Savoring the Season {Lady Pea Dip w/ Roasted Poblano Peppers & Avocado}

in #vegan6 years ago


Happy Friday everyone!  I hope you all have had a great week!  Today I've got another easy dip to share with you that features more of the great seasonal produce here in Georgia.  I'm still working on my peach haul, but this time around I'm utilizing my lovely lady peas from the farmers market.  A few weeks ago I shared a lima bean version that was delicious, so when I grabbed a bag of the fresh-shelled lady peas I thought they would also be great in that form.  I'll get back to my chickpeas for traditional hummus eventually, but I'm all too happy using the fresh stuff right now!



The lady peas are very similar to the pinkeye ones I have gotten recently from the market.  They are all part of the same family of crowder peas or field peas, and technically they are actually a bean!  Full of protein and fiber, they pack plenty of nutrition in a small package.  These beauties grow very well in the Georgia heat, which is why they are quite abundant at the farmers market right now.  I need to stock up while they are in season because they are very easy to freeze to enjoy later. :)


Peppers also grow very well here in my home state.  I always load up on bell peppers for my various dishes, but the poblanos looked fantastic this past week.  I hadn't used those in a while, so I decided those would make a nice addition to my dip.  They are super easy to roast up under the broiler or over a gas flame.  I popped mine in the oven for a few minutes on each side, then let them steam in a glass bowl for 15 minutes so I could peel the skin off and chop up.



Of course anything like this is always excellent to dip fresh veggies or homemade crackers in, but I do love it as a spread.  I had taken a few weeks off from buying it, but I splurged on a loaf of fresh sourdough bread this week which made the perfect vehicle for my lady pea dip and these stunning heirloom tomatoes.  The typical Southern combo is a tomato and mayonnaise sandwich, but mayo ain't got nothin' on my vegan spread. ;)



Lady Pea Dip

  • 1 1/2 cups cooked fresh lady peas (or other fresh field pea)
  • 2 roasted poblano peppers, peeled & seeded, chopped
  • 1 ripe avocado, pitted & flesh scooped from the skin
  • 1 small lime, juiced
  • 2 tablespoons green onion or chives, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon adobo seasoning (or spice mixture of choice)

Place all of the ingredients in food processor and blend until smooth.  Add a few tablespoons of water as needed to thin out and get the beans to break down.



If you want a little more heat, roasting a jalapeno pepper with the poblanos would be a nice addition.  I also kept the spices light to let the lady peas shine through so it was a very mild outcome.  The beautiful thing about dips like this is you can adjust however you like it best!  Have a great weekend!



Sort:  

When I read 'Georgia' my first thought was: Eh? She is from the US! Then I realized that you meant Georgia in the US, not Georgia next to Russia :D

What a delicious, easy and light dip! I have never seen the lady peas. To me it looks a bit like soy beans :)

Oh, have a look on my post from yesterday. I've found a perfect running trail for you! :)

Haha, I did think about that when I posted, but figured most people realized I'm in the US. ;)

I don't remember eating lady peas growing up in the Northern part of the country, so I believe there are quite local to the South. They are a bit like soybeans. Slightly sweet and creamy, but still fresh and light!

I definitely need to check out your trail...

This must be soooo tasty...............I really intrigued by these poblano peppers. I I've seen them in the a supermarket, but I never tried them. Great recipe Katie, definitely must try 🌸💖🌸

Poblanos are nice and mild, but taste great roasted! You should definitely add them to your grocery list next time you go. :)

I will for sure 💖😊💖

Amazing texture. Would love to try it.

The lady peas do blend up quite nicely in a dip!

Never heard of them. Nice.

@plantstoplanks
Awesome and healthy post.
Keep steeming
Resteemed

Wow @plantstoplanks, this is all very delicious looking! I have just started following you as I can see there is loads of good healthy blogging going on here! Wonderful work and a blessing for the steemit community.so pleased to have hooked up with you.RESTEEMED😍🌴🦋🌈💛💚

Thank you so much for the lovely comment and resteem! It's always nice to come across new friends in the community. 😊

Hi there! I just upvoted you, I am a semibot that sometimes vote on great content or sometimes just Create useful content. I am helping @cheetah , @FollowForUpvotes , @minnowSupport , @steemgigs , @dropahead #bots and other users right now for making the steem more helpful to new users. Contact me if you want me to follow on your content or comments. If you have any query then please contact me. You can always send me SP or SBD so i can keep helping you indirectly by helping these awesome bots.



Do not forget to Follow @jeevanot, I actually create content as HUMAN.
Random Gift Photo For Your Better Mood: Click It!

I couldn't agree more @plantstoplanks, lovely to know you.. I know you are going to inspire me to up my fitness regime too ;)

CONGRATULATIONS!!
Your post is featured in my The Kitchen Table Edition 19: Recipes, Cooking & Food Curation Day post!!

ALL SBD PROCEEDS from this post are EQUALLY divided between the three featured authors' posts.

Oh cool! Thanks so much!

I have never heard of those little beans, but, I like the idea of mixing them with the pablanos and a little bit of Jalapenos! New recipes are always welcome!

Thank you!

I think they are pretty regional. I don't think I grew up with them in New Jersey, and only recently have realized how amazing they are to cook with in all different ways! Now I can't get enough of them!

Awesome recipe. I have never heard of Lady Peas. You are so fortunate to have all that fresh stuff. You inspire me to make healthier dishes for sure!

I just can't get enough right now!! It's a good thing all this stuff is so healthy because I'm stuffing my face every day. :) It's easy to eat well this time of year when everything is so fresh. I'm trying hard to freeze more so I have some for the winter months.

Oooh lovely! That first photo is so appealing to me... Now I've become vegan I will be experimenting myself with various spreads and dips, and this one looks like a winner!!! :-)

I think dips are my favorite vegan meal! 🤣 As long as I have a few veggies and some dip I won't go hungry. So exciting to hear about your transition to full veganism! You already cook so well and healthy, so I would imagine it's not too huge of a leap.

You're right, it wasn't really a big step at all! For a while it's been eggs and my daily-scone-for-supper that were holding me back. But for some reason I kinda went off eggs recently anyway. As for the scones, I made my first batch of vegan scones the other day and they were a resounding success!!! Am excited to be sharing the recipe today if I get chance!

yum! that looks like a winning combo :) those beans definitely look like something to grow!

Oooh, good call! I need to remember to try to grow some in the garden next year. They apparently grow very well, so hopefully we could get some going! @dksart has been working on a massive rich pile of compost for us. This year has been a bit of a bust for gardening so far, but we are hoping that rich infusion of black gold will help next time around. :)

mmmm yes that black gold is where it's at!!! i may try to get my hands on some of these seeds, too. it has been crazy hot (and dry) here so some of the plants are struggling. great to have plants that don't mind the heat!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09