Happy World Vegan Day! {Cauliflower Mushroom Soup & Market Veggie Salad w/ Homemade Sauerkraut}

in #vegan5 years ago

Hey there again everyone! Although Halloween is probably much more popular, today is actually another fun holiday for me and some of my pals--World Vegan Day! Apparently November is World Vegan Month, as well, so if one day isn't enough you've got a whole month to jump in and celebrate. As you probably realize, I'm pretty passionate about a healthy vegan diet. Even if you don't go full in, shifting towards a more plant-based lifestyle is healthier not only for your own body but also the planet.

IMG_20181030_163859214_HDR.jpg

There is nothing that I have lacked since making the shift 5 years ago, in fact I feel that if anything my life is fuller as I continue to connect with wonderful people and try to be more compassionate with my impact on the Earth. As an athlete I continue to perform at a high level and have no problems maintaining the body composition I desire. I still indulge on occasion--have you seen some of the totally dope vegan desserts the folks on here post?? I also feel like a straight up magician in the kitchen sometimes with the beautiful meals I am able to put together from the bounty of the land. I have no doubts that I will continue to reap the benefits of this lifestyle, and can only hope to encourage others to do the same!

IMG_20181029_132402559.jpg

Speaking of encouragement, I can't talk about how awesome being vegan is without sharing some delicious food! Perhaps this isn't the most show-stopping, decadent of meals that is guaranteed to make an omnivore salivate. It is however a representation to me of just how nourishing and life-giving plants can be. Props once again to my local farmers as they have given me life in a number of ways this year. With the exception of just a few ingredients, everything in these bowls came right from the sweet Georgia soil.

IMG_20181030_152412630.jpg

The mushrooms, cauliflower, onion and garlic for the soup all came from the farmers market. The cabbage for the sauerkraut was also from one of the stands. The salad basically came straight from the farm and into my bowl, as well. The radishes, kohlrabi, red oak lettuce and red kale all were picked just days ago. The main flavor in the soup came out of our own soil--sage from the herb garden!

IMG_20181030_165412154_HDR.jpg

Though I joked about being a kitchen magician, there really isn't any fancy magic to it. Just honor the local food that you have access to and you will be doing just fine! It has taken me years to get to this point. There have been (and still are) a whole lot of failures along the way to help me figure out my groove in making healthy yet tasty meals. I'm just happy to have such a wonderful group of people to share them with. If only we could finally figure out how to share food across the screen for real...😉

Cauliflower Mushroom Soup

Makes 8 Servings

  • 1 sweet onion, peeled & diced
  • 4-5 cloves fresh garlic, peeled & minced
  • 8-10 ounces button or baby bella mushrooms, roughly sliced
  • 1 head of cauliflower, trimmed & cut into florets
  • 2 cups cooked white beans
  • 2 tablespoons chopped sage plus extra for garnish
  • 1 tablespoon Italian seasoning blend (oregano, basil, thyme, etc)
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 7 cups water or low sodium vegetable stock
  • small handful of dried shitake mushrooms (optional--I had them leftover in the pantry to use up)
  • 2 tablespoons white miso

Place the onions in a large stockpot and cook over medium heat until soft and translucent (about 8-10 minutes). Pour in a tablespoon or two of water as needed to prevent sticking and stir occasionally.

Add in the garlic and sliced mushrooms. Continue to cook for 5 minutes.

Once the mushrooms have started to cook through, add in the remainder of the ingredients except for the miso. Bring to a boil, then partially cover and reduce to a simmer. Cook for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Remove from heat, take out the bay leaves and stir in the miso. Use a handheld stick blender or regular jug blender to puree the soup to your liking. Taste and adjust ingredients to your liking.

IMG_20181030_154819152.jpg

The salad was actually really basic. The sauerkraut was so tangy and delicious that I thought it would make for the perfect accompaniment to the fresh chopped radish and kohlrabi over the leafy greens. This was the first time I grabbed the red oak lettuce from the hydroponic stand and it was so tender and sweet. It was a great foil to the more dense and bitter leaves of the kale. I did squeeze a bit of fresh orange to finish it off for a perfect light accompaniment to the soup!

IMG_20181030_165610100.jpg

Enjoy the day my friends!



Banners by @woman-onthe-wing, @dksart and @bearone for @steemusa

Sort:  

I know the combination cauliflower - broccoli works for soup, but never heard of cauliflour - mushroom. Sounds tasty though and it's definitely something I will try out. With the weather getting colder again Soup is the perfect go to food. Lost of vegetables and easy to make for multiple days.

Thanks for the recipe

Soup really is the best, isn't it? I think I had in my mind kind of a cream of mushroom soup, so the pureed cauliflower and white beans take on a lighter version of the "cream". Sage and mushroom is a classic combination, so it all came together for a nice light soup for the week. I hope you get to do your own take on it. 🙂

Hi, congratz, you are now listed on the Steemians directory (https://www.steemiandir.com/) You can read more about this initiative here: https://steemit.com/steemit/@anonyvoter/new-selections-of-september-9-2018 If you like this project it would be great if you could resteem the post to make more people aware of it.
If you don’t want to be listed just leave me a comment and I will delete your profile from the website. Thank you very much for reading and I’m looking forward to your feedback!

