My birthday lasagne / cruelty free but not fat free

in #vegan5 years ago (edited)

image

Wazzup steemit, yesterday was my birthday and I made a cheesey vegan lasagne, not very healthy but I was trying to make it like the real thing. I made it with Soya mince and vegan cheese, and it tasted freaking amazing, you would never say that it was vegan. My wife was kind enough to make me a vegan cake with strawberry icing, I don't have the recipe for the cake just pics, but I do have a recipe for the lasagne and it is well simple to whip up.

Ingredients for lasagne mince sauce

450g Soya mince
2 onions
4 garlic cloves
2 cups tomato pasta
Tablespoon freshly chopped basil
1 tablespoon onion gravy
Pinch of salt and pepper

First I saute the onion and garlic.

image

Then I chucked in the Soya mince, here is a picture of the 1 I used, scary how much it tasted like beef mince.

image

image

Then the tomato pasta and rest of the ingredients and let it simmer for a few minutes.

image

Ingredients for the white sauce

300g mushrooms
200g vegan cheese
2 onions
4 garlic cloves
1 veggie cube
1 cup of plant based milk
1 tablespoon corn starch
Pinch of salt and pepper

First I sautéed the onions and garlic.

image

Then in with the mushrooms.

image

Then a veggie cube and a cup of water.

image

Then mixed the corn starch and milk and banged it into the sauce with a pinch of salt and pepper. Then ready to start making some layers. I keep the cheese for the end obviously.

image

First some lasagne sheets.

image

Then mince sauce.

image

Lasagne sheets.

image

White sauce.

image

Lasagne sheets.

image

Mince.

image

Lasagne.

image

White sauce.

image

Then the special ingredient, cheese.

image

image

More layers than Shrek or an onion, you catch my drift. The I baked it for 40 minutes, and BOOM!

image

image

And while my wife was making my cake I was hovering about like a common house fly, trying to pick up a trick or two.

image

image

I was only successful in being annoying. Cake was awesome!

image

Thanks for stopping by to check out my birthday special.

image

Sort:  

Who wouldn't love this pasta al forno? Please ship a piece of it over for a taste hehehe

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

@gguy773, Happy Belated Birthday, that lasagna looks great.

Thank you very much @paleotwist, it was good, but I am back on the healthy wagon after a weekend of gorging myself on unhealthy vegan food lol 😂

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85