SWEET & SPICY BOWL 🌶🍑🌶

in #vegan5 years ago (edited)

Hello my Dearest Foodies,

When I picked nectarines at the supermarket, I knew they are not going to be very sweet and juicy at this time of year, but I needed them for photoshoot, so I though I just used them for smoothie after. However, I changed my mind and I made sweet and spicy Thai sauce instead. It turned out absolutely delicious, I just had to add some Maple Syrup, because those nectarines were really tasteless, lol. Nevertheless, this sauce is a very handy recipe to have when you don't know what to do with tasteless fruit that you accidentally buy, lol. It could be even peaches, apricots, mango, cantaloupe or papaya.

Also, I would like to suggest you to try these mung bean vermicelli, if you haven't done so yet. They are really delicious; Well it's not so much the taste, but the glossy texture that I like.

ijln7u7ndl.jpg

SWEET & SPICY BOWL
Thai inspired Mung Bean Vermicelli with Sweet and Spicy Sauce
Vegan – Gluten Free – Refined Sugar Free
Author: Lena’s Vegan Living

INGREDIENTS for 2
• Mung bean noodles (follow the instructions on the package)
• Firm tofu 150gr (cut in cubes)
• Coconut oil 1 tbs
• Low sodium Tamari 2 tbs
• Maple syrup 2 tbs
• Sesame seeds 2 tsp
• Cilantro leaves to garnish
• Scallions sliced to garnish
• Crushed peanuts (optional)
• Veggies of your choice

TOFU
• Preheat oil on the frying pan, add the tofu and drizzle with tamari.
• After few seconds add maple syrup and sauté 2-3 minutes on each side until golden.
• Add the sesame seeds at the end and take it off the heat.

zj05txo1rm.jpg

SAUCE
• Nectarines 4 (or other fruits such as mango, papaya or cantaloupe)
• Maple syrup or raw coconut sugar to taste
• Low sodium Tamari 2 tbs
• Garlic 4 cloves
• Coconut oil 1 tbs
• Coconut milk ¼ cup
• Chilli paste 2tsp (you may add more if you like
• Wakame flakes 2tsp
• Water ¼ cup (you may add more if needed)

PROCESS
• Dice your fruit and garlic sauté on hot coconut oil until mushy while adding tamari, sweetener and water.
• Take it of the heat and let it cool for 5 minutes.
• Transfer the mixture into a blender with milk
• Blend until smooth.
• Check the taste and see if It needs adjusting.
• Transfer in to a bowl and add mint.
• Arrange your bowls and serve.

kym1vqrc5i.jpg

THANK YOU FOR VISITING & BON APPETIT
FOR RECIPES PLEASE VISIT MY Lena's Vegan Living Blog
qp7kqls8bm.gif

xdtrk7rypl.png

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you so much 😊

Wow! She strikes again folks… Lena with the perfect looking meal. Everything you make turns out so gorgeous. I sure wouldn’t mind a bowl of that right about now :)

Awwwwwwwww, my Dear Puravidaville, thank you so much. You know I wish I could send you a bowl 🌸💖🌸

Howdy today Miss Lena! hey this dish is absolutely gorgeous! If it tastes anything like it looks then it rocks. lol. Great job, this is a beautiful post!

Gorgeous you say, wow! Thank you so much Janton, I am thrilled you like it and I can assure you it is as good as it looks. Even the tofu, lol.

Well, if I remember correctly, tofu doesn't have much taste so you have to flavor it with something everytime right? Or does it just take on the flavor of whatever is around it? Sort of like people. If you hang out with outlaws then you're going to start acting like one. so choose your friends carefully Miss Lena! lol.
I would get a good dog for a friend.

Well even meat doesn't have much flavor when you think about it. But yes you can add seasoning to it and also it does pick up the flavor from everything else. I just remember that you don't eat tofu for some reason. Lots of people believe that tofu is not healthy do to false advertising.

Howdy tonight Miss Lena! how are you today? What's going on with you? As far as meat, the meat I cook has flavor, especially if it's smoked BBQ.

As far as tofu, I just haven't eaten it for a long time, I don't eat it now just because we don't have any. I don't remember seeing it in the stores, I need to go find it!

Well tofu would have smoke flavor on BBQ too, lol. I also add liquid smoke flavor sometimes when I make tofu. But try boiling meat in the water with nothing added and see how it will taste, lol.

Anyway, I am well, thank you for asking; just did a laundry and replying to all comments from this week. I will catch up with you as well, if not tonight, than tomorrow. I have to comment also on some other posts besides yours you know, lol. How are you?

howdy again Miss Lena! well I understand how that's going to take awhile to catch up, that's what you get for taking time off from steemit! lol. But put my posts last. I'm doing great, just cruising along on steemit reponding to my legions of fans and followers. lol...just teasing..I'm just anwering a few comments and then I'll be reading posts.

The smoked flavored tofu sounds good to try!

You know most of the time I put you first, but I can't always do that. But I will give full attention to you tomorrw 😊

Wow, this looks unbelievable dear Lena. I am starving after reading your post. The colors alone are wonderful. Beautiful, beautiful presentation! I haven't tried these noodles yet, they're going on my list for the next market trip! :) Hope all is well with you!

You are really sweet as always my Dear!Thank you so much! 🌸💖🌸

oh sweetie, I'm sure it tastes wonderful again, but this great presentation makes me melt away again!

Thank you so much Sweetie, I am glad you like it 🌸💖🌸

Another very healthy meal, so beautifully presented @lenasveganliving The stone fruit is in season here in Australia and the nectarines are very sweet. They are probably my favourite fruit. (U & R )

They are delicious when they are in season as so is all the other stone fruit. I must say I am little bit jealous, lol. But thank you so much Trudee, I always appreciate your supprt very much 🌹😍🌹

So true Lena. Our sub-tropical climate produces a great variety of fruit and I always look forward to the stone fruit season. And of course, it is always a pleasure to lend my support for your wonderful blogs.

I am going to repeat myself when I say that I have to visit someday, lol

And I will always encourage you to do that Lena. It's a great goal to have.

Yes it is Trudee 😊

Next time try eating this with a Vienna lager by your side.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72