AUTUMN PENNE ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ

in #vegan โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

Hello my Dearest Foodies,

The temperature went up to 26C today and tomorrow will be even more, so we are finally going out to a pumpkin farm with my daughter and our little munchkins.

I am sorry, but I am afraid that I will get home late and i will be too tired to write the FRUITS AND VEGGIES WINNERS ANNOUNCEMENT until Thursday. Well, will see how I feel, but just in case, I am sending the PRIZES to all the WINNERS tonight, because I already received the result from our amazing HONORABLE GUEST JUDGE @puravidaville.

In the meantime, I have this delicious penne for you that is very easy to make, even though the recipe is quite long.

02.jpg

AUTUMN PENNE
Penne with Oven Roasted Veggies & Shiitake Mushrooms
Vegan โ€“ Gluten Free
Author- Lenaโ€™s Vegan Living

INGREDIENTS serves 4
โ€ข Brown rice Penne (or pasta of your choice, follow the cooking instructions on the package)
โ€ข Heirloom cherry tomatoes cut in halves 2 cups
โ€ข Shiitake mushrooms 1 1/2 cups sliced
โ€ข Marrow, or zucchini 4 (small size)
โ€ข Graffiti eggplant or other small eggplant 4
โ€ข Fresh basil leaves 1 cup, whole or diced
โ€ข Baby arugula (optional)
โ€ข Garlic 4 cloves cut in halves
โ€ข Garlic powder to taste
โ€ข Black pepper (just a pinch for the mushrooms)
โ€ข Dried chili pepper flakes
โ€ข Himalayan pink salt to taste
โ€ข Olive oil

3.jpg

PROCESS FOR VEGGIES
โ€ข Preheat the oven to 375F.
โ€ข Wash and cut the marrow and eggplant in halves.
โ€ข With a sharp knife make diagonal incisions along each half, as you see on the photo.
โ€ข Place all your halves into a casserole dish with little bit of water covering the bottom.
โ€ข Brash lightly with olive oil, add salt and garlic powder and place the garlic cloves around the veggies.
โ€ข Bake for 30min covered with a lid.
โ€ข When ready, take the lid off and bake for 10 more minutes on 420F and 5 more minutes on broil. (You may adjust the time based on the size of your veggies).

PROCESS FOR PASTA
โ€ข Sautรฉ your shiitake mushrooms on both sides until golden with salt and pepper and set aside on a plate lined with a paper towel.
โ€ข In a large frying pan heat up little bit of olive oil and gently toss your tomatoes with salt and garlic powder.
โ€ข When ready, add the pasta and toss gently, but thoroughly.
โ€ข Add chili flakes and basil at the end and toss everything again.

1.jpg

THANK YOU FOR VISITING & BON APPETIT
MORE RECIPES AT Lena's Vegan Living
Lenas-Vegan-Living-V2.gif

DQmeghPGYhwUy1Bafh4LpeqbRKFykxNwtufJxJtMCCuCNom.gif

Sort: ย 

howdy tonight lenasveganliving! well there you go again making some gorgeous dish that looks as colorful as it is healthy. I've never heard of Penne before but the recipe sounds tremendously flavorful!

Howdy Janton, thank you so much! Penne is Italian pasta that is very popular here in Ontario Canada, since this is a very multicultural place where you can taste cuisines from all over the world. I just gave to this dish my own vegan twist.............by the way, you can just call me Lena ๐Ÿ˜Š

howdy there Lena! what a beautiful name that is..so with so many nationalities and different style foods there are many of them vegan or provide vegan choices?
Are there any vegan restaurants there?

Thank you Janotn for another lovely compliment........I think man in Texas are quite the gentleman, lol.

In Toronto yes! I am not sure about the whole Ontario though. I live little bit outside of Toronto, in city called Mississauga that is quite vegan friendly as well. However, Toronto has looooooots of vegan and vegan friendly restaurants.

howdy again Lena! I feel like I need to call you something more respectful like Miss Lena but I don't want to offend you because I don't know what you think is appropiate.

But anyway...those vegan restaurants...I assume the prices are the same as a regular restaurant? Because without the expensive cuts of meat you would think that the veggies wouldn't be as expensive am I right?
Mississauga...that has to be an Indian name.

I write quite a bit about Indians too.

Oh yes, it is aboriginal name as we call it here. And the vegan restaurants can be pretty pricey. It is sad, but veggies and other plant based ingredients cost more than meat.

And by the way, you can call me Miss if you like, lol...........you are such an gentleman.

howdy back Miss Lena! that has a nice ring to it, I like that. It matches your classiness. Well, I had no idea that veggies cost more than meat but then I know nothing about this vegan stuff. lol. That's what makes it so funny when I read your posts, I have no idea what any of it is! lol.

Howdy Janton, thank you again for being a gentleman, lol.

It depends what exactly. Some veggies and fruits do not cost a lot but some do. Also the prices change with seasons. For example English cucumber during the summer cost $0.99, but now is up to $1.50 to $1.80, depends which store. Avocado same price range. Tofu and beans are cheep, however, organic spelt pasta, quina, chia, cacao powder, nuts, just to name a few are very pricey items.

Nevertheless, there is a way how to live on vegan diet on very low cost, by shopping for cost effective yet nutritious items, such us beans, rice, potatoes, root vegetables, lettuce, apples and whatever is seasonal. This of course does not apply to restaurants. Eating in any restaurants is always expensive.

YUM!! Enjoy the pumpkin farm! I have special memories of visits to the pumpkin farm in autumn while I lived in America.

Thank you so much Dear Tracey, we had a wonderful time yesterday. I took lots of photos and I will be posting them on Sunday ๐Ÿ˜Š

Have fun with your family today! That is such a fun tradition to do with the little ones, especially when you get some nice weather to get outside! And of course your pasta looks fantastic. So many yummy veggies!

Thank you so much Katie, it was amazing there! We were apple picking too. I will be posting about it on Sunday ๐Ÿ˜Š

I saw a few pics on your Instagram stories, but I can't wait for the full post to see what a fun day it was!

Ohhhhhh you did? Now I just have to sort out all those photos; I took so much, lol. Some of them for next week #marketfriday.

That looks so gooooodddd ๐Ÿ˜‹. Whoever doesnโ€™t love past doesnโ€™t love life. This is the perfect fall dish @lenasveganliving. Great job!

You are sooooo right my Dear Puravidaville Thank you so much, I am happy you like it ๐Ÿ˜Š

Enjoy your family my dear Lady Lena !
These Penne are looking extra delicious ! =))

We had a fabulous time Luigi and you would love it there too. Just a place for gnome like you. I took lots of photos and I will post them on Sunday. Thank you so much for stooping by I am glad you like the penne ๐Ÿ˜Š

Penne are my favourite, I'm half italian by my name...LoL

Thank you Luigi, compliment from half Italian means a lot, lol ๐Ÿ’›๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ’›

LoL...You make my day brighter with such funny comments dear ! =))
05jck64xxs.png

And you make my Luigi........have a wonderful day too ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ

Oh this looks wonderful my dear! I will have to make this when my kids arrive next week :) Hope you enjoyed your day with the little munchkins :) Snuggles galore!

Oh yes we did, I will post all about it on Sunday. Thank you so much my Dear, I am glad you like it and I really hope you try it ๐Ÿ˜Š

It's seems so good!!! Thanks for share!

Thank you so much, I am glad you like it ๐Ÿ˜Š

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61914.69
ETH 3017.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79