BANANA BREAD TURNED VEGAN RECIPE

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

9C7F4A69-2D33-4BBE-A8A0-73CD91C76345.jpeg

Banana bread has always been a favourite of mine. It’s comforting, delicious warmed with some vegan spread (nuttelex is a winner) & a perfect friend to a mug of coffee.
My partner always make the joke about the fact that it’s not actually a banana bread per say.. more like a banana cake in disguise as some kind of bread.
Making meals & baked food vegan has always been a mission of mine since transitioning to a plant based diet. So here is my version of the faithful banana bread (cake!)

INGREDIENTS:

3 ripe medium bananas (mashed with a fork)
2 cups whole grain flour
1/2 cup coconut oil
1/4 cup plant based milk (rice, almond, soy)
1/2 cup coconut sugar
3/4 tsp baking soda
1 tsp vanilla
1 tsp apple cidar vinegar
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup Chopped pecans or walnuts
1/2 tsp cinnamon powder
1/2 cup sultanas (optional)
A handful of Vegan choc chips (optional & delicious!)
A handful of desiccated coconut

METHOD:

Heat your oven to 180d/350f & grease a 3x5 loaf tin.

Start by mashing your bananas in a bowl, they don’t have to be super mushed, sometimes it’s nice to have some chunky pieces of banana through the slices so this can be done to personal preference.

8B98C504-740E-4B7E-A820-9F9774D728E0.jpeg

Mix in a large bowl the bananas, coconut sugar, melted coconut oil & vanilla until the mixture has a nice consistency.

36FA2AF9-CD7C-4E3D-BCBE-1011A2925766.jpeg

Next stir through the plant-based milk with the apple cider vinegar.
Add the flour, baking soda, cinnamon & salt until the mix is moist. Fold through the pecans/walnuts, sultanas & choc chips.

0D9A6A57-622C-4F1F-A6F6-C8F7CC3D2F40.jpeg

Pour into the loaf tin, sprinkle with dessicated coconut, I also like to make it pretty with a few pecan nuts in a line. Pop into the oven to bake for approximately 1 hour.. I usually leave mine until it’s a little cracked on top & nicely browned.

B5550792-4E4C-4C59-B569-22DB623D389E.jpeg

YUM!!!!

458A0A90-E62E-43BD-8FE8-1AC0CE52B397.jpeg

Sort:  

Beautiful! I love the addition of pecans instead f the more traditional walnuts. So much tastier!

Looks yum. I just bought a loaf tin to make something like that on the weekend. I bought a beautiful loaf of banana, coconut and walnut bread the other day, which also had sunflower seeds, and was delicious. I'm going to do a variant this weekend - who knows how it will turn out!

Sounds amazing! Adding sunflower seeds would be delicious.. I’m sure it’ll turn out great. :)

Oh hey!!! I literally just posted about my experimentation this morning!! Would love you to check it out and see what you think - no obligation - I'm just excited about it!

Banana bread is the BEST! Thanks so much for sharing your amazing recipe with us ♥ I added it to my 5 favourite vegan recipes of the week here: https://steemit.com/food/@isshappy/iss-happy-s-5-favorite-vegan-steemit-recipes-of-the-week-6 I wish you a great weekend :)

Wow! Thanks @isshappy! Banana bread has been the best snack in the morning whilst pregnant too.. it’s super easy to make which I love. Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend too.

That looks amazing! I haven't tried making banana bread since I went vegan but I would love to try with this recipe!

Thanks @nicolslife. :) Finding banana bread at cafes & out & about that is vegan is pretty difficult.. you’ll love this recipe it’s yummy & moist just like you would remember banana bread pre-vegan days!

I will definetly try it sometime :). I haven't found a single cafe that makes banana bread here in Sweden so it's about time to make it myself :D

This looks sooo yummm! Can we just be neighbors and you can bake for me and make my clothes look prettier and paint pictures with me and sing to me? ♥

Thanks @paintingangels! Being neighbours would be fun.. you could see the ocean every day!! We could paint & all sing tunes together.. xx

I also love banana bread and vegan is the best!

So yummy! 😊

This looks so goood! I can practically smell it through the screen. Defo going to try this, thanks for the recipe 😊

Thanks so much @lolzwithlisa.. 😊 how funny would it be to have a smellascreen app or something like that?!! Would love to see a pic if you try this banana bread recipe out.

That would be great wouldn't it? Although I'd be hungry 24/7! I will post a pic if I try it for sure 😊

Love a good old banana bread
😋

Always a winner. 😊😊

Looks great! I love banana bread and have been moving to a vegan diet s0 this is perfect!

Woot! Moving to a vegan diet will open up so much for you food wise.. so many folk think it closes your options.. I found I was more creative & more inspired to cook awesome meals! Good luck on your journey into the plant based diet. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84