Summer Event Recap {Recipes for Raw Broccoli Salad & Cacao Sesame Bliss Balls Included}

in #vegan5 years ago (edited)


Another successful nutrition event is in the books! I wanted to use this post to send out my gratitude to all of the awesome people who came or supported the Seasonal Taste & Learn event at Excellence in Exercise this past weekend. This was the second event in the plant-based nutrition series, and just like the first it exceeded my expectations in a number of ways.

One of the lessons I took from the first event was to focus on a particular aspect of nutrition in addition to the seasonal component. There really are so many facets of healthy eating, that it helps to hone in on a few main ideas otherwise we could spend all day discussing everything! As it is fitting for summer, this particular event we focused on raw foods. We talked about why we should include plenty of raw foods into our meal plan, which items have a higher nutrient content when eaten in their natural state, and some different ways to prepare enjoyable raw items like the snacks that I shared.

Everyone attending asked some great questions and also offered up some of their own tips and experiences. That's one of the things I most enjoy about leading events like this--we can all learn from each other! I think I get just as much inspiration leading as I hope to impart to everyone attending. Even just researching and talking about healthy habits makes you much more likely to implement them in your daily routine. Also, spending time with others who are also interested in developing healthier habits helps strengthen your own resolve to do the same.

For those who were unable to make the event this time around, here are the recipes I shared with the group. Two were my own creations, but the cashew cheese was a delicious recipe from another wonderful blogger. I was a bit worried since the cashew cheese wasn't the most appetizing in looks, however I think it was one of the favorites of the day! Most everything was quite simple to make if you have a food processor. Minimal on ingredients and work, but big in flavor and nutritional impact!

Broccoli Salad w/ Avocado Dressing

Makes about 3 cups

  • 2 small crowns raw broccoli, finely chopped
  • 2 tablespoons shallot, peeled & finely chopped
  • 1 large ripe avocado
  • ½ lemon, juice
  • 1-2 small peeled garlic cloves
  • 1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon miso

Use the food processor to chop the broccoli if you like, then add it to a bowl with the shallot. Place the rest of the ingredients in the processor and blend until a creamy dressing forms. Taste and adjust the seasonings to your liking, then mix with the broccoli.

Cacoa & Sesame Bliss Balls

Makes about 2 dozen

  • 1 1/2 cups pitted Medjool dates
  • 1/2 cup black sesame seeds
  • 1/2 cup raw walnuts
  • 2 tablespoons raw cacoa powder (plus more for dusting)

Place the nuts and seeds in a food processor together. Pulse a few times to break down the nuts into smaller pieces. Next add the dates and cacao. Process until a sticky dough forms. You may need to scrap down the sides a few times. Place the dough in the refrigerator for 30 minutes to make rolling into balls easier. Once cool, spoon out and roll into tablespoon-sized balls. Coat in the extra cacoa powder if you like!


Cashew cheese, cucumber from the garden, and bell peppers and tomatoes from the Marietta Square Farmers Market!

Cashew Cheese: https://www.blissfulbasil.com/herbed-cashew-cheese-spicy-tomato-jam/

As the events have been going so well, we are going to keep the ball rolling with the next event tentatively set for November 9th. Mark your calendars to get some motivation to stay healthy for the holidays!

PHC-Footer-05.gif



Banners by @zord189, @woman-onthe-wing, @dksart and @bearone for @steemusa





Posted from my blog with
SteemPress : https://plantstoplanks.com/summer-event-recap-recipes-for-raw-broccoli-salad-cacao-sesame-bliss-balls-included/

Sort:  

Glad to read it was a successful event ;)

Thanks! Another fun time, and I feel like I keep getting better at presenting so winning all around! :)

Thats great, getting used to presenting is a challenge for sure but it does get easier with more time doing it, and if its a subject you are passionate about it must be easier, all the times I had to do presentations it has been work related , well no I was invited to do a presentation on my photos once here, I was so nervous at the start but then got into it and it wasnt so bad I think the shaking in my boots actually stopped just before i finished LOL

Passion definitely makes it a whole lot more fun and much easier to get up there in front of a group! Though I'm still with you, I think I don't stop sweating until I'm done. ;)

I don't think its ever something I would be totally comfortable with but luckily in my current role I don't need to do any presentations so I am glad about that

Wonderful to hold events like this! I wish I lived closer it would be great to attend!
Thanks for the awesome recipes! I was just trying to figure out ways to use my heads of broccoli that are ready in the garden and that Broccoli Salad recipe sounds delicious!
Thanks for sharing!

Thanks @porters! I'm getting in a groove with them and really starting to enjoy the process. Though I think the hardest thing sometimes is nailing down exactly what recipes I want to make since the options are endless! These all went over well, so I don't think you'll be disappointed if you try the broccoli salad!

Oww, bliss balls, I want some

They were quite delicious! Made a different version today for the week ahead, though I was too lazy to roll them into balls and just made bars instead. :)

Knowing how shy you used to be makes me admire you even more Katie. I would have anxiety talking to people like that, lol. Although, I used to be okay doing it, long time ago. Great recipes........love them all 🥑🥦🥑
creative recipe.png

Thank you my friend! It definitely still doesn't come easy, but knowing I am encouraging others to think more about their health and the impact of their food choices makes it a bit better! As Jay and I discussed, it's not so difficult when you are truly passionate about the topic. :)

I totally agree; that truly helps. And you are most welcome Katie 🥑😊🍓

Those bliss balls just looks so delicious! Thank you so much for sharing us this recipe. Have a great day

Thank you! So glad you enjoy them, as well! They are quite the healthy treat!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87