6 Years Plant-Based! {My Veggiversary}

in #vegan5 years ago (edited)


Hey guys and gals! Though I'm not always one that feels the need to celebrate every life event, some occasions are just fun to mark in some small way. I am coming up on blogging for two years next month, which is a feat in itself, but before that I wanted to take a quick minute to celebrate six years since going plant-based! I probably wouldn't have started blogging if not to share my yummy vegan food so it only makes sense to at least put out a short blog to chart the journey.

It is quite the experience looking back on that time. I had been a trainer for about four years when I started researching more about whole food, plant based nutrition. An acquaintance at the time knew that I enjoyed learning about nutrition, so she had suggested I read The China Study. Before that I had only a vague notion of vegetarian eating, and even less about full veganism (from a dietary perspective and total lifestyle). Though I am not always the best at explaining scientific research after I read it or absorb it in other manners, I still am very much swayed by solid evidence when it comes to matters of health and wellness. Of course we all put our own personal spin and experience on what we learn, but ultimately as someone who works in the wellness profession it would not bode well for my practice to not base my methods on hard science.


This was a few weeks before I did in fact totally cut out meat. 😜

Well, after starting to do my research, I couldn't deny the overwhelming evidence that adopting a largely (if not wholly) plant-based diet was best for overall health and wellness. It was a bit of a shock to me as much of my early experience in the fitness field so much of the focus was on protein and supplements, or worse--deprivation of calories to get the desired aesthetic response. I got into fitness and nutrition to help people be healthier, not to sacrifice that health at the cost of appearance, so learning more about how you could actually eat more abundantly in order to look good and have optimal health just made sense to me. One of the great things about plant-based eating is that if you are consuming a variety of mostly whole foods, you don't have to "diet" or restrict anything (within reason--pure vegan cane sugar is still sugar)! If anything, some days I have a problem eating enough to support my active lifestyle.

Everyone has different nutritional needs as far as how much and what types of foods work better for them, but I am personally convinced all of those needs can be met through plants. You can easily eat high or lower carb, get plenty of protein or consume more plant-based fats if that is what your body desires. Gluten-free is no problem when you realize how many other wonderful plants can take the place of those grains. Of course I am a big proponent of whole food carbs, but I totally understand that not everyone is going to adore potatoes as much as I do. 😉


About a month into the plant-based lifestyle!

Once I was set on the nutritional value of the lifestyle, I also couldn't help but come across the environmental and ethical side of things, as well. Personally I could never kill a living being to feed myself. Unrealistic desert island scenario be damned, I would most likely starve if the only other "food" around was an animal. I ate cheeseburgers for most of my life, so there is definitely no judgement from me how anyone else lives their life, but I am very grateful my eyes were opened to things that, though painful to watch at times, switched my perspective in a way that can never be flipped back. I will admit I am not always a perfect vegan, but I strive constantly to continue to reduce my negative impact on the world around me.

I feel like I have definitely grown a lot over these six years. My thirties have truly been a fantastic decade! I've become the nutty vegan auntie, which is a title I cherish. My nutritional choices even within the plant-based sphere continue to improve and grow. Thank goodness my food photography has gotten a whole lot better! I adore my farmers market visits each week and getting to know the local farmers more and more. That has definitely helped me to try to be much more seasonal in the way I cook, which has positive environmental impacts. I even have my own little cookbook and plans for a second!

From a fitness perspective, I'm pretty sure all of my racing personal best times have happened after switching my diet. Of course some of that could be experience and solid training, but if nothing else all the plants haven't harmed my performance as some people still believe. I also carry just as much or more muscle than I ever have, and tend to have much less inflammation in my body.


Oh to sit under a big beautiful tree and think about the wonders of life!

I also feel like I have become a much more mindful person in general. It is so easy to go through life not really thinking too much how certain decisions impact others, but I try to take the time much more than I ever used to so that I can really think about what I am putting out in the world. I am definitely not always (if ever) perfect and have my moments of pure selfish meltdowns. For the most part, though, I try to put positive energy out whenever I can. It just so happens that most of that comes out in the form of food, haha! Energy at its finest.

