray lined with greaseproof paper. Bake at 45C for 4 hours. I prefer to use a lower temperature and a longer cooking time with nuts and seeds in order to retain the stability of the unsaturated fats contained within them.

HKM_3650.JPG

To make the mousse, blitz the flesh of 1 avocado, the juice of ½ a lime, a handful of raw baby spinach and some salt to taste.

Spoon a little of the mousse onto a shard of the oaty linseed base and continue this until there are 3 layers of mousse and seed base. The avocado will start to oxidise so to prevent the resulting discolouration, make the mousse just before you are ready to serve this dish. However, if the change in colour isn’t an issue then the mousse can be prepared earlier.

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-15T04:24:15
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 13.00/100.00
Total Photos: 2
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is out of the conceptual phase and growing each day. We would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

We are almost ready to Launch the first Decentralized Recipe and Food Blog Website that will utilize the Steem BlockChain and its community to reward contributions by its members.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply “No Vote” if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

Thank you for your consideration, the steemkitchen initiative sounds great!

very creative. Thank you for sharing love.

Thank you :-)

Thank you :-)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Congratulations! this post got an upvote by @steemrepo and was manually picked by the curator @for91days to be added on STEEM REPOSITORY, simply comment "YES" and we upload it on STEEM REPO Website.
Want to know more about the Steem Repo project? Contact us on Discord

This looks amazing... great photos. Its avocado season here at mo... lots of cheap avo for us . Vegemite and avo on sourdough a speciality around here 💚💚😉😉

I love vegemite and avocado! Best combo ever!

I'm certainly not a great spinach fan either, but have to admit that this looks delicious, and very creative ... And I bet my boyfriend will love it. So maybe I have to give a chance one time. Thanks for sharing.

You’ll have to let me know how it goes @hetty-rowan :-)

that looks absolutely delicious! I never eat avocado and spinach rarely too, but you make me want to go to the grocery store and make this lol

Haha thanks @anouk.nox, glad to hear the recipe gave you inspiration to eat those veggies! :-)

Yes I will defo give it a try !! Thanks and have a great weekend (for how long it lasts lol)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86