VEGGIE BIRYANI

in #vegan6 years ago

image

Hi steemians this is my special Friday meal, it reminds me of home when I was back in South Africa. Every Friday we would get takeaway at work and I would always pick Biryani. Back then I wasn't vegan so I would get lamb Biryani, now I have to make my own, I posted my recipe a couple of weeks ago. It can be quite challenging being vegan and missing the food I used to eat. That is why I make it like a game and try and veganise all the meals I used to enjoy, and I must say this Biryani is the bomb 💣.

Sort:  

I haven't had an authentic Biryani since I was working in India about 9 years ago

I feel your pain.

It looks good! What is the creamy saucy like stuff on there? Hey, it’s good to see you playing with the food fight Friday folk, welcome to the family :).

Veganizing all of the foods I used to eat is definitely my new hobby. It’s also much easier than one would think, at least with most of my meals. Great entry my friend!

Thanks, it is dahl, like a lentil soup, it is meant to be made with yogurt but I make it with blended cashews.

Right on. It looks like it would be good with dipping bread in it. Like a pita bread maybe.…

This is my kinda meal @gguy773. Welcome to #fff, for joining us!

Hey, @gguy773.

I'm not sure if this is your first entry for Food Fight Friday, but regardless, welcome. I've had fun showing what I actually do cook and the rest of the folks who regularly participate are fun and very supportive. :)

So, I have no idea what Biryani is, other than when you're not vegan, you can eat lamb with it. :)

I think there might be some potatoes, peas, maybe beans, but I don't recognize the sauce or some of the other ingredients. Which isn't surprising since there's all kinds of foods I've yet to try.

Hi, and thanks byriani is a popular Indian dish, it is basically curry and rice mixed and baked, the sauce is called dahl, it is a kind of lentil soup. I have made a vegan version smoked tofu, carrots, peas, pumpkin seeds potatoes and beans.

Aha. Okay. Well, nearly everything there sounds great. I'm not a big tofu fan, but I would eat all of the rest in a heartbeat. Really like curry and lentils, too. Indian food isn't big where I live, but I have eaten other types of Indian food elsewhere and enjoyed it each time. Probably need to encourage someone to open up a restaurant here. :) Just looked up some places that are closer than I thought they were. There not in the town where I live, but they are in the next one over. I'll have to check them out. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87