Grilled Veggie & Tofu Sandwiches with Pickled Kohlrabi & Radish

in #vegan6 years ago

Hello again folks!  I've been so busy trying to work with all my berries that I've had a hard time pulling myself away from the kitchen. ;)  My next round of banana blackberry bread is happily cooking in the oven right now, so I should have enough time to share one of the yummy meals @dksart and I enjoyed this week from our meal prep.  I have to give him some kudos since he does all the grilling, and is quite expert at it now. It is definitely getting into prime grilling season now!

This meal was one that just came out of grabbing some of the fantastic and fresh local produce from the farmers market.  Nothing better than putting together a tasty meal from food grown right in your neighborhood!  The sourdough bread also once again came from the market, making the perfect base for a grilled vegetable sandwich.  Though the vegetables were pretty simple, I'll share the sun-dried tomato pesto and pickled kohlrabi and radish recipes that helped round out the meal with lots of flavor.

I enjoyed these sandwiches so much that I even made one up for my post-run breakfast this morning.  Of course it went very well with a side of fresh blueberries and blackberries!

I'll start with the pickled veggies.  I suppose you can call it somewhat of a relish, perhaps?  Ah well, whatever it is called I enjoyed finding yet another way to work with the kohlrabi.  It seems to be a staple at the market right now, so I will most likely continue grabbing some each week to enjoy.

The radishes were also looking good.  Sometimes they can be a bit strong for my taste, so doing a quick pickle on them can help tame some of the strong peppery bite.  I am also a huge vinegar fan (if you hadn't guessed that already), so I just enjoy the sharp tang of pickled vegetables anyway!

Pickled Kohlrabi & Radish

  • 1 large bulb kohlrabi, peeled & chopped (approximately 2 cups)
  • 2 cups trimmed & chopped radishes
  • 1 1/2 cups distilled white vinegar (can also use apple cider vinegar)
  • 1 1/2-2 cups water (enough to cover the veggies in the pan)
  • 1 tablespoon mustard seeds
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper*
  • 1-2 tablespoons coconut sugar or other unrefined sweetener
  • 2 teaspoons sea salt
  • 3 cloves garlic, peeled and cut in half

Place your liquid and spices in a medium saucepan and bring just to a boil.  Stir and mix in the sugar until dissolved.  Add in the kohlrabi and radishes and reduce heat to low.  Simmer for 20 minutes, then set aside and let cool completely.  Should be good in the refrigerator for 1-2 weeks.

*I wasn't thinking and used whole peppercorns before realizing I was going to have pick them out or risk chomping down on one while eating.  Lesson learned. ;)

We just ate this on the side, but it would be a great topper for a salad or sandwich, especially if you chop up the vegetables even smaller!  Speaking of other toppers, I also made a sun-dried tomato and pepita pesto to spread on the sourdough.  With lots of fresh herbs from the garden of course. ;)

Sun-Dried Tomato Pesto

  • 1/2 cup dry-packed sun-dried tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup raw pumpkin seeds
  • 1/2 cup loosely packed fresh oregano (or other herb of choice)
  • 2 tablespoons chopped green onions or chives
  • 1 small lemon, zest & juice
  • 2 small cloves garlic, peeled
  • pinch of sea salt

Place your tomatoes and seeds in a bowl and cover with hot water.  Let soak for at least 30 minutes, or until the tomatoes are re-hydrated and the seeds have softened.  Drain out the used water.

Place all of the ingredients in a food processor and blend together.  Add a little water as needed to get everything blended together to the texture you prefer, or a bit of oil if you are not oil-free like me.  I left mine a bit chunky for a hearty and flavorful sandwich spread!

For the rest of the components I had @dksart grill up some sliced zucchini, onion and bell pepper with a little sprinkle of Italian seasoning.  While he was doing that I cut up extra firm sprouted tofu into slabs, sprinkled it with lemon pepper seasoning and cooked it lightly on the stove top.  To bring it all together I toasted up the sourdough bread.

I have had grilled veggie sandwiches in the past where they put a big slice of mozzarella cheese on it, so the tofu was my vegan way to re-create a similar look and add some plant-based protein.  @dksart was thinking of fish apparently because he asked where the tartar sauce was, haha!

I enjoyed it both open-faced and as a classic sandwich.  Either way the combination hit the spot!  If you don't eat bread you could easily put all of the components together for a tasty salad, as well.  I definitely try not to overdo the bread so I make sure to save plenty of room for all of the vibrant fruits and veggies in my diet, but with my activity level a few slices here and there help fill out my calorie needs in a delicious way.  I always make sure to buy only "real" bread with organic ingredients and no extra preservatives thrown in to muck it up.

Speaking of bread...time to go check on my oven!!  Happy eating!


Sort:  

What a great way to use kohlrabi! I always struggle to include it in my diet but I really like pickles so this might be the right use for me!

Your sandwich looks fantastic! I also like to use local ingredients.

Oh, I wouldn't like to live without bread! Everybody has some guilty pleasure, right?! 😊

The kohlrabi turned out really well pickled! It still kept some of the texture, but took on that yummy flavor. I'll keep pushing myself to find other ways to use it and make sure to share.

No guilt about eating good quality bread. ;) I think it actually helps keep me from over eating it because I don't feel like it's taboo and I know I can fit it into a healthy daily food intake.

Thanks for stopping by! 😀

This sandwich must be be beyoned delicious Katie. Absolutely love it 💖😊💖

Thank you my friend! :)

This looks so tasty! Love the Pesto, it really packs a punch doesn't it? Great paring with the pickled veggies

It really is a great sandwich spread! I love it with the sun-dried tomatoes. We are finally getting some basil popping up, so I'll have to use that next time with the oregano, too. :) Love this time of year with all of the bounty of the land!

Looks super yummy Katie!! 😋🤤🤤🤤

Thanks Maru! 🤗

Extremely delicious Katie!!!;)

Especially since I had help. 😁 Always nice when the grill master steps in and makes some delicious veggies!

Oh yes! My partner is the master in my house when it comes to savory cooking!!;) Lol!

Thanks babe! Glad you liked your vegan fish sandwich. 🤣

Thank you! It was quite a yummy meal!

Looks delicious! You nailed this sandwich!!

Thank you for checking it out! It was definitely a delicious meal. :)

Thanks! I'm about to start working on a post for you. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25