HOME MADE VEGAN CHEESE

in #vegan5 years ago

image

Another hard-core vegan special, no packaging or transportation, from the scratch. OK how to make your own home made planet friendly cheese.

Ingredients
1 cup cashews
1cup nutritional yeast
1 garlic clove
1 and a half teaspoons Agar flakes

That's it, and some boiling water, hardest part is waiting. So first you need to soak cashews for the day, I boil water and put 1 cup cashews to 1 cup of boiling water.

image

Peel a garlic clove and let it soak with the cashews.

image

Once it has been soaking most of the day it is time to make the Agar, so you need 1 cup of boiling water and 1 and a half tablespoons of Agar flakes, stir well. Then put it in the microwave for a minute while taking it out every 10 seconds to stir, keep an eye on it so it doesn't boil over.

image

image

Then add a cup of nutritional yeast.

image

Blend it up.

image

Pour it in a container.

image

Stick it in a fridge for a few hours, and bam, you got cheese.

image

So there you go , not that difficult at all and no baby cow deprived from its mother.

Sort:  

Looks good. I made a couple times Vcheese and still on improving the recipes.
You can also add some other ingredient to the mix to make it more special like a roasted paprika.

It's also awesome with a squirt of liquid smoke.

Looks pretty good. Does the taste is like cheese? Means, does it really tastes yummy? How long you can keep it? I don't have a microwave, what can I do instead?

It tastes similar to cheese, you can cook it in a pot for a couple minutes.

Thanks, I will give it a try.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

wow! your homemade vegan cheese looks very tasty)) and sounds amazing: vegan cheese;)

be sure to somehow need and I try to make vegan cheese)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks, just trying to keep the baby cows happy, 😁

Loading...

Amazing! Looks super delicious, and it has cashews and nutritional yeast in it, so it must taste heavenly!
Thanks for sharing the recipe! :)

Thanks jasmink, see you for fruitsandveggiesmonday. You got something up your sleeve?

Nothing special this week, but I cannot miss fruitsandveggiesmonday, haha! See you! :)

Thanks for posting this. I would have no idea you could even make your own. My daughter is a vegan. I am excited to show this to her.

Thanks, you can also play with the recipe a bit, this is just standard, a squirt of liquid smoke or some ground jalapeño, possibilities are endless.

This is excellent!! What does it taste like if you had to compare the texture and taste to something else?

Edit: congratulations on hitting a curie trail. Your recipes are frikken awesome!

Thanks, it tastes similar to cheese, but not as firm, it still cuts, but it can spread too, and it melts, I put it on potato bake last night.

image

😋. I have a good recipe for nacho cheese, made from carrots, potatoes and jalapeños, and I juts came up with a ricotta-nada (get it) cheese that I might share for F’s and V’s Monday. Keep em coming @gguy773!

That sounds interesting, I'll see you for fruitsandveggiesmonday, I guess you'll be doing something then. I just entered the steemkitchen contest, vegan sushi, it's open till Tuesday so you got plenty time it you interested, 10 steem prize.

Thanks for the invite. I’m actually swamped this week but will keep my eye out for the contest next week. See you at Lena’s :)

I want to taste that vegan cheese. I never heard about that type of cheese. Amazing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01