Not as yummy as your homemade pizza is going to be... ;)

I finally get your 'title' on here! Duh! Obvy! 😉 The soup really looks good! I'd SO love to have that right now, you have no clue! So hungry! It feels like I'm walking in a desert and this mirage of an oasis appearing-I'm at work and thought I'd check my steem... but this is borderline torture right now! 😜 As well, happy world vegan day/month, thats something else I learned today! 😁 Keep up the good work 👍

Haha, it made total sense to me when I first came up with my username, but I later realized that it may not make as much sense to everyone else. Glad it clicked for you. 🤣

Steem can be torture when you are hungry. There are many days where I just sit and drool over my computer keys. So many talented cooks in this virtual kitchen!

Thanks for popping in and leaving some kind words!

For sure! Appreciate the effort you put in. And the name is really good, as far as the meaning, it's quite apparent now to everyone with the sweet banner!!! Trés Chic 👌🏻

@woman-onthe-wing really did a fantastic job incorporating everything I could have wanted in that banner!

And to you!! 💚

Mmm that looks super tasty. Right now baking some vegan soup here of vegetables and white beans - enjoy yours 😍🌴❤️🦋🌈🍀

It is a dreary rainy day here today, so I will be enjoying a bowl her shortly! I hope you enjoy your bowl of goodness soon, as well! 😃🥣

Perfect meal to celebrate the Vegan Day Katie. I am craving saurekraut too now, lol. So delicious 🍄😊🍄

And now we can celebrate for the rest of the month, too! 😉 If I were really wanting to make Dave's Polish mama proud I would make some pierogis with that sauerkraut, but I don't think I'm that ambitious yet, haha!

Oh my gosh, he is Polish? LOL!!! I don't think pierogi are that hard to make. Maybe I should try.

Yep, though he's lived here for most of his life, he was born in Poland and still speaks the language with his family. I tried to learn some Polish, but only picked up a few words in 8 years, haha! I would love to see if you can come up with a vegan version. :) I've watched our friend from Latvia make her version filled with cherries, but I think her dough had eggs in it.

I know lots of Polish people here, even my landlord is Polish, but I don't speak the language, although it's very similar to my. I just prefer English! However, there is lots of vegan pierogi recipes online and the dough is pretty much just flour, water, oil and salt.

There's pretty much a vegan version of everything now! Yay! The neighborhood my parents lived in when I was born (in New Jersey) was predominantly a Polish neighborhood. My dad was so excited one time when we had Dave's parents and some of their friends over to our house because one of the visitors made stuffed cabbage leaves. He hadn't had those since we lived up there, so he was really happy!

Well, your dad would really love my neighborhood. I live not too far from Plaza stuffed with Polish food and products, lol. Unfortunately, everything far from being vegan. However, why don't you make him stuffed cabbage leaves? I have recipe on my blog; it's been a while since I made them but only because I don't have a regular oven. Last time I made them was at my daughter's.

Hhhmm, now that may be a good thought for Thanksgiving. We tend to make a lot of the traditional fixings, but then always have a few different things on the table, as well. So cabbage leaves may be a good option for one of my vegan offerings. :) I'll have to look back through your blog to see how you did yours.

What a great post. I dug your funny introduction, too, great job. And did ya’all catch that?! She said:

...totally dope vegan desserts the folks on here post??

That’s totally dope!

Thanks @dandays! There really isn't a much better descriptor for some of these creations than "dope", right? 😜

I love a good soup and your recipe is inspiring! I am digging that fresh market salad too. I like that you squeezed a bit of orange over top, I'll be trying that out when the oranges are back in season here! Tasty stuff all round. Thanks for sharing @plantstoplanks!

Thanks @gardeningchef! I'm sure with all the goodies you have working in your garden you'll be able to make some yummy soups. With working in a gym and around a lot of people most days this time of year I try to incorporate citrus everywhere to get plenty of vitamin C. The good thing is that it makes everything pop, so it's not hard to want to put a little squeeze on just about anything. 😃

Oh yes, once things really get going I will be making soups galore! My rainbow carrots seem to be taking the lead at the moment, the green tops are looking good so maybe in about a month I might be able to start pulling some. Luckily I have 3 lots of carrots on rotation so I shan't run out in a hurry!

Working at a gym you must be coming into contact with all sorts of germs (if only ill people would stay at home and nurse themselves to health!) so you are right to keep up that vitamin C intake. I would guzzle orange juice on the daily when I was at uni. Heartburn all day every day but worth it to keep the lurgy away. I am lucky I don't have to come into contact with big crowds very often anymore!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01