My goal in sharing this milestone this year is not to put myself up on a pedestal and make anyone feel less than for their own choices, just to give a little piece of my own personal growth and journey. That is what a blog is about, right? I could sit here and spout off all the sites and doctors that I follow that inform my decisions, but I'd rather get into the kitchen and make something delicious out of the fresh veggies I have sitting in there. If you want to learn more, feel free to reach out personally. I'm always happy to share for anyone truly interested in a healthy plant-based lifestyle! I do also have another local nutrition event coming up here in Atlanta that I've shared on Facebook and will share more about in a blog soon.

Thank you to those who have been a big part of my journey along the way! I truly enjoy sharing and motivating people to think just a little bit more about their own lifestyle--whatever form that may take. I continue to learn so much from others, so I can only hope to give one small part back. The vegan and healthy foodie communities on Steemit are some of my favorite people to interact with. This is actually my first post where I am finally utilizing Steempress to be able to cross-post on both my Wordpress blog and on Steem, so fingers crossed all goes well....

PHC-Footer-05.gif



Banners by @zord189, @woman-onthe-wing, @dksart and @bearone for @steemusa





Posted from my blog with
SteemPress : https://plantstoplanks.com/6-years-plant-based-my-veggiversary/

Sort:  

🎁 Hi @plantstoplanks! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @fionasfavourites!

@fionasfavourites wrote lately about: Bored Games Feel free to follow @fionasfavourites if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

wow, congrats. you look so great for it too. 'trim as a bean' as my grandma used to say. it's an affectionate term.

Aww, thanks! It's definitely a combination of all the lifestyle factors, but treating yourself well on the inside generally leads to it showing on the outside. :)

absolutely. it's the reflection of the inside that eminates the glow out. for sure!

I've become the nutty vegan auntie

What a journey!!

And it just keeps on going! Can't wait to see what another few years brings!

This is great. I love hearing about other peoples experiences. I believe vegan is the future. I am just over 2 years! Be well.

Thanks! I tend to agree with you on that. We might not have a future unless we take more heed of where we get our food (and other resources) from!

Happy Veggiversary!!

I have a hard time wrapping my head around the fact that you have only been a vegan for 6 years. In my eyes oh, you were born that way. Of course, compliment as you make everything look so easy and we all know that it takes a lot of effort to maintain any lifestyle. I am in awe of you and your story and how you all came about getting to where you are. It's a process, isn't it? I can see that.

Part of what really impresses me is that you have maintained your active lifestyle despite and I use that word loosely because I don't mean that in a negative way. But despite the change oh, you have maintained your muscle mass and activity in running. Of course I just said all of this awkwardly but girl, you've got it goin on! Congratulations and may you have a most amazing day!

!tip

Oh gosh, if you had only seen me as a child. I was all about the bacon cheeseburgers! Yikes! I've definitely come a long way in my culinary choices. We were just joking around the other day about how my mom used to make me drink Ensure to try to get vitamins in me.

We all live and learn, right? It wouldn't be much fun if we didn't grow along the journey. All of the experiences before have led me to where I am now, so I wouldn't change a thing!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Always appreciate the pop in @c-squared!

Congrats 6 years is a long time. My veg record is 5 weeks and my vegan record 4.5 days.

Posted using Partiko Android

It definitely is. I had no expectations at first of keeping it up for a specific length of time, but when I felt so well and seriously enjoyed cooking so much more, it just stuck!

You are so beautiful, inside and out! Happy veggieversary!! Well done on 6 years. You have done a lot of work and research and it has and is totally paying off. Not a lot of people can do what you do. I'd make you cake but well... Here's a virtual one 😁🍰 no eggs no milk no butter, just applesauce and water and such lol.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks girl! I appreciate all the support! It's not always easy in a world that still thinks you're a little kooky, but I've got lots of good company. ;) I do like applesauce, haha! I actually saw a friend this weekend who started a little at-home cookie business, and she asked about substitutions for healthier/vegan options if she wanted to add some more to her repertoire. I need to send her some ideas so she can test them out. That's the awesome thing these days--cakes, cookies, and everything in between can be made vegan with a little ingenuity!

You are welcome 😊

I can say that it is a bit hard to know the replacements and the fact that the recipe changes in amounts to make it work. I haven't been asked to make anything vegan yet. It kind of scares me a bit when it will happen as I don't have the experience. But I'm all for taking the challenge!

Posted using Partiko Android

Vegan baking can definitely be challenging, but luckily there are so many people blazing the trail and sharing some killer recipes! I would say it is probably easier to find a recipe that is already vegan to use than to try to modify an existing one, though that can be done, too, if there's not too many things you're replacing. I'm sure you would come up with something awesome if the need ever arises!

I would most likely end up Venturing in those recipes and tweaking them a bit lol

Posted using Partiko Android

Congrats and such a beautiful story I can totally relate too... BTW I kinda got a thing for potatoes too lol. Also, you made me think about the fact that I actually dont know when I made the switch from flexitarian to vegan... Probably means I am not big on anniversaries either. Anyway congrats again on 6 years plant based and 2 years of blogging xxxx

I appreciate my many spud-lovers on the blockchain and off, haha! I definitely transitioned slowly on some of the other things like dairy and eggs, but meat was one fell swoop so I just count that time frame as the official start of the new journey. On a similar note, my boyfriend and I really don't have an anniversary either since we are not really big on actually going out on dates. Who needs a specific day anyway, we can just celebrate as it feels right! I'm very grateful for the journey to have met new friends like you along the way!

Same here though we got married 8 years ago which kinda has a set date lol. Very pleased indeed to meet so many wonderful people through steemit. To be honest I still eat an egg on occasion from the chickens of our neighbour who all roam freely through his and our garden and are treated very well... Another exception I sometimes make is wild Cambodian honey... So still 99.99 percent vegan here lol

Yep, I'm definitely not "perfect" myself, but I think it's the 99% that counts. :)

As you are consistently hitting the Gym , Atleast you have to eat boiled chicken because it will gonna help you to gain nutrition and all the other health related stuff .

I will suggest you to eat Chicken but yeah along with it I will also suggest that to avoid Pork and beef Meat because they can really cause some serious health issue but yeah don't leave eating chicken 😅 because it's always the best one can have :)

Well Happy veggieversary :) .

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey thanks @freecrypto! I appreciate the stop in and the concern. No chicken needed for this active body, though! The cool thing is things like beans, lentils, tofu, tempeh, nuts/seeds, and whole grains all have lots of protein and other nutrients along with fiber that meat doesn't give you! Some vegetarians/vegans don't do a good job of eating a variety of nutrients, but I've always had health in mind so I make sure to get a big variety in all the foods I eat to maintain my fitness levels. Some of the highest level athletes in the world are now plant-based!

Usain Bolt world champion in running eats Chicken :)

Connor McGregor The Ultimate fighting champion eats Chicken :)

Cristiano Ronaldo & Messi both are the best footballers & the most loved footballers eats Chicken :)

Virat Kohli The World No 1 batsman in the game of Cricket eats Chicken :)

Roger Federer the world class tennis player eats Chicken too 😊

They are Champions for a reason 😎

Please don't think that I'm forcing my opinion on you , no it's not like that as you said that some of the athletes gone plants- based so I thought to share my vision on it 😊 .

But the way I respect your Opinion & Point of views because you have much more knowledge about this than me what you said is 100% Possible even we can gain nutritions & protiens from the things like you said :) and you are a proof of that :) , your #seven77 videos really shows that how much energy and potential you have 😊 , you are one of the best participants of seven77 :)

Posted using Partiko Android

No worries my friend! I am happy to have respectful dialogue. It's a great way for everyone to learn new things! After 6 years I have absolutely no deficiencies, and am at the peak of my personal fitness. Everyone has to find what works for them, and I'm just happy to share my perspective for anyone who fears a vegan diet will make you weak or unfit. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16